We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Do not stay here unless you had a tetanus shot!”
Review of Hotel Ariston

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Ariston
Ranked #55 of 58 Hotels in Mestre
Reviewed 28 June 2014

Avoid this hotel at all costs. There is a reason why its so cheap! The only reason we booked this hotel was due to a mistake and needed a quick last minute hotel for one night. As for the pictures posted, Im not even sure where they got those pictures, they are not of the hotel!

The gentleman who checked us in was very nice and helpful during the day and everything looked decent. when we came back from Venice, it was like stepping into the twilight zone.

There is NO A/C except for in the lobby. NONE!! We had to open the windows, but they had no screens only metal security panels that went up and down by a rope. There were BUGS!

The bathroom smelled horribly. There was NO toilet paper, when my son went and asked for some, the front desk guy laughed at my son! But the bidet had a foul smell coming from it. There was only room for the beds in the room. The shower was a hole in the floor and it did not drain, it was blocked and there was "stuff/junk" coming up through the drain.

The hotel is not in an area you would want to stay with kids. with the windows open all we heard was traffic and other things. We got back to our room at about 12:30am and we packed up our things and left, due to the "women" out front. Its kinda hard answering your kids on why the ladies were on the street that late!!!!!!!!

I draw the line at bugs and no A/C or FAN when its scorching hot and the ladies.

Oh and if you do stay here, make sure you are on the early bus, or you and everyone else on the bus will be dropped/kicked off in the middle of the no where on your way back from venice and will have to walk and find your way back over 2 miles in the middle of the night in a not so nice area!

Room Tip: Avoid this hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank aremites
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (500)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

80 - 86 of 500 reviews

Reviewed 7 June 2014

We stayed 2 nights with our children aged 3 and 5 years in a room with queen bed and 2 singles. It was large, clean and comfortable with a functional large clean bathroom. We were on the 3rd floor and did not notice any traffic noise at night. The location was easy to reach from the Mestre Train station on the H2 bus service which was every 30 minutes. We discovered a great playground for the boys at a family restaurant a few minutes walk from the Hotel (opposite the Novotel Hotel). We ordered in dinner the first night and the salads, pizza and chicken schnitzel were good and we appreciated the ability to eat it in the hotel eating area with plates and cutlery supplied and the cheap drinks to purchase at the hotel. Breakfast was great value with croissants, cakes, yoghurt, museli, cereal milk, juice and coffee machine. Ideal if you want a budget room for a good price close to Venice. Spend your money sightseeing instead of on the room.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Sandra P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2014

my husband booked this for my birthday we were sooo dissapointed when we finally found it, it was very difficult to find once you were dropped off by the bus it took us nearly 2 hours once in the room was stale the bathroom undescribable my husband took one look and said we are not staying!!! You are at least 15 mins away by public transport to get anywhere near the grand canal!!!! how on earth this hotel got a three star rating in quite beyond words

Room Tip: dont be fooled by the very good photography dont stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank snorkinbird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

The picture of the water fountain at the front of the hotel is no full of dirt and weeds. the reception area is tired and the carpets stained. On arriving into the twin room there were no draws the bedside cabinet was broken. In the robe there were four plastic hangers, there are no facilities to make a drink. When the receptionist was asked for four more hangers it took her 30 mins to find them.

Breakfast was cold boiled eggs, stale white rolls, triangle cream cheese,bagels various cakes and biscuits. there were no options for wheat intolerant visitors.

We stayed four four nights, the mattresses were uncomfortable, with springs digging into your bones and could have been no more than 2ft 6" as my 78 yr old mother turned over and fell out.

The bathroom was tired. When sitting on the toilet your are virtually astride the beday.

It also states Mestre, when it is a fifteen minute bus ride from Mestre. The bus to the hotel stops from Venice at 8.30 and is no real way of getting back to the hotel without a fifteen minute walk.

Room Tip: if you like run down hotels with badly stained carpets and like to live out of your suit case then t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Allison S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2014

I think it's really sad people slate this hotel, if you are looking at this budget you should know to expect less facilities. Our room was immaculately clean, the towels were changed daily, they even changed our shower curtain half way through the stay! The bed was so comfy I slept better than I have in ages. Breakfast is probably better suited for people with a sweet tooth as it is mainly pastries and sweet croissants but there is cereal, museli and greek yoghurt on offer. It only costs 2.60 for a return bus into venice which departs a stone's throw from the hotel. Mestre itself is very underrated, if you can manage a ten minute walk you will find plenty of great bars and restaurants. It looks like a sleepy town but there are bars open til 1am. We didn't spend much time in the hotel, it's not the place you go to stay there all day but to return at night and have breakfast for a fraction of the prices in venice was amazing! Finally, I would add that the staff are outstandingly helpful and also gave us free maps. I'd only say don't stay here if you don't like walking.

Room Tip: There's no mini bar so go to lidl to stock up on nuts, crisps and cheap alcohol! Although hairdr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank HeatherLouise90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2014

I can only say that this is the worst hotel I have ever stayed in its absolutely run down to a level that you just could not imagine
The walls in the bedroom have been decorated with 3 different colours on one wall the bedding has a black band around the bottom which is where it has soaked up the water and dirt off the floor,tiles cracked & mold in the bathroom, I can go on and on and on the place is no better than a prison camp. The so called food selection is just unbelievable that anyone would even consider putting it on a plate and serving to a paying customer
This place should be condemned then totally flattened
The door says it all HA HA

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank GianniArmani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2014

the hotel is far away from Venice we had to pay 18 euros each day to get to Venice which adds up over the 5 days that we stayed there. the room was dirty and very very sparse, not even tea making facilities. the bathroom is tiny and can practically sit on the toilet and shower at the same time. the tiles on the floor were cracked and mould on the walls. would not recommend to anyone

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sammijay17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mestre hotels
1 mi away
Hotel Centrale
Hotel Centrale
#52 of 58 in Mestre
935 reviews
0.1 mi away
Club Hotel
Club Hotel
#42 of 58 in Mestre
303 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hotel Ducale
Hotel Ducale
#1 of 1 in Favaro Veneto
506 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Kappa Hotel
Kappa Hotel
#28 of 58 in Mestre
390 reviews
5 mi away
Palladio Hotel
Palladio Hotel
#2 of 2 in Malcontenta
434 reviews
1.6 mi away
Antico Moro Hotel
Antico Moro Hotel
#1 of 1 in Zelarino
467 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ariston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ariston

Address: Via Guido Bergamo 12, 30174, Mestre, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Mestre
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #55 of 58 Hotels in Mestre
Price Range: £26 - £68 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Ariston 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Ariston is an elegant hotel , it is an'ideal location for anyone reaching Venice by car or by bus.The young and informal hospitality, the excellent level of service and the cosmopolitan setting will make your stay even more interesting and fun. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Ebookers, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Ariston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ariston Hotel Mestre
Hotel Ariston Province Of Venice/Mestre

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing