We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient Location”
Review of Hotel San Carlo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel San Carlo
Ranked #13 of 57 Hotels in Mestre
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 July 2014

The location of the hotel was very convenient - just a quick 10 minutes by bus into Venice. The staff was very helpful, the room was clean, and the breakfast was pretty standard. I'd recommend staying here.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (471)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

84 - 90 of 471 reviews

Reviewed 3 July 2014

We choose this hotel based on Trip advisor reviews, price and availability. The location of this hotel worked really well for us four adults as a base to visit Venice. Venice is really busy and this hotel is only a short walk to local Venice Mestre shopping, restaurants and the bus stop with frequent buses into Venice within 10 min. The service by the staff very helpful and courteous especially the front desk representative "Justin" who acted more as a concierge by providing us a map of Venice, directions, tour and bus tickets, taxi arrangements to our cruise ship and great places to eat and selections of wine to purchase. Overall a very pleasant stay, we felt very comfortable at this hotel and recommended for those who wants value for money and great service. at a hotel with the staff very helpful and nice, the rooms, quiet and clean.
best regards
Harry Sinsheimer

Room Tip: I would stay at this hotel again
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HarrySin2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2014

My wife and I (and our two dogs) felt very comfortable at this hotel. The staff were very helpful and nice, the rooms large, quiet and clean. We could park right behind the hotel and the bus connection to Venice is very straightforward. For a Venice trip in our eyes, the best place to stay!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Georg H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

We choose this hotel based on its price and availability for our recent trip to Venice. The location of this hotel was great as a base to visit Venice as it it's only a short walk to the bus stop with frequent buses taking us into Venice within 10 min. The service was fantastic, very helpful and courteous front desk who provided us not only map of Venice and direction to bus stop, they also helped us find great places to eat. On our last day they let us leave our luggage with them after we checked out, so that we can explore Mestre itself for a couple of hours before our train departure time. They even helped us print out tickets we needed at our next destination! Overall a very pleasant stay and recommended for those who wants value for money and great service.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank K-A-C-U_Perth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014

We reached it very easily (even though there was a transporters' strike the day we arrived!), as it's close to bus stops of several lines. It's only minutes away from Venice by bus.
The room was at the 2nd floor (there's an elevator :) ), a corner room with a balcony. It was spacious, clean and quiet, beds- comfortable, shades, air conditioned. The bath: large enough and clean. Breakfast (7:30-10:00) was also very good, and the price of the room-absolutely reasonable.
I'd like to thank the hotel's staff! I could only say that we've met here the friendliest and most helpful staff: offered to serve us breakfast at 4:45 a.m., helped us with all kind of info needed etc.(routes, restaurants etc.); very efficient (without making any fuss), always smiling & nice to everyone.
We'd choose again this hotel any time I'd have the opportunity to travel to Venice, and so would our friends we've traveled with.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 14_CDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014

The hotel is easy to find. We came by car, so the free-parking is very comfortable. The staff were very friendly. The rooms are nice and clean. We took the bus to Venice which takes only about 10 minutes. Breakfast was very good. On the day we checked out we were allowed to leave our car at the hotel for free. Me and my daughter enjoyed these 3 days!! Maybe we come to Venice next year, then we will come to Hotel San Carlo aigain.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Birgit_K123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2013

Venice hotel prices are sky high but in nearby Mestre we found the San Carlo. The room was spacious and looked just like on their website. It was comfortable, quiet, clean and air conditioned. We got a package which included bus tickets to and from Venice every day. The bus was an easy block away but make sure you know how to get back. We stayed in Venice until late and the bus we thought we needed was not in service. It took 30 minutes to find the right one. When we left to board our cruise in Venice we took another bus from front of the hotel but had to transfer in a few blocks. We were able to take all of our luggage on the bus. The breakfast was adequate. We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Oaxacaone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mestre hotels
0.9 mi away
Hotel Villa Costanza
Hotel Villa Costanza
#2 of 57 in Mestre
794 reviews
1.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Quid Hotel Venice Airport
0.4 mi away
Hotel Delle Rose
Hotel Delle Rose
#11 of 57 in Mestre
362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Antico Moro Hotel
Antico Moro Hotel
#1 of 1 in Zelarino
468 reviews
1.6 mi away
Smart Hotel Holiday
Smart Hotel Holiday
#10 of 57 in Mestre
767 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Aaron
Hotel Aaron
#27 of 57 in Mestre
601 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel San Carlo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel San Carlo

Address: Via Forte Marghera 131, 30173, Mestre, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Mestre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Mestre
#8 Family Hotel in Mestre
#14 Romantic Hotel in Mestre
Price Range: £38 - £91 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel San Carlo 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is situated in centre of Mestre, just 600 meters away from the main old square "Piazza Ferretto" with its very nice shops. This strategic location makes it easy to reach by car, by bus either from the railway station or from the airports of Venice ("Marco Polo Airport") and Treviso ("Sant Angelo Aiport"). Venice "Roma Square" can be reached by bus every 10 minutes during the day and every 20 minutes during the night and the bus stop only 300 meters away from the hotel. All rooms, which have been refurnished this winter , are with private bathroom, Tv-Lcd with channels in different languages, telephone with direct line, free wi-fi internet, safe and air conditioning. The hotel provides free parking for the guests as well. A very professional staff will help the guests with all information regarding itineraries, guided tours and so on. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel San Carlo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Carlo Mestre
San Carlo Hotel Mestre
Hotel San Carlo Province Of Venice/Mestre

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing