We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for overnight stop”
Review of Hotel President

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel President
Ranked #38 of 58 Hotels in Mestre
Salisbury
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Good for overnight stop”
Reviewed 29 July 2014

Stayed here prior to cruising on P & O Ventura in July 2014. Spotlessly clean. Polite helpful staff. A good meeting place for pre-cruisers. Agree with many of the comments made about it being a suitable stop over. We took the local very crowded bus from the airport - a mistake as we missed the stop nearest this hotel. Driver didn't understand our request for the hotel stop and we ended up pulling heavy cases to a taxi point!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Derek B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

356 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    46
    141
    117
    34
    18
See reviews for
80
171
11
29
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Very clean! The rooms are very basic and perhaps a little dated but fine for just a city break as you don't spend much time in your room anyway.
Breakfast wasnt anything to write home about, massive lack of choice. Pretty much bread, ham or yogurt! Only hot thing was toast!
Staff were really friendly and helpful and check in was super quick!
The bus stop to go to Venice is about a 5 minute walk away and is really cheap! Only takes about 15 minutes and runs really regularly throughout the day, but you must remember to buy your ticket from the tobacco shop before you get on the bus!

I would highly recommend getting a coach in Venice back to the airport instead of a taxi!!! From the airport to our hotel we paid about £60 so decided to see how much a coach was going back and it only cost us 10 euros each & it took us straight to the airport door!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank orangutans91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Larkfield
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

If you are expecting quality in a hotel, perhaps this is not the place for you. If it is just an overnight stay and then you move on and you are happy with a basic room with basic amenities then this is fine. Breakfast is easily forgettable, so is the hotel. The redeeming factor for us was that this was just a short bus ride away from the best place on earth ---- Venice

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed here between 22-25 June 2014. Rooms are clean but smell of smoke. Toilets are stuffy as they don't have effective air conditioning. Avoid drinking the water, juice and beer in the fridge because it will cost you more than the room.
Breakfast is same everyday, but avoid the salami and ham.
Female staff are very nice, and i would go back just to help them keep their jobs. One of the male staff was a little arrogant.
I have been to Italy several times and seems that everybody, including the government is looking for a way to swindle you.
If this hotel was in another part of Europe, it would be a 2-star. Avoid it if you can.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Isaac K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Merseyside
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

The President hotel in Mestre is spotlessly clean but very old fashioned. There is an overpowering smell of a airfreshener or deodorant all over this hotel. There are 2 small lifts.The beds are big but hard the bedding good and clean, The bedroom furniture is dark and gloomy, although the bathrooms have been moderised with a shower, WC, wash basin and a bidet. The towels are white and good quality. They supply shower gel, soap and shampoo.
The reception staff speak quite good English and are very helpful. It is less than half a mile to the centre of Mestre. There is a bar in the hotel but it was not open. Breakfast is the usual continental meal and self service. The boiled eggs are cold and if you want salt they produce a huge salt mill!! it made us laugh....
Our stay was pre cruise for 1 night and again 1 night after our cruise so I don't know how much it costs to stay there. They do supply a room to store your baggage if you arrive too early to book in your room, which is handy. I would rate it a basic clean 3* hotel not the 4* we were told it was.
The taxis are very expensive 30 euros from the airport to the hotel and 50 euros from the hotel to the airport. We were told it would be 25euros by the taxi driver and on arrival to the ship a matter of approx 6miles he asked for 50euros the 25euros was a just depost! Be sure to find somebody to share taxis if you can.

Room Tip: Stayed in a room on 1st floor (105) on the front of the hotel and in a room on 2nd floor on side of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank turkeylurkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derbyshire,UK
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2014

Stayed here for two nights prior to cruise from Venice cruise terminal. The hotel was more than adequate for our needs. We has a first floor room at the front of the hotel. The traffic noise from the main road was quite loud with the bedroom window open, but with the window close the double glazing kept the noise to a minimum and sleep was not disturbed at all. The room itself was clean and comfortable. We enjoyed a decent TV and free wi-fi internet access from the room which was good enough to use the iPad to watch British programmes on 'filmon". There was no drink making facilities and this would perhaps be the only complaint. The bed was comfortable the bathroom clean and good enough. The complimentary breakfast was more than adequate with a decent selection of clod foods and warm and cold drinks. The buffet tables were regularly replenished so no-one went short.
we travelled to the hotel by the ATVO airport shuttle from Marco Polo airport. Tickets were available from a machine near the stop outside the arrivals hall. Tickets cost 6 Euros per person for a single journey and could be validated before boarding in a machine by the bus stop in Corso del Popolo. On entering Mestre you will pass the hotel on your right side. You need to get off at the next stop outside the cinema and then it is a short walk back to the President.
Check- in was speedy and because our flight from Luton had been delayed by over three we decided to give Venice a miss the first evening and stroll into Mestre. Turn right out of the hotel and basically keep on walking straight on until you reach a small canal and then head off to the right into the centre and you will discover a very pleasant town centre around old churches and a large square. There are a number of attractive restaurants and bars which helped us to enjoy the evening under the stars.
The following morning we purchased two all day tickets from the tobacconists just up on the right past the hotel. These covered our journey into Venice by local service bus number 4 from outside the cinema, unlimited trips on the water buses and the return journey back to the hotel after a full, busy day again by bus number 4 from the main bus station in Piazzale Roma in Venice.
The final morning the hotel reception staff were happy to arrange a taxi to cruise terminal between 4 of us for 40 Euros. If we did not have the luggage, we could have done that journey by No.4 bus and people mover from the bus station to the terminal for about 5 Euros each.
The Hotel President represents a good reasonably priced based with virtually all the facilities you will need. We saw no sign of any bar or restaurant being open in the premises other than the breakfast buffet but then again we didn't go looking for any. we ate and drank elsewhere and just wanted a decent night's sleep: which we got.
I would not hesitate to stay here again and recommend it, particularly for a shortish stay.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank struttybanger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2014

If you want a Hotel that is in the residential area of Venice , this can be a good hotel option . Do keep in mind its still 15-20 mins away from Venice . 5-7 min walk to the bus stop and then a 12 min bus ride. Hotel rooms very clean, staff helpful . There is a good Indian restaurant 2min walk away .

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yul13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mestre
0.1 mi away
Elite Hotel
Elite Hotel
#22 of 58 in Mestre
604 reviews
1.5 mi away
Smart Hotel Holiday
Smart Hotel Holiday
#14 of 58 in Mestre
658 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Ambasciatori
Hotel Ambasciatori
#41 of 58 in Mestre
1,059 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel San Carlo
Hotel San Carlo
#10 of 58 in Mestre
435 reviews
0.5 mi away
Quality Hotel Delfino Venezia Mestre
0.5 mi away
Alexander Hotel
Alexander Hotel
#199 of 385 in Venice
358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel President? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel President

Property: Hotel President
Address: Via Forte Marghera 99a, 30173, Mestre, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Mestre
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#16 Luxury Hotel in Mestre
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel President 4*
Number of rooms: 51
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel President reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
President Hotel Mestre
Hotel President Province Of Venice/Mestre

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing