We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overnight stop before a cruise: just as well...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Quality Hotel Delfino Venezia Mestre
Ranked #31 of 58 Hotels in Mestre
South Wales
Level Contributor
31 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Overnight stop before a cruise: just as well...”
Reviewed 14 July 2014

We were offered an overnight stay at the Delfino prior to a cruise from Venice. It probably didn't help that we arrived close to 10pm - so we didn't really get the best "first view" of the area. The hotel was a short taxi drive from Marco Polo airport - at a cost of 35 euros. Check in was efficient and we were soon directed to our family room on the 4th floor.
Whilst clean and spacious - the room itself was bland and characterless. For some unknown reason the window shutters were fixed shut - making it feel like a cell rather than a hotel room. The usual satellite tv channels were on offer, along with a safe and plenty of space to store luggage.
The bathroom was it's redeeming feature - also providing an ample supply of toiletries.
Taking into consideration the time of our arrival we opted to "buy in" our meal from the local takeaway - as it was unclear whether restaurant facilities were available throughout the evening.
Continental Breakfast was offered at an additional cost of 10 euros each. With this in mind we decided to head for one of the local cafés.
There is also a supermarket conveniently located next door.
The main bus route into Venice stops opposite the hotel. Although due to the volume of luggage, we took a taxi to the cruise port. Another 35 euros....
We would love to return to Venice, but would not consider the Delfino. We would probably investigate hotels nearer the centre of Venice.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kaf1sh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,856 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    303
    739
    463
    198
    153
See reviews for
405
922
36
93
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (212)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

This hotel's best feature is it's easy access to Venice - simply purchase a bus / boat card form reception and catch the bus from right outside to the main door. In 30 minutes you'll be in San Marco square.
The rooms are comfortable and the breakfast adequate - the latter can be supplemented form the excellent supermarket next door.
The free Wi-Fi is a joke though - it is only really available in the hallways or bar area - I spent a few hours outside my room with half a dozen other guests holding iPads in all manner of positions to gain access!! Plus they insist you log in thru your FB account and want access to your list of friends.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank AMnDMC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 July 2014

We stayed at the delfino the first week in July. I was a bit worried after reading some of the reviews! But the hotel was absolutely fine!! Easy to get to from the airport (€35 in a taxi just outside the airport doors). Staff weren't over friendly but gave us the info we needed, so no problem there. Room was fine... Typical hotel bed (nothing compares to your own!) but room was actually quite nice! Free wifi was a good added extra. Easy commute into Venice... The bus stop (4 & 4L) literally right outside of the hotel doors so no trekking round! Straight into Venice... Last stop. Okay the busses are usually very busy but it's only a short ride of 10 mins! And really frequent every 15 mins or so... So never waited long for one. The only real down side was the breakfast... I really struggled to find something to eat, so we ended up grabbing something in Venice after the first day. It wasn't great... But not the end of the world! Great for a city break as you don't need an amazing hotel... Just a bed to sleep in... Your going to see Venice... Not the hotel room! Did it's job and had a really pleasant, easy and convenient stay!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nataliepyke22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014

Room was good and was check-in promptly. Called to get harder pillow but does not have. Lift was rather small. Breakfast was ok with the usual breakfast offering. Great point - have a supermarket next door to get some nice seasonal fruits and others stuff required for the on-going trip.
Overall was a good hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CKTang61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Good bus connection to and from Venice but isn't so simple to find from Mstre Train station.
One of the lady receptionist was very loud and rude to my friend. You have to have a facebook account to use hotel's wifi otherwise they will charge you 3 euro for the premium account. Also demanded 100 euro deposit or your credit card details as security against any damages during our stay. Breakfast was good but customer service was no where near 4 star standard. Book here only if you have no other choice.

Room Tip: have a facebook account ready. money or credit card for deposit. be ready to face rude receptionists...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jobair a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

We tried this hotel on a recommendation from friends. While it is not in Venice itself, the bus stop is just outside, making it easy to commute (better if you have a travel pass). The hotel is good enough by European standards, although I do not believe the 4 star rating at all. My MAIN issue was the security in the luggage storage room. We found our luggage open and tampered with (luckily nothing was taken, since I had all my cash on me at the time) but it is still a terrible experience. When I reported this to the staff, they commented "we trust people" and were quite satified that nothing was stolen, so nothing was done afterwards. The so-called free wi-fi is a joke, and its better to get the 5 euro premium service (which still has it limitations). Breakfast sufficient, again by European standards.
I would probably try another hotel next time, mainly because I an still fuming abouth the security issue, but maybe I am biased now.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chiqpc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hartlepool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

We as a group of three couples have just spent two weekends in Hotel Delfino with a cruise in between.The rooms were clean and tidy with the added benefit of the use of a safe free of charge.Breakfast was ok but I needed to search through what was available to find something half decent and avoid the solid custard like material displayed as scrambled egg. The bus stop outside gives a short trip to Venice bus station and you can buy return tickets from reception.
On our last night (sunday) there was a shortage of restaurants open for business, our Restaurant only had pizza or chicken and chips to choose from so we made the mistake of going to Hotel Ambasciatori next door. The order was taken and we waited 60 mins for our starter and then 45 mins for main course. The veg was cold and under cooked (potato) the steak was blue when I asked for med/well. the pork dish turned out to be bacon slices. The head waiter refused to listen to our complaints and on asking for the bill and to speak to a supervisor he ignored the request and added the bill to the room account without informing us as to what he had done so we waited another fruitless 20 mins till we discovered this fact.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank bigj0hn05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mestre hotels
0.0 mi away
Ambasciatori Hotel
Ambasciatori Hotel
#38 of 58 in Mestre
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,028 reviews
2.0 mi away
Smart Hotel Holiday
Smart Hotel Holiday
#15 of 58 in Mestre
4.0 of 5 bubbles 621 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Villa Costanza
Hotel Villa Costanza
#2 of 58 in Mestre
4.5 of 5 bubbles 713 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Tritone
Hotel Tritone
#9 of 58 in Mestre
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,261 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Plaza
Hotel Plaza
#17 of 58 in Mestre
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,035 reviews
0.5 mi away
Best Western Hotel Bologna
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Hotel Delfino Venezia Mestre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Hotel Delfino Venezia Mestre

Property: Quality Hotel Delfino Venezia Mestre
Address: Corso del Popolo 211, 30172, Mestre, Italy (Formerly Delfino Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Mestre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Luxury Hotel in Mestre
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Quality Hotel Delfino Venezia Mestre 4*
Number of rooms: 126
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, TravelUp, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Ebookers, Priceline, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Quality Hotel Delfino Venezia Mestre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Delfino Hotel Mestre
Quality Hotel Delfino Venezia Mestre Province Of Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing