We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Short Stay”
Review of Hotel President

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel President
Ranked #38 of 58 Hotels in Mestre
Reviewed 6 August 2012

Myself and my friend reached to Mestre Railway station from Paris via night train Thello.
We took bus and dropped near the hotel. Hotel is small but wonderfull. The room was okay clean with all necessary required items. Toilet was also good washroom facility.
The bus drive to Venice was just 8 mins. We found very good Indian restaurant just next to the hotel.
Overall the stay was wonderful.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RAK733
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (374)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

129 - 135 of 374 reviews

Reviewed 22 July 2012

The hotel is not actually in Venice and is in a sketchy area. The waitress in the breakfast area was great, but got yelled at by customers because they had to wait and the hotel was understaffed (she was alone to serve about 35 people). We booked two rooms. One of them was fine, but the other one had ants in it and smelled disgusting (cigarette smoke). When we asked to have the room switched because one of the people staying in it is asthmatic, they could not accommodate us. The day after, the manager of the hotel was extremely arrogant with my friend when she made a complaint. She speaks Italian, so he spoke to her, but pretended not to speak a word of English to avoid having to talk with the other people who were there. Finally, he kept cutting her off and had a very arrogant tone. I found this sad considering we had great service in every other hotel we went to. Don't waste your time here...

Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
3  Thank Charlotte H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2012

Very nice hotel, large aircon rooms, friendly reception, very good breakfast and good quality linen and amenities. The bus stop is close to the building and its only a short trip to venice, hauling luggage to venice would be terrible so we are glad we booked this place.Ample free parking available. The reception handled our questions effectively and friendly and i would score them 100%.We bought a 36 hour pass from a shop close to the hotel which ment we had bus and watertaxi rides for 36 hours, it helps a lot if you are going to stay for a while as fares could skyrocket if you travel a lot within venice on public transport.Thank you for an amazing stay everyone, especially Debra

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jcriller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2012

Very nice and clean hotel, with big rooms. Nice breakfast. Bus to Venice and airport in 200 metres. 1,30 euros to Venice and 5 euros to airport. Certainly i would stay again.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
1  Thank Aristeidis K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2012

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Luis B
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 10 January 2012

The hotel was very nice just wish it was actually in Venice. It was about a 15 min bus ride into Venice. Bus stop was about 2 blocks down from hotel. So after a long day of walking all over Venice then have to take a bus back to the hotel was no fun. To make it worse was the lady named Suzy who works the front desk was the most rudest person ever. Every time we asked her a questions it was like she was put out,bothered somehow.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank mona35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2011

I stayed at this hotel on a Sunday in October 2011 pre cruise. Wrap up well at this time of year, it's cold at night.

The hotel is dated both inside and out but nevertheless comfortable. If you are traveling from Marco Polo airport you can get a bus for six Euros. Beware the bus passes the hotel but drops you off at the railway station, it will cost you 12 Euros to get back to the hotel by taxi. On reflection a taxi from the airport is the best option especially if you have luggage.

The nearest open restaurant on a Sunday is in the town of Mestre, about a 20 min walk.

If you are boarding a ship the following day get a taxi, it costs 30 Euros but drops you off at the ship.

On the whole a good cheap stopover with friendly staff however, the continental breakfast was only average.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Jonathan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mestre hotels
0.1 mi away
Elite Hotel
Elite Hotel
#21 of 58 in Mestre
623 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Ambasciatori
Hotel Ambasciatori
#39 of 58 in Mestre
1,094 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel San Carlo
Hotel San Carlo
#10 of 58 in Mestre
453 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Smart Hotel Holiday
Smart Hotel Holiday
#13 of 58 in Mestre
697 reviews
0.5 mi away
Quality Hotel Delfino Venezia Mestre
0.3 mi away
Hotel Venezia
Hotel Venezia
#20 of 58 in Mestre
723 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel President? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel President

Address: Via Forte Marghera 99a, 30173, Mestre, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Mestre
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#16 Luxury Hotel in Mestre
Price Range: £62 - £156 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel President 4*
Number of rooms: 51
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Ebookers, LateRooms, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel President reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
President Hotel Mestre
Hotel President Province Of Venice/Mestre

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing