We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very good option if you want to visit Venice!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel San Carlo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel San Carlo
Ranked #10 of 58 Hotels in Mestre
Certificate of Excellence
Leuven, Belgium
Level Contributor
134 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Very good option if you want to visit Venice!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2011

This two-star hotel offers much better value than a typical two star-hotel. The hotel is quiet, the room, bathroom and dining room were very clean. The staff was friendly and helpful. A free parking is available. The bus, a 5-minute walk away, takes you to Piazza Roma in Venice. The buses run frequently and late at night. The trip, including the walk and wait time, takes about 20 to 30 minutes.

Free internet access is available in the hotel lobby but t's not the fastest connection.

Breakfast is included and was okay.

There are quite some restaurants in Mestre, but the distance to Mestre centre is about 1km. A good alternative is having dinner in Venice, since the buses run till late at night.

Very good value for the price we paid!!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank somanynicetrips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

411 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    146
    201
    54
    10
    0
See reviews for
91
225
17
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
london
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2011

I stayed here the week before Easter with my family. We chose the hotel because it was inexpensive, had a car park and was within easy reach of Venice. We were not disappointed. Our room was clean and comfortable, with a small, modern bathroom with shower. We had three beds and a cot in the room and it was a bit cramped, but it would be a decent size for a double room. Anyway, if you're visiting Venice you aren't going to spend much time at the hotel! A word of warning about the car park though - it is too small for the size of the hotel, and you may have to park on the street overnight and move into the car park when guests leave the following day.

The breakfast was pretty standard - fruit juice, tea, coffee, croissants, bread rolls, ham, cheese, salami, cereal, eggs, biscuits - and sufficient, with enough choice for fussy eaters. The reception staff deserve a special mention - the four we met were all very helpful and friendly, and very knowledgeable about Mestre, Venice, and the surrounding area. They can book tours, visits and they also sell the tickets that you will need to travel around Venice. Adriano in particular helped to make our holiday run smoothly. All of the day reception staff speak good English.

The hotel is a five minute walk from the bus stop where buses run every 10 minutes to Venice. The bus journey takes about 15 minutes and the bus station is right by a boat stop on the Grand Canal where you can catch the water buses that run around Venice. The ticket system in Venice has recently been simplified, and now you can get a ticket which allows you to travel on the buses, the water buses, and the boats to Murano, and is available as a 24, 48 or 72 hour ticket. You can get these at the hotel at the regular price. Children from age 6 also need a ticket too, and there is no discount :-(

The hotel is a 10 minute walk from a shopping mall in Mestre, and there is a supermarket (Pam) in the basement of the mall. Just past the mall you reach a pleasant piazza, which is reasonably lively with shops and restaurants. If you don't fancy staying out in Venice all day, or paying Venice prices, then there are plenty of restaurants in Mestre which are much better value.

It isn't a luxury hotel at all - if you're looking for something special or romantic then stay in a smart hotel in Venice itself - but the San Carlo is a good option for visitors who want a clean, comfortable place to stay when visiting Venice on a budget. In particular, if you are arriving by car consider staying in Mestre - the car park in Venice is VERY expensive and you still have to get yourself and your luggage across Venice.

Room Tip: The rooms at the back of the hotel are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank debral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wroclaw, Poland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2010

The rooms are clean but not modern, the staff is veeeeeery friendly and helpful, breakfast is great but the hotel is too far from the bus stop (for me).

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bored_stiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
plymouth
Level Contributor
160 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2010

I agree with all of the points in the previous reviews . This was the last stop on a coast to coast bycyle tour and the welcome was good and there is somewhere to store the bikes Room is Adequate and so is the shower if a bit weak! Breakfast was ok No problems except it rained !! . Number 12 bus to venice 10-15mins and as a previous reviewer said get the venice card it definately worth the money you can use it as many times as you like on both land and water buses

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank twankey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitby, Ontario
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2008

We added Venice to our trip at the last minute and scrambled to find a place to stay. Someone told us about the city of Mestre, a short bus ride outside of Venice and we found Hotel San Carlo online. We based our decision to stay on the few comments on TripAdvisor and I promised I would add my own comment upon our return to reassure other travellers that this 2-star hotel is a decent pied-a-terre and a wonderful economical alternative to staying is very pricy Venice.

This two-star hotel is simple in appearance but offers all you need for a convenient and pleasant stay. The hotel is quiet, the room, bathroom and dining room were very clean and the staff was wonderful at recommanding the best ways to enjoy Venice (transportation, tours, sights) and can even produce the tickets on site. The local transit system, a 5-minute walk away, takes you to Piazza Roma in Venice. No hassle, no traffic, no parking to worry about! The buses run frequently and late at night; the trip, including the walk and wait time, never took more than 20 minutes.

Free internet access is available in the hotel lobby. It's not the fastest connexion/computer which made using Skype difficult but it's enough for e-mail.

Breakfast is included and consists of cold cuts, cheese, hard boiled eggs, cereal, breads, pastries, milk, juice, coffee and tea. It was perfect!

The staff is friendly and eager to make your stay as enjoyable as possible. I heard them greet and assist guests in Italian, English, French, Spanish and they told me they are learning Chinese to accommodate the growing demand.

Overall, we were happily surprised with our last-minute find and enjoyed our two-night stay. The hotel was completely booked while we were there.

  • Liked — Cleanliness, price, helpful staff, location
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank TravellingTranslator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iowa
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2008

We stayed for three nights, two single rooms. Rooms very clean, somewhat cramped but OK. Services were average, breakfast was sufficient. Location is great for taking the bus into Venice, desk was very helpful. Overall, we would readily return if we come for another visit.

  • Stayed May 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank JoelPcr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2008

Very nice hotel for two stars. Simple furniture, but big room, condition. Big and very good big light bathroom with bidet, clean shower cubicle.
Staff is very friendly and suggest some interesting excurtion, gave detailed description about how to go to Venice.
Place is not very comfortable if you use train - hotel placed far from train station and it is need to take a bus (approximately 15 minutes from station, but it is not evident direction and name of station - it is better to ask bus-driver). But in 5 minute trip from hotel there is bus station, where every 10-15 minutes there is a bus exactly to Venice.
Breakfest is nor really various but delicious.

This hotel can be recommended for those who have a car or don't want to pay a lot to live in Venice exactly but every day going to Venice.

  • Liked — Staff, bathroom, free internet, close to Venice bus, good bed clothes
  • Disliked — far from Venice Mestre station, simple furniture, no kettle.
  • Stayed February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank et_vanille
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mestre hotels
0.9 mi away
Hotel Villa Costanza
Hotel Villa Costanza
#2 of 58 in Mestre
4.5 of 5 bubbles 695 reviews
1.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Bologna - Mestre Station
0.9 mi away
Hotel Tritone
Hotel Tritone
#9 of 58 in Mestre
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Venice Mestre San Giuliano
2.8 mi away
Antico Moro Hotel
Antico Moro Hotel
#1 of 1 in Zelarino
4.5 of 5 bubbles 427 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Venezia
Hotel Venezia
#22 of 58 in Mestre
3.5 of 5 bubbles 644 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel San Carlo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel San Carlo

Property: Hotel San Carlo
Address: Via Forte Marghera 131, 30173, Mestre, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Mestre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Mestre
#13 Family Hotel in Mestre
#14 Romantic Hotel in Mestre
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel San Carlo 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is situated in centre of Mestre, just 600 meters away from the main old square "Piazza Ferretto" with its very nice shops. This strategic location makes it easy to reach by car, by bus either from the railway station or from the airports of Venice ("Marco Polo Airport") and Treviso ("Sant Angelo Aiport"). Venice "Roma Square" can be reached by bus every 10 minutes during the day and every 20 minutes during the night and the bus stop only 300 meters away from the hotel. All rooms, which have been refurnished this winter , are with private bathroom, Tv-Lcd with channels in different languages, telephone with direct line, free wi-fi internet, safe and air conditioning. The hotel provides free parking for the guests as well. A very professional staff will help the guests with all information regarding itineraries, guided tours and so on. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel San Carlo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Carlo Mestre
San Carlo Hotel Mestre
Hotel San Carlo Province Of Venice/Mestre

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing