We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellen hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Quality Hotel Delfino Venezia Mestre
Ranked #38 of 58 Hotels in Mestre
Reviewed 22 November 2013

please ignore all the reviews! a really great place staff really helpful and kind great rooms very clean great connections to Venice!

do ignore all the bad reviews bought deal on groupon so paid very little expecting hotel to be bad but the complete opposite! breakfast was 10euros not a lot of options available

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jananyil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,982)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

688 - 694 of 1,982 reviews

Reviewed 21 November 2013 via mobile

At only a short walk from the train station in Mestre the hotel delfino is an excellent choice for travellers who aren't afraid of public transport. The shuttle bus from the Marco Polo airport stops at the train station, having gone past the hotel on route so you then know where to find it!
The first contact with the reception staff was what I'd call brusque, on the side of rude. However on consequent encounters all the women manning the counter were polite and very helpful, so mr offhand seemed to be a one-off.
Our room was comfortable, lovely big bed, and good shower. Fridge was handy too.
We didn't eat in the hotel so can't comment on that.
It was very easy to get bus tickets from reception, where there were helpful timetables etc, and the bus stop was directly opposite the hotel. There was a handy electronic board there that gave info about the next expected buses and where they went- very useful!
We went in and out of Venice four times over our 3 day stay, each time the buses were well used but easy to work out, including validating the tickets on the machine at the start of each journey.
Near to the hotel were a few little bars/cafés, a lovely small supermarket, and a great wine shop that did 1.5 litres of wine to take away for €2.90! Blooming nice too!
The hotel is on a busy street, but we didn't find the traffic too disturbing at night.
The room cleaning was very good, and there was no problem getting extra pillows.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carol2k2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2013

Had the pleasure to stay in this nice hotel for 2 night's, and i only have good comments about it.
Good location a bit of a walk from the train station, but it's worth choosing this hotel in Venice Mestre rather than in Venice, where it's very expensive.
Right in front of the hotel there is a bus running to Venice.
Unfortunately the staff was not very helpfull, if you asked any questions they would answer very briefly......they did not offer any extra tips or stuff like that.
Saying that, it's still good value and i would stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lisa W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2013

We stayed at the Delfino as part of a package prior to a cruise. I'm really glad it was booked for us.

From entering the door we were given a really warm welcome by staff whose English was really good. Everything was explained to us, even the 2.8 euro tax per night which is set by the government, not the hotel.

We were on the seventh floor of the hotel and our room was great. It was really large with an enormous king size bed which was extremely comfortable. There was a television in the corner, on a vanity unity, but we did not watch this as it was quite late when we arrived and we needed an early start. The bathroom was exceptionally clean with a bath and shower. Toiletries and towels were provided. Unfortunately there was no hospitality tray, but there was a coffee machine near the restaurant where it was only 80 cents for a cup of coffee, small but really tasty.

Breakfast was provided and although it was continental there was a good range of cheese, meat, scrambled eggs, bacon (but not as we know it), buns, pasties jams, juices, cereals etc, and a tea and coffee machine. There was certainly enough to eat. Some people were heard to complain that it was not a good breakfast - they were wrong - it just wasn't what they were used to. Shame on them.

The Delfino is on a main street and there is a supermarket next door, handy for getting water before going on the cruise. There is also a cafe, coffee shop and pizza shop nearby. So quite handy for getting something to eat when you arrive.

Although we had to open the window that evening, and we were on the front of the hotel, we did sleep well, despite some traffic noise.

Check out the next morning went very smoothly and we were on our way

Definitely a hotel to return to when we are in Venice,

The Delfino is on the main bus route into Venice and the bus stops right outside the hotel, which also sells daily passes etc for the buses, which seemed excellent value, especially the 3 day pass.

I can't understand all the bad reviews there have been for the Delfino, perhaps people just like to complain. You get what you pay for and this was great value for money at the price we paid.

Room Tip: A room at the back of the hotel may be better for light sleepers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Brenda997
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2013

I have just returned from a short break at venice and stayed at the Delfino just out side venice. The hotel was spotless and so welcoming. The staff were brilliant and couldn't help enough. We were given a complementary drink of champagne upon arrival. This is located right next to the bus stop which takes you right to venice (15 mins away).
I would thoroughly recommend this hotel. First Class

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BrianLong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2013

After reading the terrible reviews, the night before we left for Venice, I was terrified about what would greet us when we arrived!!!! But me fears were unfounded. Okay the service wasn't excellent, but after travelling around Italy it is not something I have come to expect. They were however polite and checked us in without issue, or delay. From that point on we had very little interaction with them, which is fine by me!

The room was large, clean and modern. It served as a great base for our trip to Venice.

My only criticism is how hot the room was, but we paid very little for our stay (as part of a Group-on deal) so I can't really complain!

My own personal view is that if I returned I would pay the extra and stay in Venice, as I feel this is the only way to really experience a city, but once again this is my personal view. The hotel was great base for getting in and out of Venice with the 4 and 4L leaving from the outside the hotel and taking you to the city within 15 minutes. The buses (and night buses) also run to 1am if you are wish to stay out late drinking wine and taking in the city, as we did.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Emma1929
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2013

We booked our holiday THEN read the reviews after studying them I was ready for a scrap when we checked in BUT but nothing could have been further from the truth of some reviewers . Our original flight timetable would have got us to Mestre at about the 1400 check in time but because of good 'ol Michael we must do better O'Leary our flight was changed to silly o-clock which meant getting here at about 1030. Went up to check in, greeted with a cheery welcome, after checking our paperwork we were told our room would be ready in five k(5) yes five minutes. We asked a string of questions and they were all answered perfectly AND with a smile. The room itself cannot be described as "from the Ritz" but we are not paying big bucks in the first place, it is clean, bed comfortable, sheets clean, towels fluffy and clean, really what more could you want, maybe a kettle and tea and coffee facilities, bathroom tissues, but they would be the only room gripes, and it is very hot in the rooms, if you have a road facing room I would not advise having the window open as the traffic noise is quite considerable.The breakfast is almost typical European ,croissants,salami,ham,cheese,bread rolls but they stretch it a bit further by having cereals . The two things which aren't up to scratch are the " scrambled"powdered egg and fried prosciutto , best avoided. The hotel is ideally situated for the buses to and from Venice and at a mere €2.60 return, a bargain. Also as quite a few have mentioned, next door is a Pam supermarket which is very comprehensively stocked, delicious wine for only €3.00 a bottle !! Good coffee shop next to Pam.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Howardsc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mestre hotels
0 mi away
Hotel Ambasciatori
Hotel Ambasciatori
#39 of 58 in Mestre
1,122 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Villa Costanza
Hotel Villa Costanza
#2 of 58 in Mestre
793 reviews
0.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Hotel Bologna
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Plaza
Hotel Plaza
#15 of 58 in Mestre
2,213 reviews
1.6 mi away
Mercure Venezia Marghera hotel
0.4 mi away
NH Laguna Palace
NH Laguna Palace
#13 of 58 in Mestre
2,498 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Hotel Delfino Venezia Mestre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Hotel Delfino Venezia Mestre

Address: Corso del Popolo 211, 30172, Mestre, Italy (Formerly Delfino Hotel)
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Mestre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Luxury Hotel in Mestre
Price Range: £34 - £149 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Quality Hotel Delfino Venezia Mestre 4*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The excellent location of the Hotel Delfino places it among the best hotels in Mestre. The surroundings hold areas of great interest integrated with direct tourism services for Venice. Just 10 metres from the interest of the hotel is a stop for bus number 4 leading directly to the lakeside capital and, at approximately 300 metres, the train stations. At the Reception Desk of the hotel Delfino – open 24 hrs – information is available on major tours and reservations for guided tours. The Spacious Restaurant is convenient for hotel guests who wish to sample the exquisite local and international cuisine. The Conference Room seats 40 and offers space and services that can meet the needs of the business clients who will find everything they need at the Hotel Delfino. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Choice Hotels, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Quality Hotel Delfino Venezia Mestre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Delfino Hotel Mestre
Quality Hotel Delfino Venezia Mestre Province Of Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing