We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lower than basic”
Review of Aurora Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Aurora Hotel
Ranked #32 of 58 Hotels in Mestre
Reviewed 23 May 2014

I wasn't very satisfied by this hotel. The staff was a little bit rude and everything was lower tha basic. The room was small and the bathroom even smaller. Generally it was clean and the location was perfect as it is in the centre of mestre but far from the station ( i would say about 20 mins walk). The bus to venice passes right outside the hotel so this is convenient.. But the staff.. they were rude and acid.. furthermore we had requested a double bed and they gave us 2 beds the one next to other that were always separated from each other. I think if you make a research you can find a better one in the area with the same price and breakfast ( which we didnt have)

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank p0pit0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (151)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

28 - 34 of 151 reviews

Reviewed 14 October 2013

Stayed five nights,mid October. Very helpful reception staff.Great breakfast,eat all you want. Bus stop to Venice right outside Hotel, across the road €1.30 single, buy the tickets from Hotel reception. Also rover type tickets, €25 ticket gives you unlimited travel on buses and Vaperetto's in and around Venice. There are some places to eat within 5 minutes walk from hotel, but they seem to close up around 10 to 10.30 in evening. About 20 mins to 30 min walk to station, otherwise bus or taxi. The taxi is advisable from the station when arriving, difficult to find until you get your bearings. The bus from Trevisio Airport stops at station - €10 per person.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MikeandRose_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2013

The hotel is away from the station but right next to the city centre/square with shops, bars & restaurants just a few steps away. I took a cab from rail station to the hotel (about 11€).

It's a budget hotel with a bit of a plasticky feel so don't expect Egyptian cotton sheets Persian wool carpets or teak furnishings, but it had everything that was needed, was very clean and everything worked.

The Mainland Chinese staff were unfailingly pleasant and helpful, providing a map and local information, and generally being friendly. Breakfast is the usual buffet with OK cappuccino on request, and rooms had air conditioning and bidet etc. Despite the foam mattress I had my best sleeps for 2 weeks. There is free wifi that was a little unreliable during my stay. The TV had channels in various languages but sadly the only Englih language station I could find was the dumbed down giggling goons of the BBC. There were plenty of functioning plugs for charging up appliances.

From the street behind the hotel, the no2 bus runs to the Mestre rail station and then on into Venice. Right outside the hotel, 4 buses/ hour are scheduled to run into Venice. This bus service is adequate but a little overcrowded. The bus to the airport is an easy 10 min walk away (no.15, abt 25 mins).

On certain days there is a creditable general market in the surrounding streets.

Mestre is everything that Venice isn't. The buildings may be contemporary but it is spacious and easy to get around in, and relaxed with plenty of local life going on day and night in the square and the zippy uncrowded bars.

Room Tip: My single room was an adequate size and the double room looked quite spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eat-no-fat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2013

Nice clean hotel in a good part of Mestre. A handy place to stay for Venice.
The room we stayed in was a little old fashioned but was clean and had all that was needed for a short stay. Good breakfast and friendly staff. Not luxurious by any means but perfectly adequate and good value for money.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Haze-D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2012

Just spent a couple of nights here during the mini heatwave mid June. Thank god for the free aircon which ran constantly for both nights, otherwise sleep would've been unlikely. Although a good stroll to the main railway station the Aurora is well located at the North end of Piazza Ferretto only 100 metres from the Old Clock / Bell Tower. There are plenty of shops, bars, restaraunts, gelataria, and bus stops. etc.
The breakfast was typical continental fayre with fruit, yoghurt, cereals, juice and real coffee. (No decaff). The young Chinese couple who appear to run the place, are friendly and always on hand to help out.
There's wi-fi, although we didn't try it. The TV shows 2 channels, one Spanish, one French. There's a mini fridge and free safe in the room. (Big enough for a notebook but NOT a laptop - ALSO read the PIN setting instructions carefully as I locked myself out of it twice - Doh !) There are no tea or coffee making facilities in the room and my request for an iron and board got a shrug.

Feel free to contact me for directions as some of the hotel sites (Minotel etc) show an incorrect location on their site map. There is also another Hotel in Mestre called Nuova Aurora which is confusing. (We had a street map of Mestre.)

Transport. - Well worth buying the imob card which gives you hop on / hop off travel on all the buses (to and from Venice) and the vaparetto water buses. Can also include to and from Marco Polo airport - see Venice Connected website for the various options.

My free travel info -
#1 - We were there for 3 days but bought a 48 hour pass and started using it around midday day 1. When we tried to use it during the 47th hour on day 3 however, it came up invalid on the validation machine. I guess this means the 48 hours runs from the purchase time not the initial validation time, so buy your ticket immediately before travel. There seems to be little or no saving buying online, and we saw huge queues in Venice particularly in front of the collection machines at the main station.
#2 - We got less value for money on day 2 as there was a one day public transport strike. This virtually stopped all buses and the vaporettos ran a minimum service which meant long queues, packed boats and frayed tempers. Strikes are probably rare but check the news sites before you buy your ticket.
#3 - There is a left luggage office at both Mestre and Venice rail stations. (5 Euros for 5 hours then 70 cents per hour for the 6th to 12th hours etc). It's a LONG deposit queue in Venice at the weekends and when the cruise ships are disembarking, so go early or use Mestre. (Collection is much faster in both.)
#4 - There is no fast ticket machine at Mestre for the short train hop to Venice. (Absolute genious planning !) - Again, this is a long queue so buy your undated single journey tickets all at once. #5 - If flying to / from Treviso, the ATVO coach from Roma bus station will be busy so don't wait for the last one ! - Why not leave early and do a day trip in Treviso itself. There's no left luggage IN the airport but there is a place over the road by Bar Aeroporto.
#6 - While chatting to fellow departing tourists in the Airport bus queues, I was amazed how many of them still had days worth of wasted credit on their travel cards. I always pass my London travel cards onto fellow travellers, (as I did with my spare Mestre Rail tickets). It'll give you a warm glow inside. (Anyone travelling on a tight budget might consider making a direct appeal to the folks in the airport bus queues themselves !)
Enjoy -

Room Tip: 62 / 64 / 69 are the highest rooms (2nd floor). The small balconies only offer views of other buildi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank watsonworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2011

We booked an overnight stay at this hotel prior to catching a cruise ship from Venice. The reviews sounded ok and the price was right for us - a middle aged couple. We took the ACTV bus from Venice Marco Polo airport and (according to the map) the bus dropped us off just a block away. Well, the drivers instructions and the map were both a little incorrect. We spent 1 hour dragging 2 large suitcases around trying to find the hotel, we asked several locals and no one seemed to know exactly where this hotel was, we finally asked someone who happened to have a cell-phone on which he was able to get directions and took us directly to the front door. I will warn you that it is a little hard to find but well worth it when you do. The hotel is not overly fancy, but it is clean, the staff welcoming and the continental breakfast was just superb. We arrived before the check-in time but were told that we could store our cases behind the desk and shown a toilet where we could freshen up. The desk staff gave us directions to Mestre square - just around the corner -which was totally pedestrianised and had shops and restaurants etc.Nice area to stroll around after a supper - very safe with lots of families strolling around as well.The staff also directed us to a really nice restaurant with excellent food for our evening meal. They were very accommodating and so pleasant. Our room was lovely and clean, good beds, clean bathroom and very quiet. In the morning rather than take a bus to the cruise ship dock in Venice we opted for a taxi - not very bright as it cost us almost as much as the hotel room - but it did get us there quickly and we didn't have to pull luggage behind us. Next time to Venice area we will stay again

Room Tip: They do have an elevator - not big but still an elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank phoebe3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2011

Stayed here four nights, booked two double rooms. We were given rooms with the air conditioning not working and in temperatures of 35 C could not get any sleep. The owner -manager was patronising and told us to lie down and all would be fine. On further complaining a fan was produced. We could have moved out but for the fact a day would be waisted. Breakfast was lacking and poor quality, hygiene very poor. On the plus side there were good eating places near by.

Room Tip: To be avoided
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Archie48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mestre hotels
0.8 mi away
Kappa Hotel
Kappa Hotel
#27 of 58 in Mestre
389 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Garibaldi
Hotel Garibaldi
#28 of 58 in Mestre
258 reviews
0.6 mi away
Airmotel
Airmotel
#33 of 58 in Mestre
151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Palladio Hotel
Palladio Hotel
#2 of 2 in Malcontenta
430 reviews
0.7 mi away
Club Hotel
Club Hotel
#43 of 58 in Mestre
298 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Nuova Mestre
Hotel Nuova Mestre
#25 of 58 in Mestre
147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aurora Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aurora Hotel

Address: Piazzetta Giordano Bruno 15, 30174, Mestre, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Mestre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 58 Hotels in Mestre
Price Range: £41 - £84 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Aurora Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Aurora Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aurora Hotel Venice
Aurora Hotel Province Of Venice/Mestre

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing