We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just fine, nothing special...”
Review of Hotel President

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel President
Ranked #38 of 58 Hotels in Mestre
Pasadena, California
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Just fine, nothing special...”
Reviewed 26 May 2011

The hotel was fine in terms of going to sleep and take a rest. However it was nothing close to a 4 star hotel. I do not know if this is Italian standards but a 4 star should be something more. The rooms were quite small but clean. We stayed there for 4 nights, and see different receptionists. Half were kind, half were arrogant. If I need something, I was just hoping to meet kind ones to have what I request.
The disadvantage is, the hotel is somewhat far away from the Venice island, but there is a nearby bus stop where buses run to Venice quite frequently.
All in all, if you want something cheaper outside Venice, this hotel could be an option.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank umutayildiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

356 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    46
    141
    117
    34
    18
See reviews for
80
171
11
29
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2009

Well it was quite cheap and it was clean but thats as far it goes. The rooms are small, a double is two hard singles pushed together, no bath -just a tiny shower, no kettle in the room, and a very plain continental breakfast with one of those awful coffee machines. The hotel is on a dual carriage way along way outside town, at least two miles from the train station.
On the plus side, there is a regular bus to Venice not far from the hotel...errr...thats it.
But what irks me, what angers me to write a review of an anaemic hotel outside a non-descript connurbation, is the award of 4 stars. Who makes the award. And what do you have to do to get 5 stars - buy another toaster for the dining room?
So go there by all means. You wont remember it, but Venice will make up for everything.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank DRloverLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Mestre hotels

india
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 October 2009

As for location it is outside venice but nobody can be blamed for that as everybody must be aware before booking. the staff at the reception was absolutely unhelpful and rude. as a tourist one would always have questions regarding the place, how to reach at a particular place etc etc but they would simply try to avoid you and if you manage to get hold of them they would say that i had told this yesterday also y r u asking me the same question again. you dont talk to tourists in such a manner.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank skjindia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2009

By no means a 4* hotel.
No Restaurant, No Bar, Small Rooms, too far from the bus stop to Venice.
Unsafe, had my bag stolen from the breakfast area with valuable belongings and the staff didn't bother even to call the police. Do not get any close.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Location
Helpful?
2 Thank kostas52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manchester
1 review
Reviewed 31 May 2008

Thanks to the reviews on here, they were very helpful. The hotel receptionist were very helpful and always passed the time of day going in or out. The hotel is a little out of the centre of Mestre but only a short walk to the bus stop to venice (bus no 4 or 4/) and takes 15 mins max, bus and vaporetta tickets can be bought from hotel reception (1 ticket for 72 hours) cost 32 euros and well worth it. single trip on vaporetta 6.50.

Room was very nice and clean, linen and towels changed every day. Plenty of choice at breakfast.

In the evening places to eat out at were limited but we found a bar through the square in Mestre called coopers ( I think) food was good and reasonably priced, we did go into Venice one night and was quite disappointed, no spectacular ligthing or atmosphere just people wandering about and quite pricey.

Overall a great holiday but one of those places once you`ve seen it you wouldn`t return.

  • Liked — cleanliness and friendly staff
  • Disliked — can`t think of anything
  • Stayed April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank monicamanchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2008

We stayed at the hotel with a Kumuka tour group, we had a renovated room closer to the back looking into the courtyard. Brand new bathroom with a tiny shower the bedroom was ok, good sized with plenty of room to move about and a double bed (surprise!), the cable tv was fanastic as we were pretty tired when we arrived.
Breakfast in the hotel was ok but you needed to be there early to avoid missing out there were a few groups staying in the hotel at the time...... there wasn't a lot of choice but enough....(plus that meant pizza later!)

  • Liked — Cable TV & the small bar next door
  • Disliked — Tiny shower and 2 person elevator
  • Stayed November 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank loznbails
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mestre
0.1 mi away
Elite Hotel
Elite Hotel
#21 of 58 in Mestre
605 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Ambasciatori
Hotel Ambasciatori
#41 of 58 in Mestre
1,062 reviews
1.5 mi away
Smart Hotel Holiday
Smart Hotel Holiday
#14 of 58 in Mestre
658 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel San Carlo
Hotel San Carlo
#11 of 58 in Mestre
435 reviews
0.5 mi away
Quality Hotel Delfino Venezia Mestre
0.5 mi away
Alexander Hotel
Alexander Hotel
#199 of 385 in Venice
358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel President? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel President

Property: Hotel President
Address: Via Forte Marghera 99a, 30173, Mestre, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Mestre
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#16 Luxury Hotel in Mestre
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel President 4*
Number of rooms: 51
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, LateRooms, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel President reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
President Hotel Mestre
Hotel President Province Of Venice/Mestre

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing