We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Average hotel... OK!”
Review of Hotel Centrale

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Centrale
Ranked #49 of 58 Hotels in Mestre
Italy
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Average hotel... OK!”
Reviewed 25 December 2012

We’ve stayed in this hotel two times. The first time (Dec. 2011) we were a bit disappointed, as the room was not very clean (there were some black spots on the sheets and pillows). Breakfast was quite disappointing too, there was not much choice (just bread and sweets, orange juice, water and coffee).
The second time we’ve been there (Dec. 2012) it was much better. We were given a room on the 4th floor. The room seemed newer than the previous one and it was very clean. The bathroom also seemed newer and cleaner than last year.
Breakfast is anyway nothing special, there is not much choice.
I have to say, though, that the hotel is located in the centre of Mestre, and that we spent just 34 euro (double room + breakfast). Both times we were able to sleep quite well. Air conditioning is a bit noisy, tough.
Considering the position and the price of this hotel I would definitely go there again.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Avyavy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

838 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    74
    228
    303
    133
    100
See reviews for
171
334
52
47
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level Contributor
39 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights on a tour with a group of 20-somethings.
The hotel is on the bus route to Venice, and nearby there is a plaza with a small shopping centre, plenty of restaurants and boutique stores, and seems to be a popular hangout with the locals.
There is a small supermarket across the street and a laundromat nearby.
The AC was off because it was 'winter' (in October) so our room was too warm, and we were plagued by a few incessant mosquitos.
The bed was average, the bathroom was ok but the showerhead was scungy and in serious need of some cleaning.
The wifi was pretty expensive.

The hotel is convenient as it's on bus routes for Venice and the airport, and there is enough nearby for those who want to stay nearby in the evenings.
It is comfortable enough for the budget traveler.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Heatherned
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warminster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2012

Although the outside of this hotel is not very awe inspiring it was for us the perfect base for our 3 night break.We had some difficulty in finding it at first, i think more through our lack of sense of direction, the locals were very helpful. It is signposted but there was some road works so lots of hoarding which distracted from the directions.The hotel has a huge vertical sign in yellow saying HOTEL, the full hotel name is across the top of the building. this was a useful marker for getting off the bus. We had requested a room with twin beds and were initially put into a double room but we were moved when pointed out that although we were close friends (2 ladies) we were not that close!! All the reception staff were extremely helpful especially the 'look alike Ben Elton'. The bus stop for Venice and the airport [No.7 to Venice..No.15 to airport] is literally just around the corner and runs regularly, and late into the night, the shop to purchase bus tickets is next to the hotel.Still not sure that purchasing a tourist time based ticket is a good idea, need to consider how much you will use it. The breakfast option covered all the bases for us, The room was cleaned every day and was good to have a balcony. We did not have to leave until late in the day and there was no problem leaving our bags until later. Yes the small grassed area opposite in the evening was home to local 'homeless' but they were no trouble, and something to watch whilst waiting for friend to get ready, The supermarket stocked all you could need. lots of small eateries in the area go local its more fun and cheaper. We walked the whole of Venice and the person who said to get lost in Venice is SO right [anyway it is impossible to follow a map,which the hotel will provide for you] every turn of a corner brings forth a WOW surprise. and there is always a cafe to stop at and rest. Obviously coffee /food prices are more in the touristy areas but take a few street back and the cost is at least half for the same thing. Our last day was spent entirely in Mestre and we were lucky to have the sunshine to wander the streets and shops/cafe .Also Wednesday is market day and it is HUGE so never sure if we saw it all. All in all this hotel is perfect as a base to explore Venice and all it has to offer. Would recommend it highly. Although it was November and Venice is know to flood we actually saw none although it was obvious it happened either overnight or early morning[not sure] as plenty of mopping up going on by the time we reached Venice itself in the morning, and the platform walkways were stacked up ready and waiting. You can purchase plastic bags with soles 10Euros. if you feel the need to be out and about in it.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank judgedredge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2012

A clean hotel, near the bus station to Venice. We find a girl at the reception very friendly and polite, who explain us all we had to know about the Venice Island and made our stay very pleasant. The breakfast was simple but you can have more.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ana M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2012

Very good comfortable hotel for exploring Venice/Veneto region. Ideal location in centre of Mestre with good frequent transport links to both Venice & airport.
Lots of good restaurants/bars within walking distance. Hotel staff very friendly and welcoming ; always happy to offer advice.

Room Tip: Ask for one at the front with a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ManchesterGulliver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brinklow
Level Contributor
65 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2012

We were concerned about this hotel when we read the previous reviews...
Location was interesting from the drunks in the park opposite to the gang of shop lifters in the local super market.
The hotel though was decent though,rooms a little shabby and drab,but clean.
Air con was rubbish and although it was October we got eat by mozzies.
Breakfast was basic in lacklustre.
Dont forget your Tourist Tax???
Number 7 bus goes straight to Venice for 1euro 30,dont take a taxi for 35 euros.
Also number 15 bus to Airport for 6 euros,dont take a taxi for 40 euros.
Dont get ripped off!!!!!!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BrinklowSello
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
192 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2012

Stayed at this hotel 18th Oct.2012 for two night's. From the railway station it was easy to find. We crossed the main road, and walked along the Via Piave road , and at the main crossroads we turned right, and the hotel was on the left, it took around 15mins. The no.2 bus runs along this route from the railway station, and there are Taxis if needed. We checked in ok, and the man on the desk was polite and helpful. Our room was on the third floor,(There is a lift.) The room itself was standard, a double bed, which was very firm, and the pillows were as hard as bricks, wardrobe,desk and two chair's, and flat screen tv. The bathroom was clean and big enough for our needs. We had clean towels on both night's, and the shower worked, if not all that powerful. The room price included breakfast, which consisted of small bread rolls, jams,cakes,biscuits and pastries,coffee,tea,milk. OK if you've got a sweet tooth. There is a supermarket across the road which is good to buy bottled water, and other foods , fruit,bread etc. all at cheaper prices than you will get in Venice. The No.7 Bus stop is outside the supermarket which goes to Venice every 10mins, 1.30euro single fare, tickets bought at the newspaper stand. Restaurants, bars and shops are all within walking distance, as the hotel is in a really good central location in Mestre. At night we felt safe in this area as we walked around the various restaurants and bars. I would recommend this hotel if only for it's location, as we only used it as our base to get around the area for the sightseeing.

Room Tip: We were on the third floor, and didn't experience any noise from the main road outside the hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CharleyNottinghamUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mestre hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Piave
Hotel Piave
#52 of 58 in Mestre
3.0 of 5 bubbles 587 reviews
0.5 mi away
Quality Hotel Delfino Venezia Mestre
0.4 mi away
Hotel Aaron
Hotel Aaron
#24 of 58 in Mestre
4.0 of 5 bubbles 523 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Palladio Hotel
Palladio Hotel
#2 of 2 in Malcontenta
3.0 of 5 bubbles 375 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Venezia
Hotel Venezia
#20 of 58 in Mestre
3.5 of 5 bubbles 658 reviews
2.2 mi away
Antico Moro Hotel
Antico Moro Hotel
#1 of 1 in Zelarino
4.5 of 5 bubbles 435 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Centrale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Centrale

Property: Hotel Centrale
Address: Piazzale Donatori di Sangue 14, 30171, Mestre, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Mestre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 58 Hotels in Mestre
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Centrale 3*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Mestre's old town, just a stone's throw from Venice, Hotel Centrale is proposed as a modern structure, it is comfortable and practical and capable of meeting the needs of the numerous tourists headed for Venice as well as an incentive type clientele. Hotel Centrale, which has 99 rooms distributed over 5 floors, is a young, modern structure, it has all the necessary facilities, it is located in Mestre's old town, from which you can easily reach Venice thanks to public buses which pass by every 10 minutes and stop right opposite the Hotel. The well presented, cosmopolitan setting, the family-managed services and the impeccable courtesy that singles out our group, will contribute to making your stay in Venice an unforgettable one! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, HostelWorld, LoveHolidays, Lastminute, Superbreak UK, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, getaroom.com, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Centrale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Centrale Hotel Mestre
Hotel Centrale Province Of Venice/Mestre

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing