We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent for the price”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Quality Hotel Delfino Venezia Mestre
Ranked #34 of 58 Hotels in Mestre
Reviewed 16 January 2014

This was the first of 3 stops my husband and i made in Italy, where we spent 2 nights. The rooms were decent for the price and we were given a complimentary upgrade upon check-in, so not so bad. The breakfast okay, service was ok (even though there was one clerk who constantly wore a permanent scowl and was very abrupt) and the staff was helpful. There is not much to do in the surrounding area, but quiet a few restaurants to choose from in a short distant.The selling point on this hotel is the convenient 15 minute bus-ride into Venice and 10 minutes to the train station by taxi.

We would stay there again for a short visit.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Genny3168
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,920)
There are newer reviews for Quality Hotel Delfino Venezia Mestre
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

643 - 649 of 1,920 reviews

Reviewed 6 January 2014

The Delfino was for us perfectly placed. I would not have liked to stay on the main island and negotiate my way to my hotel on foot! The Delfino was a 10 minute bus ride away and was cheap and very simple to use. The hotel was clean and the staff very helpful and the breakfast was more than sufficient. The staff helped us with buses and taxis etc and you can buy tickets from the reception desk and the bus stop was immediately outside the hotel., I would agree that that there is a lack of restaurants in the area, but why would you want to eat there when you are visiting Venice?

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank davieslisa9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2014

It's in a good location just outside of Venice. The bus stops right out the front of the hotel and takes you straight into Roma Piazza takes about 15/20mins. You can also buy bus tickets from the front desk which was handy. There is a lack of restaurants in the area so I would advise eating in Venice before catching the bus back. The breakfast buffet was ok could have been better as they class themselves as a 4 star hotel but it was fine. Not a bad place to stay if your looking for something a bit cheaper just out of Venice!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Ainslee W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2014

I thoroughly enjoyed it here.
ALL of the staff were extremely helpful, smiley and polite all of the time, we could not understand how people were complaining. They set this hotel off to a fantastic start. They called taxis for us, told us how to get to places and were overall amazing at their job.
We were supposed to be in the Ambasciatori (they were having a refurb), but it wasn't a loss to us as it appears that the Delfino has more modern rooms. The room and bathroom were nice and provided us with what we needed. Breakfast was continental- I am quite picky but I found things to eat which made me happy as there was a decent selection!
The hotel had bus stops directly outside- we took the 4L to the Piazzale Roma in Venice. When we got off the train when we first arrived, we took a taxi to the hotel (13 euros) as it was a 20 minute wait for the bus. We seemed to have arrived in the middle of a bus strike so the buses were unreliable, however I have no doubt any other time they would have been great.
We went to a pizza take-out across the road (it was the third one along from the start of the row of buildings) on the first night as we arrived quite late which did incredible pizza. We also went in to central Mestre which was lovely at night.
We were apprehensive about coming here, but even with large groups around the staff made time for us and it was a personal experience. We ended up completely changing our attitude and I couldn't have been happier.

Room Tip: Loud at the front but if you can ignore that it doesn't matter.
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank brac1006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2013 via mobile

People who dislike this very nice hotel should stay home I know them from my own experience as a tour guide, three thinks to describe them: first time travelers, miserable, or they do not know how to enjoy their life's and their vacation.By the way I should defiantly mention the extra large bed and bathroom.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank diminik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2013

Stayed here at the end of November 2013 for 3 nights in a triple bed room, the rooms were very clean but the beds were not comfortable and only had 1 small blanket and 1 'flat as a pancake pillow' per bed (no duvets!!) 2 were single beds, the 3rd was a z-bed and the mattress practically sunk to the floor! The heating however was on 24/7 so the rooms were quite warm, but I still needed a second blanket on my bed at night. There's no carpets in the room, just laminate flooring, clean but cold on your feet! No courtesy tray with kettle to make drinks, but having checked this before traveling we took our own small travel kettle/tea/coffee. Thankfully there's a big supermarket right next door to buy milk, nibbles, bottled water, etc so we made good use of the empty mini fridge in our room. Getting to the hotel from the airport was easy, a shuttle bus (6 Euros each way) dropped us off at Mestre train station and it was a short walk to the hotel. Bus stop to and from Venice is directly outside the hotel and run every 10 mins or so and having bought a 72 hour bus/vaporetto pass at the hotel reception saved a fortune on paying out for individual fares (but it's not valid for the Airport shuttle bus). Our stay included breakfast, it was edible but poor quality. The fresh fruit juices are made from concentrated, sugar loaded squash and taste awful, the chocolate spread is definitely not Nutella, but a very poor substitute, the coffee and hot chocolate was barely drinkable and don't even get me started on the bacon and eggs!! Suffice to say we ate out during the day/evening. There's only 1 lift in the hotel and fits about 4 people (minus luggage!) so be prepared for a long wait or walk up and down the stairs. Our room was at the front of the hotel (4th floor) and the main road outside is very noisy both day and night, so take some earplugs if you're a light sleeper. There's free wifi, but it's a very hit and miss affair, you're lucky to get a signal and luckier still if it doesn't drop every few minutes! This hotel claims to be a 4*, but frankly I'd be hard pushed to rate it as a 2*. Oh and there's no bar, pool or gym/fitness center either!

Room Tip: Rooms at the back of the hotel are quieter.
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Mimi P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2013

Check in was interesting. Next to us was a party having a long and loud argument about their room booking. Had asked for joining rooms had not been given to them, yet had been on another visit. Customer really upset hotel worker could not have cared less. Our check in was really impersonal. Hotel worker did not look at us once or due to that smile or acknowledge us. We had three people booked in the room only given one key. Normally we are given two keys in a real hotel. I asked for two and was curtly advised this is all you get, one room one key! Oh sorry for asking. Went to room. This is not a small hotel therefore the size of the lifts was surprising, there are two but are really small. When inside room we had asked for x3 occupancy so all they did was stick an extra bed on the side if the double bed and it looked horrible. In fact i would have thought dangerous because the edge of it stuck over the entrance to the bathroom. Surely they must have room that can cope with a request of x3 people rather than supply a room with a bed bunged into it and it looked more like a prison cell. No i understand this part of the world can get hot but in winter they have no carpets or even rugs made getting up and walking around really cold to the foot. Not nice. There was a horrible sewage smell in the bathroom that never went away. Pointless complaining, just be aware. In general room functional, not one you would like to be in.
Bed really hard, heard a lot of people complaining about this at breakfast, another story later. Only one pillow per person and these were as flat a a pancake. Called for more, they never arrived. The noise from the room if you are in the front of the hotel as we were was terrible. Must have been woken up at least 6 times during the night, either due to marauding crowds screaming or delivery lorries, buses or traffic during the night. Ask for room at the back if i were you.
Breakfast was included in the price but was like cattle market. Most of the time the coffee and orange juice machines were empty and not working causing queues. The food was lacking and not re stocked very well. The tables were left dirty for a long time after people had left. Then two girls and a man cleared them eventually slowly and the two girls did nothing except moan all the time they were clearing and did not do this quietly. Surely they must know people can understand their mother tongue well. If you do not like it, get another job!
Watch out early evening the reception and lifts are taken over by a daily delivery of Chinese people. This clogs the lift for ages. Not sure what happens to them as i never saw them again!
Good bits.
Very good bus service to venice only a few stops and no changes.

So if this is what you are looking for, This is the place for you.

Room Tip: Sorry checked swimming pool by mistake they do not have one.
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank J B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mestre hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Ambasciatori
Hotel Ambasciatori
#39 of 58 in Mestre
1,081 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Villa Costanza
Hotel Villa Costanza
#2 of 58 in Mestre
760 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Tritone
Hotel Tritone
#8 of 58 in Mestre
1,338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Hotel Bologna
0.4 mi away
Hotel Plaza
Hotel Plaza
#18 of 58 in Mestre
2,123 reviews
2.0 mi away
Smart Hotel Holiday
Smart Hotel Holiday
#11 of 58 in Mestre
675 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Hotel Delfino Venezia Mestre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Hotel Delfino Venezia Mestre

Address: Corso del Popolo 211, 30172, Mestre, Italy (Formerly Delfino Hotel)
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Mestre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Luxury Hotel in Mestre
Price Range: £55 - £156 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Quality Hotel Delfino Venezia Mestre 4*
Number of rooms: 126
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, TravelUp, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Quality Hotel Delfino Venezia Mestre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Delfino Hotel Mestre
Quality Hotel Delfino Venezia Mestre Province Of Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing