We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good budget hotel”
Review of Hotel Centrale

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Centrale
Ranked #51 of 58 Hotels in Mestre
Bucharest
1 review
“Good budget hotel”
Reviewed 12 June 2013

The hotel was very well located next to the bust station in Mestre, close to the big square where many bars and terraces are located. The bus takes you to Venice in around 20 minutes and buses run frequently. The cable TV did not function on any of the nights.They served continental breakfast that could have had more variety of items.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank timetraveler84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

883 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    78
    237
    317
    142
    109
See reviews for
179
356
54
47
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lahore, Punjab, Pakistan
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2013

The hotel had a nice location. Although our main tourist destination was Venice, but this hotel offered a much more feasible option. The hotel is centrally located in Mestre. It is about 1 km from the Mestre train station(we were able to walk to the hotel on our first night with the luggage and all). It had really good transport connection. The bus stop was right in-front of the hotel. The shopping malls were also close-by and easily reachable by foot. The bus to Venice just took about 20 mins to reach there. I would definitely recommend it to anybody who doesn't want to spend twice as much for the hotels in Venice.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fizza M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2013

Just got back from a week on a cruise which included a night in a hotel, the Centrale Hotel, in Meastre. The hotel is basic, clean but breakfast is awful. The receptionist was really helpful; told us how to get the bus (the number 7) from just across the road into Venice - took us about 20 mins, and the bus driver told us where to get off on the way back; a return ticket cost us 5€. If you want something a bit more up market go for the Smart holiday hotel in Meastre.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mother Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2013

I booked this hotel due to its close proximity to Venice (hotels in Venice itself being VERY expensive). There is a bus stop literally across the street from the hotel (outside the Simply supermarket) which runs regularly into Venice. The trip took about 15 minutes. The supermarket stayed open till 20:00 at night.
I found the hotel itself to be pleasant. We were greeted with a friendly smile at the reception. All the receptions staff got by in English. We had a room on the fifth floor. I had read about problems with the air conditioning and mosquitoes. The air conditioning was faulty (the panel made a buzzing noise and it cut our intermittently). The bathroom was clean and a decent size. I’m 6”1 and found the shower to be fine. There was a TV in the room on the table but bizarrely no socket to plug it into. We had to plug it in next to the bed which just meant the wire trailed across the room. The only thing which disappointed me about the hotel was that it didn't have a bar. It would have been nice to be able to relax in the evening and have a drink. There is a fridge selling cold drinks and a coffee machine in the reception but the coffee was awful! Breakfast was OK, mostly a variety of cakes plus some bread rolls.
Overall I found the hotel to be functional and good value for money. If I went back to Venice / Mestre I would certainly consider staying here again

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2013

refurbished, and far from the city centre. Knowledgeable concierge helped with directions advice, room upgrade, ticketing. Very close to bus stop Line # 7 to Venizia SL station ( Ferrovia) . 24 hour ticket for 20 Euro was worth it. childern less than 10 travel for free. Breakfast did not include standard fare like toast and eggs, ham or sausages. wifi was expensive. utility store nearby helped.

Room Tip: if you need a family room with teens, 355-356 are great. AC does not work great, but weather is good...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank raj_benedict
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bromley, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2013

We selected this hotel because it was included in a city break deal which was considerably cheaper than staying in central Venice. Rooms are basic, but clean and adequate, if a little small. There was only one power socket high up on the wall next to the the wall mounted TV and it would not take appliances that would heat up like a travel kettle or hair straighteners. It was OK for charging mobile phones but you will need to take some sort of extension lead to reach it from the table. The TV had no English speaking channels. We asked for a twin room and got a double and a single bed. We read previous reviews about mosquitoes, being too hot in the room, hot water running out and thefts from the rooms. We experienced none of these. There were one or two maintenance issues like the shower tray had been damaged by the hot tap falling off which had still not been fixed when we visited. The hotel staff were all friendly and helpful except for one who clearly needed a refresher course in customer service! There was a useful but rather small left luggage room. WARNING: We were not told by our package operator or the hotel on arrival that a compulsory local tourist tax is payable on departure in cash only (2.10 Euros per person per night). Breakfast consisted of a buffet of orange juice, hot drinks, rolls with spreads and various plain cakes. There was no fruit, cereal or yogurt and nothing hot but it was always fresh and replenished regularly. There is a sizeable "Simply" supermarket opposite (remember to take your Nectar Card).

If your flight arrives before 08:30 in the evening you can catch Line 15 which stops right by the hotel at the Carducci bus stop. If, like us, you arrive after this, then there is a number 45 (one only) which runs at 09:35pm which officially stops in Via Piave (a fair distance around the corner from the hotel), passing the hotel on the way. Our bus driver kindly stopped for us at the Carducci bus top to let us off and pointed out the hotel. We had previously been wrongly advised by both the tourist office and the hotel about airport transfer buses at this time of night. The Hotel advised us that the ATVO bus to Mestre Railway Station also stopped at Piazza 27 Octobre around the corner from the Hotel. The ATVO desk at the Airport told us that it did not stop there and was non-stop to the railway station which would be a long walk to the hotel especially with a suitcase. They referred us to the ATCV desk next door who advised us to catch bus number 45 but they got the time wrong and we had an extra half an hour to wait. Both the ATVO and the ATCV buses cost 6 Euros each way and you must buy tickets, at the bus company desk in the airport, prior to boarding the bus just outside.

Buses No7, 7E and 8E into Venice (takes 14mins from the hotel), all stop outside the "Simply supermarket. An electronic information board provides expected departure times. Last Buses back to Mestre are No7 20:37, No7E 23:35 and No8E 20:35. There is a Night Bus, the N1, from 00:11 running every half an hour until 04:31 to Piazza 27 Octobre in Mestre (a short walk from the Hotel). Return bus tickets (2.60 Euros) can be bought on the day, or in advance, at the tobacconist next door to the Hotel (they except cash only for bus tickets and postage stamps). However it is shut on Sundays and tickets can be bought, instead, from a newsagent kiosk round the back of the hotel in Via XX Settembre. Advanced tickets can also be bought using credit/debit card at the ATCV ticket office at the bus terminal in Venice.

We tried 3 restaurants a few minutes walk from the hotel which were good and reasonably priced and with a nice atmosphere and friendly staff.
1. MC Onor Address: Piazza Ferretto, 75 (http://www.mconor.it/)
2. Sottovoce Pizzeria Hostaria, Address: Via Ospedale, 34, (Our favourite)
3. Kofler Address: Via Ospedale, 5 (http://www.kkofler.com/mestre/)

Tips when in Venice.
1.If you only take one Vaporetto ride, make the No1 from the bus terminal at Piazzale Roma to the St Mark Square stop which provides wonderful views of central Venice including the Rialto Bridge.
2. When visiting St Mark's Basilica, be aware you cannot take back packs in. Either deposit them at the nearby left luggage (details signed from Basilica) or do as we did and queue with back packs on and when you reach the front of the queue go in individually while the other looks after the packs as they will let you in without queuing again via the express entry point.
3. When exploring Venice we can recommend Thomas Cook's, "Travellers Venice", which has guided walks in each of the districts.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank Neil S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durban, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2013

I found the hotels location well suited to take the trip into Venice. The rooms were neat and clean. No warm breakfast. Plenty of hot water for bathing. The keys to certain rooms are huge and heavy and not something you want to carry around with you if you decide to leave the hotel for sight seeing. All in all not a bad hotel to spend a night at.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SA2603
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mestre hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Piave
Hotel Piave
#52 of 58 in Mestre
597 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Garibaldi
Hotel Garibaldi
#24 of 58 in Mestre
240 reviews
4.1 mi away
Palladio Hotel
Palladio Hotel
#2 of 2 in Malcontenta
401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Quality Hotel Delfino Venezia Mestre
2.3 mi away
Hotel Ducale
Hotel Ducale
#1 of 1 in Favaro Veneto
484 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Aaron
Hotel Aaron
#27 of 58 in Mestre
544 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Centrale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Centrale

Property: Hotel Centrale
Address: Piazzale Donatori di Sangue 14, 30171, Mestre, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Mestre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #51 of 58 Hotels in Mestre
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Centrale 3*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Mestre's old town, just a stone's throw from Venice, Hotel Centrale is proposed as a modern structure, it is comfortable and practical and capable of meeting the needs of the numerous tourists headed for Venice as well as an incentive type clientele. Hotel Centrale, which has 99 rooms distributed over 5 floors, is a young, modern structure, it has all the necessary facilities, it is located in Mestre's old town, from which you can easily reach Venice thanks to public buses which pass by every 10 minutes and stop right opposite the Hotel. The well presented, cosmopolitan setting, the family-managed services and the impeccable courtesy that singles out our group, will contribute to making your stay in Venice an unforgettable one! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Ctrip TA, Lastminute, Agoda, Expedia, Superbreak UK, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Centrale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Centrale Hotel Mestre
Hotel Centrale Province Of Venice/Mestre

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing