We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“clean and quiet”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel San Carlo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel San Carlo
Ranked #9 of 58 Hotels in Mestre
Certificate of Excellence
Slovakia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“clean and quiet”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014

Instead of staying directly in Venice, we chose this small hotel in Mestre. It was easy to find and has its own parking lot, which is nice. It is a 5 minutes walk to the bus stop from which you reach Venice in about 15/20 minutes.
The room was basic, but clean, good bed, nice bathroom. Quiet. The reception staff was helpful and also sold us bus tickets and explained how to get to the bus.
Breakfast was OK. I would stay here again, if I came to Venice by car.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MayaM72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

410 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    145
    201
    54
    10
    0
See reviews for
91
224
17
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Wingham, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2014

We found this hotel to be perfectly situated for visiting Venice. Staff were friendly and welcoming, and provided all the information we needed on arrival - including a map and written directions for the 5 minute walk to the bus stop! Happy with our room and the off street parking. We absolutely want to visit Venice again, and this hotel is where we want to stay. :-)

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Punkinella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

I landed at Venice airport and this hotel was a short bus ride and stopped about 20ft from the front door of the hotel.

I was traveling alone (backpacking thru northern Italy) and only planned to stay two nights. I discovered it was the perfect location just 10mins by bus north of Venice.

Venice is very touristy so there are a lot of crowds. I was happy to end a busy day of sightseeing in a quiet and much cheaper location. I ended up staying an extra two nights because staff were extremely friendly! :)

The area was safe, hotel was very clean and staff not only extremely friendly but very hospitable and personable. Staff helped me save money by suggesting an "off & on" boat and bus pass which I hadn't know existed. I could use the boats in Venice and City transit in Venice/Mestre as much as I wanted for 36hrs for approx $40 Canadian. (There are different hour options). Staff also assisted me with train schedules and connecting times for my next adventure. They were fantastic!

Breakfast was included and standard European breakfast. I had my own bathroom and wifi was free and accessible in my room.

I would definitely recommend this hotel and stay there again! Oh, I must mention.. The Best pizzeria is literally right next door! :)

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GirlCanadian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2014

We stayed 3 nights in this hotel and it is really all we expected. Great rooms, parking place, nice people who work there and the busstop to Venice only 5 minutes away. We can recommmend this hotel to you all!

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Sjaantje76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rhodes, Greece
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

Very nice spot. Next to the bus stop for Venice only three minutes walking. Very nice and clean rooms. Restaurants are near by. The Staff is great and very helpful. Has a private parking with cctv.
Breakfast was satisfying.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IoannaJoRhodes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Vancouver, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

The location of the hotel was very convenient - just a quick 10 minutes by bus into Venice. The staff was very helpful, the room was clean, and the breakfast was pretty standard. I'd recommend staying here.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2014

We choose this hotel based on Trip advisor reviews, price and availability. The location of this hotel worked really well for us four adults as a base to visit Venice. Venice is really busy and this hotel is only a short walk to local Venice Mestre shopping, restaurants and the bus stop with frequent buses into Venice within 10 min. The service by the staff very helpful and courteous especially the front desk representative "Justin" who acted more as a concierge by providing us a map of Venice, directions, tour and bus tickets, taxi arrangements to our cruise ship and great places to eat and selections of wine to purchase. Overall a very pleasant stay, we felt very comfortable at this hotel and recommended for those who wants value for money and great service. at a hotel with the staff very helpful and nice, the rooms, quiet and clean.
best regards
Harry Sinsheimer

Room Tip: I would stay at this hotel again
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HarrySin2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mestre hotels
0.9 mi away
Hotel Villa Costanza
Hotel Villa Costanza
#2 of 58 in Mestre
4.5 of 5 bubbles 694 reviews
1.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Bologna - Mestre Station
0.9 mi away
Hotel Tritone
Hotel Tritone
#10 of 58 in Mestre
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Venice Mestre San Giuliano
2.8 mi away
Antico Moro Hotel
Antico Moro Hotel
#1 of 1 in Zelarino
4.5 of 5 bubbles 425 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Venezia
Hotel Venezia
#21 of 58 in Mestre
3.5 of 5 bubbles 644 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel San Carlo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel San Carlo

Property: Hotel San Carlo
Address: Via Forte Marghera 131, 30173, Mestre, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Mestre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Mestre
#13 Family Hotel in Mestre
#14 Romantic Hotel in Mestre
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel San Carlo 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is situated in centre of Mestre, just 600 meters away from the main old square "Piazza Ferretto" with its very nice shops. This strategic location makes it easy to reach by car, by bus either from the railway station or from the airports of Venice ("Marco Polo Airport") and Treviso ("Sant Angelo Aiport"). Venice "Roma Square" can be reached by bus every 10 minutes during the day and every 20 minutes during the night and the bus stop only 300 meters away from the hotel. All rooms, which have been refurnished this winter , are with private bathroom, Tv-Lcd with channels in different languages, telephone with direct line, free wi-fi internet, safe and air conditioning. The hotel provides free parking for the guests as well. A very professional staff will help the guests with all information regarding itineraries, guided tours and so on. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel San Carlo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Carlo Mestre
San Carlo Hotel Mestre
Hotel San Carlo Province Of Venice/Mestre

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing