We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old, outworn, dirty”
Review of Hotel Centrale

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Centrale
Ranked #51 of 57 Hotels in Mestre
Reviewed 31 May 2012

Old furniture, dirty sink and cockroaches in the bathroom, mosquitoes in the bedroom, rude personnel

Room Tip: Avoid it if you can afford.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sir0lancelot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (951)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

354 - 360 of 951 reviews

Reviewed 22 May 2012

We were there for 3 days. Overall I was disappointed with the poor quality. I expected much better.
-Location:The only good thing about the hotel is its location. There is a bus stop and a supermarket right across the street. A near luxury for those willing to use public transport. Buses are very frequent and almost punctual. Only 1 or 2 eat-out options in near vicinity. But within a 1km radius you will find some decent options. Mestre railway station is around 1 km away and you will find decent restaurants around that area. Thats where the good things about this hotel come to an end !
-Rooms: Just average. Could have been much better. Rooms are very congested and a well built person may even find it difficult to walk in the room. Bathroom is very small and the shower was actually meant for a baby, not even for an average adult !. The flat screen TV was even smaller than my 17" laptop screen.
-Front end staff: Was freindly and provided us with all infos we needed.
-Housekeeping: Was OK
-Breakfast: Poor and disappointing. They serve only cold breakfast. Cookies, tea/coffee and juice, thats it. The breakfast lounge was badly managed and was chaotic. The hotel does have a full-fledged bar but just a refrigerator at the reception showcasing drinks !

Overall: If you are only concerned about your transportation to and from venice city center, and care least about the hotel quality and living experience, you may consider this !

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ANK_Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2012

Hotel easy to find, about 20 min walk from station. We found staff helpful and cheerful. Room and bed small, but nice and clean with plenty hot water. Small balcony was a nice surprise. Location was good. Breakfast adequate. In all, it was what we expected for the price.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a higher floor but away from lift
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jeanius141
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2012

This hotel is close to the bus stop to Venice. That's about all that can be said in its favour, although the room was clean. The service was so bad that eventually I just had to laugh about it! They really don't care! But at least it's close to Venice...

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kaye O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2012

If you are looking only for the place to sleep and you are not demanding, it is a perfect place. The room is clean and ok. Unfortunately we had third bed in room for 2 from some reason, so that took a bit of space. Bus stop to Venice is in front of the hotel, takes about 15-20 mins, which was great. Supermarket just across the street, trainstation closeby and the buses to both airports as well. Downside is not very friendly staff and the sweet breakfast every day. You can have a supplement 5euro per person which includes common bfast with salami, cheese and eggs. We were not told, we've been just charged,which I consider a staff fault upon arrival, who didn't advice on that. Overall average.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jana_Edin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2012

Went to Centrale as part of Lowcostholiday. Hotel is well placed for bus stop to Venice and is only 5 minutes walk from Treviso airport coach stop. Supermarket across road and a Brek self service restaurant nearby.
Rooms are small but clean.Shower and air conditioning work. Breakfast consists of rolls,jam and cakes of all sorts. Staff efficient. Luggage can be left at the hotel if you arrive early or leave late.
Hotel supplies useful map of Venice and of Mestre. The old town square is nearby and cafes,bars are much cheaper than Venice. You can buy bus tickets at the Tabbachi next door but it shuts from 1.00 to 4.00pm. In all :easy to reach,clean and good price.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Andrew C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2012

Good, avarage hotel in the centre of Mestre /Venezia/. Five minutes walk to the ancient city centre, shops, department stores. 30 meters bus stop to Venice. Big supermarket at the bus stop. Silent, quiet rooms, breakfast only sweets, no ham, cheese, etc. But good and fresh.
15 minutes from hotel to Piazzale Roma with bus. Safe location also at night.
Venice is one of the wonder of the world. We walked 5 days in the city, to the Lido, Murano etc.
Piazza San Marco, Campanile, Palazzo Ducale, Santa Maria Gloriosa dei Frari, Santa Maria della Salute, Tiziano, Canova paintings, sculptures extra beautiful. Vaporettos, gondolas, watertaxis, Rialto, Ca dOro, Casino, fantastic!!! Huge quantity of Murano glasses in every shop, and the carnival masks, its very hard not to buy one.
Evereybody must go to Venice!!

Room Tip: Every room is ok.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank FALATKA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mestre hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Aaron
Hotel Aaron
#27 of 57 in Mestre
603 reviews
1.1 mi away
Kappa Hotel
Kappa Hotel
#28 of 57 in Mestre
392 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hotel Ducale
Hotel Ducale
#1 of 1 in Favaro Veneto
507 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Garibaldi
Hotel Garibaldi
#29 of 57 in Mestre
264 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Villa Costanza
Hotel Villa Costanza
#2 of 57 in Mestre
794 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Nuova Mestre
Hotel Nuova Mestre
#24 of 57 in Mestre
156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Centrale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Centrale

Address: Piazzale Donatori di Sangue 14, 30171, Mestre, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Mestre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #51 of 57 Hotels in Mestre
Price Range: £30 - £227 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Centrale 3*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Mestre's old town, just a stone's throw from Venice, Hotel Centrale is proposed as a modern structure, it is comfortable and practical and capable of meeting the needs of the numerous tourists headed for Venice as well as an incentive type clientele. Hotel Centrale, which has 99 rooms distributed over 5 floors, is a young, modern structure, it has all the necessary facilities, it is located in Mestre's old town, from which you can easily reach Venice thanks to public buses which pass by every 10 minutes and stop right opposite the Hotel. The well presented, cosmopolitan setting, the family-managed services and the impeccable courtesy that singles out our group, will contribute to making your stay in Venice an unforgettable one! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Superbreak UK, Expedia, Ctrip TA, LoveHolidays, HostelWorld, Agoda, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Fastbooking, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Centrale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Centrale Hotel Mestre
Hotel Centrale Province Of Venice/Mestre

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing