We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Budget hotel”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel President

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel President
Ranked #34 of 58 Hotels in Mestre
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Good Budget hotel”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2008

We stayed at the hotel with a Kumuka tour group, we had a renovated room closer to the back looking into the courtyard. Brand new bathroom with a tiny shower the bedroom was ok, good sized with plenty of room to move about and a double bed (surprise!), the cable tv was fanastic as we were pretty tired when we arrived.
Breakfast in the hotel was ok but you needed to be there early to avoid missing out there were a few groups staying in the hotel at the time...... there wasn't a lot of choice but enough....(plus that meant pizza later!)

  • Liked — Cable TV & the small bar next door
  • Disliked — Tiny shower and 2 person elevator
  • Stayed November 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank loznbails
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

328 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    44
    131
    108
    31
    14
See reviews for
72
157
10
27
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Springfield, Missouri
Level Contributor
39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2007

I was surpsied by this hotel - from the outside, it doesn't look like much, but the lobby is beautiful and has the best bathrooms Ive sen in Italy. The elevator is a joke - only 2 people can fit if they each have a suitcase, but that's pretty typical.

My roommate and I had trouble, because our room smelt like something had died in it. We got our tour guide to get us another room, but it had the same smell. The third and final room was on a different floor and was huge! Very satisfied with how they handled it. The gentleman at the front desk also spoke English very well and joked around with us (especially when we had telephone messages from our significant others).

Breakfast was lacking, but edible. There was only one place nearby to eat dinner at a little hotel up the road (about a 3 min walk), which had great pizza.

Overall, this was a good hotel and I would stay there again.

  • Liked — Up to date
  • Disliked — Lack of dining options
  • Stayed May 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Lecia J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maryland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2007

I stayed at this hotel in May, and it was perfect. The staff was very very accommodating. The location was good, took a bus right to departing water taxis. I recommend this hotel esp for the price.
The breakfast was fantastic....

  • Liked — the helpful staff
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed May 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank sells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2007

We stayed in the President for 2 nights. We were given two interconnecting rooms since we were travelling with our two teenage sons. The hotel is situated a 15 minute ride by bus to Venice and the bustop is very close. Giovanni, in the reception was very helpfull and spoke good English. The hotel has got free parking space which is convenient if you are travelling by car.
The area in which the hotel is situated is a bit 'run down' and gloomy and the hotel doesn't look good from the outside. Once in the rooms however, they are very modern, must have been recently refurbished. Bathrooms are spacious with good showers. Very clean.
Breakfast has a good choice of pastries and croissants, breads and jams, yogurt, cereals and boilied (only) eggs. However, when we were there, it was a busy period and there were problems in seating all of the guests. On the one day, the four of us had to squeeze at a table for two. Coffee in the morning was horrible, the worst I have ever tasted. We didn't know we could order a cappuccino or an espresso instead! We found that on our last day. The coffee in the pot was yuky!
On our last night we asked Giovanni for a restaurant suggestion and he sent us to this lovely local osteria with delicious food and truly italian atmosphere. I wish we had known this from the beginning. We paid 80 Euros for a meal for 4 with one appetizer, 4 main courses 2 desserts and 1 litre of wine. Not bad for Venice stardards where we found that we paid on average 110 euros for a good meal for 4 people.
I definitely reccommend this hotel if you are travelling to Venice by car. If you are flying in, then I would go for a central hotel, it just gives you more the feeling of being in Venice.

  • Liked — The rooms and bathrooms
  • Disliked — The busy breakfast room
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lagorgonzola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sarasota, florida
Level Contributor
195 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2007

The Hotel President is fine, if you don't want to be in Venice. The buses are crowded and the back and forth takes time.

Stayed June 2007
Helpful?
Thank annaha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide
Level Contributor
60 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2007

Hotel staff were extremely friendly and helpful, greeting you every time you pass. It doesn`t look very much from the outside but the rooms are very nice and the bathrooms good. Breakfast was the usual European cold buffet with some nice cakes. It was a 5 minute walk to the bus stop for Bus 4 which takes you to Piazzale Rome where you can take Vaporetto 1 (Ferry) along the Grand Canal to St Mark`s square. It is much easier to do this, than what we saw other travellers doing i.e. trying to drag their luggage through Venice`s small streets, over bridges, steps and onto small ferries. 24hr (12E) and 72hr (24E) travel passes covering ferry and bus are available at the hotel, however there is also a 36hr (20E) pass available at the transport points in Venice.

  • Liked — Friendly staff and quality of rooms
  • Disliked — Not much
  • Tips/Secrets — Get a travel pass. Don`t stay in Venice.
  • Stayed January 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank SAGlobetrotters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mexico
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 December 2006

We stayed in this hotel the first week of December for three nights. The Hotel is clean and safe. Good resting place. The rooms and bathrooms are small, but they are ok compared to what the other Italian hotels offer in the area. The elevator (lift) is the smallest one I have seen in my life. We had a baby stroller that we had to fold everytime we had to use the elevator. Just a few negatives, but overall, it was a great stay. Good price for the stay, we paid 89 US Dollars per night. Found parking at the Hotel and did not move our car for the three nights we were there as we used the Bus to get to Venice every day - Bus can be taken from a stop that is about three blocks from the hotel - short walk. Recommend you buy the 24hr bus and vaporetto ticket at the Hotel's front desk - its about 12 Euro per person, but well worth the investment. The Bus you should take to Venice is Number 4 or 4/. The hotel offers a small cold breakfast (ham/salami/cheese/cereals/bread). We did not leave hungry in the mornings, though. The front desk staff was very helpful, especially Giovanni who gave us information about Venice, provided us with a map, and told us all about the bus system (24hour pass), and vaporettos. Overall great experience. Venice is beautiful. We departed Venice after three days and made our way down to Florence and Pisa. Have a great trip, enjoy yourselves! And if you havent already, visit Mexico - beautiful land with great people, sights, and plenty of good food.
Ciao!

  • Liked — Clean, good staff, great location, close to public transportation
  • Disliked — size of rooms and elevator (lift)
  • Stayed December 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Oscarito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mestre
0.1 mi away
Elite Hotel
Elite Hotel
#24 of 58 in Mestre
3.5 of 5 bubbles 566 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel San Carlo
Hotel San Carlo
#10 of 58 in Mestre
4.0 of 5 bubbles 411 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Venezia
Hotel Venezia
#21 of 58 in Mestre
3.5 of 5 bubbles 644 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Ambasciatori Hotel
Ambasciatori Hotel
#36 of 58 in Mestre
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,009 reviews
0.5 mi away
Alexander Hotel
Alexander Hotel
#196 of 386 in Venice
3.5 of 5 bubbles 327 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Garibaldi
Hotel Garibaldi
#28 of 58 in Mestre
4.0 of 5 bubbles 220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel President? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel President

Property: Hotel President
Address: Via Forte Marghera 99a, 30173, Mestre, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Mestre
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#15 Luxury Hotel in Mestre
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel President 4*
Number of rooms: 51
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel President reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
President Hotel Mestre
Hotel President Province Of Venice/Mestre

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing