We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Was it worth it?” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Quality Hotel Delfino Venezia Mestre

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Quality Hotel Delfino Venezia Mestre
Ranked #29 of 58 Hotels in Mestre
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
100 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Was it worth it?”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2013

Check in was interesting. Next to us was a party having a long and loud argument about their room booking. Had asked for joining rooms had not been given to them, yet had been on another visit. Customer really upset hotel worker could not have cared less. Our check in was really impersonal. Hotel worker did not look at us once or due to that smile or acknowledge us. We had three people booked in the room only given one key. Normally we are given two keys in a real hotel. I asked for two and was curtly advised this is all you get, one room one key! Oh sorry for asking. Went to room. This is not a small hotel therefore the size of the lifts was surprising, there are two but are really small. When inside room we had asked for x3 occupancy so all they did was stick an extra bed on the side if the double bed and it looked horrible. In fact i would have thought dangerous because the edge of it stuck over the entrance to the bathroom. Surely they must have room that can cope with a request of x3 people rather than supply a room with a bed bunged into it and it looked more like a prison cell. No i understand this part of the world can get hot but in winter they have no carpets or even rugs made getting up and walking around really cold to the foot. Not nice. There was a horrible sewage smell in the bathroom that never went away. Pointless complaining, just be aware. In general room functional, not one you would like to be in.
Bed really hard, heard a lot of people complaining about this at breakfast, another story later. Only one pillow per person and these were as flat a a pancake. Called for more, they never arrived. The noise from the room if you are in the front of the hotel as we were was terrible. Must have been woken up at least 6 times during the night, either due to marauding crowds screaming or delivery lorries, buses or traffic during the night. Ask for room at the back if i were you.
Breakfast was included in the price but was like cattle market. Most of the time the coffee and orange juice machines were empty and not working causing queues. The food was lacking and not re stocked very well. The tables were left dirty for a long time after people had left. Then two girls and a man cleared them eventually slowly and the two girls did nothing except moan all the time they were clearing and did not do this quietly. Surely they must know people can understand their mother tongue well. If you do not like it, get another job!
Watch out early evening the reception and lifts are taken over by a daily delivery of Chinese people. This clogs the lift for ages. Not sure what happens to them as i never saw them again!
Good bits.
Very good bus service to venice only a few stops and no changes.

So if this is what you are looking for, This is the place for you.

Room Tip: Sorry checked swimming pool by mistake they do not have one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank J B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,806 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    300
    727
    450
    187
    142
See reviews for
392
900
34
88
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (207)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Epsom, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
95 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 December 2013

Our room was a good size and clean as was the bathroom. The hotel's position is excellent for travelling into Venice with buses every 15 minutes or so and a 10 minute journey. It is also easy to reach from the airport and not far to shops and restaurants

The breakfast room is very well laid out so even when it is busy you can get food from the buffet easily. The quality of the food is quite good and the coffee very good.

There is a good supermarket right next door although it surprised us to see an armed security guard outside. The other side of the supermarket just over a side street is a milk and coffee bar. We got our lunch here twice and enjoyed lovely chiabata rolls and great coffee at a very good price served by very friendly people.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Richard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2013

Stayed in this hotel after originally being booked into the hotel next door (same group) the Ambasciatori. Don't know what the Ambasciatori was like but the Delfino was great. Reception and staff very helpful and rooms large and clean. Food was also good, though we mainly ate out. Not actually in Venice but with the bus stop outside access to Venice is easy. Spent two lovely days in Venice itself. The train station is only at most 10 minute walk so overall the hotel is well positioned for the traveller.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lloyd W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zejtun, Malta
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2013

It was an excellent experience in this hotel , it is in a good location , its just 5 minutes walk from the train station ,even the airport transfer coach both Marco polo airport and even Treviso airport spot .To go to Venice the bus stop is in front the hotel and in 15 minutes you will be in Venice.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Galahotels.com

Helpful?
2 Thank Desirafam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunbar, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 December 2013

This hotel was fine for an overnight stay but a if staying longer would advise hotel where you could walk to centre of Venice. We took the bus in during the day and as it was a public holiday in Venice this journey took around half an hour due to the traffic.
Spent a lovely day in Venice but did not feel like doing bus journey again in the evening nothing around the hotel as regards a decent restaurant or Bar
As we wer going on cruise next day this did not matter to us too much.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank valerie f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uxbridge
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2013

We stayed at this hotel for 3 nights before a cruise.
The bus that goes into Venice itself is right outside and costs 2.60 Euro return which can be bought at the hotel. Buses every 10 mins.
Reception staff excellent and very helpful.
Bedroom nice and warm, bed abit hard and the TV only had 1 English station (Crime TV!)
In all would recommend if you are not staying in the center of Venice.
Breakfast was excellent - more than we were expecting.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Doubledutch29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spokane, Washington
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2013

My husband has already reviewed this hotel in some detail and included the most important of our bad experiences with the Quality Hotel Delfino, which was the theft of money from our money belts which were in the locked safe in our locked room. Everything else sort of pales by comparison, but nevertheless I'd like to mention some other concerns. We were traveling with a group of friends and so we occupied at least 11 rooms in the hotel. Also we are all pretty seasoned travelers and used to occasional discomfort and have all stayed in Pensiones and 2 and 3 star hotels. The Delfino is cast as 4 star hotel, and I must say it doesn't live up to that classification. It is rather shabby, service is very poor, beds hard and bedding just o.k. We stayed in a 3 star hotel in Florence which was far better than the Delfino and at a real 4 star hotel in Desenzano which was a palace run by angels in comparison. The Delfino is a 1 or 2 star hotel at best. And please be careful of the breakfast. Although the usual continental fare of cold cuts and croissants and fruit are there, the cold cuts are of mediocre quality, you'd be better off to go to the rather decent grocery store next door and buy some cold cuts and bread there. The worst part of the breakfast were the "scrambled eggs" which may have been reconstituted from powdered eggs, but even if from fresh eggs, they must have been kept at too low a temperature because they smelled like a microbiology experiment. Neither my husband nor I ate them, but one member of our group did, and unfortunately spent 3 hours that afternoon on our bus trip in the bathroom of the bus vomiting. One other caution, although the bus stop outside and across the street from the hotel is convenient and inexpensive for going to and from Venice, be very aware of your surroundings when you are out and about. Two of our company witnessed a mugging in the street under their hotel window the first night of our stay. The restaurant in the Hotel Ambasciatore, a sister property next door, is definitely better than the one in the Delfino. There are also a few places to eat within walking distance which are pretty good.

Room Tip: The rooms are quiet. Not a lot of street noise. But I do use ear plugs in cities anyway. I wouldn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Diane D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Mestre hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mestre hotels
0.0 mi away
Ambasciatori Hotel
Ambasciatori Hotel
#35 of 58 in Mestre
3.5 of 5 bubbles 990 reviews
2.1 mi away
Smart Hotel Holiday
Smart Hotel Holiday
#14 of 58 in Mestre
4.0 of 5 bubbles 582 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Plaza
Hotel Plaza
#16 of 58 in Mestre
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,964 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Villa Costanza
Hotel Villa Costanza
#2 of 58 in Mestre
4.5 of 5 bubbles 684 reviews
0.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Bologna - Mestre Station
0.4 mi away
Hotel Tritone
Hotel Tritone
#10 of 58 in Mestre
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Hotel Delfino Venezia Mestre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Hotel Delfino Venezia Mestre

Property: Quality Hotel Delfino Venezia Mestre
Address: Corso del Popolo 211, 30172, Mestre, Italy (Formerly Delfino Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Mestre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Luxury Hotel in Mestre
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Quality Hotel Delfino Venezia Mestre 4*
Number of rooms: 126
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Choice Hotels, LoveHolidays, TravelUp, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Quality Hotel Delfino Venezia Mestre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Delfino Hotel Mestre
Quality Hotel Delfino Venezia Mestre Province Of Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing