We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Garibaldi
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Aurora Hotel(Mestre)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
Casanovaresort(City of Venice)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness centre
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Internet
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Adria(Mestre)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Airmotel(Mestre)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (272)
Filter reviews
272 results
Traveller rating
79
96
73
20
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
79
96
73
20
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsboil your ownnumber busbus stopchoice of restaurantseasy access to busleave your carbus serviceheavy bagspeople moverlocated minutesshort staywould stay againstayed here for two nightscontinental breakfastsmall hotelmini barwater taxi
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
57 - 62 of 272 reviews
Reviewed 30 June 2014

As part of a Cruise package, we were booked into the Hotel Garibaldi for three days prior to departing from Venice. I had initially requested a hotel with a lift, as I have "dodgy knees" and felt that carrying a large suitcase up stairs was risky. However our travel agents (Cruise Nation) arranged for us to have ground floor room.

When we arrived, at 11 a.m. our room was not ready, but our cases could be left in it whilst we sought out a much needed refreshing beer. When we returned an hour later, all was fine.
The room had both a double and a single bed. These were basic, but comfortable enough. There was a fridge/bar and a TV in the room. The shower was compact, but I managed to squeeze into it without too much effort; and I am overweight!

Breakfast was an eccentric event with cold meats and cheese, plus the facility to boil one's own eggs :-). Coffee, fruit juice, rolls and croissants were available, so that a good start to the day was possible.

The staff were both friendly and helpful, providing advice on local eateries, and selling the tickets for use on Venice's Transport system.

It is at this point that I must confess to usually staying in 4* or 5* hotels, and the Garibaldi most certainly is neither. If however you are prepared to accept a lower standard of accommodation, without giving up too much in terms of service; the Garibaldi is a very good budget option.

Room Tip: The ground floor room that we had (Room 3) was quiet and adequate for the purposes of our visit.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AlanMead58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grazia Z, Owner at Hotel Garibaldi, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2014

Dear Guest,

We are very happy we succeded in granting you a pleasant stay. Many thanks for your review!

Best regards,

Marta

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014

We stayed here for two nights after a cruise from Venice. The hotel is not flash but it is clean and the staff are very friendly and helpful. Mestre is a beautiful little suburb - very peaceful after a day in the hustle bustle of old Venice, and the hotel is very convenient for the centre using the no 2 bus.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ash M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grazia Z, Proprietario at Hotel Garibaldi, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

Dear customer,

many thanks for your review! We are happy you enjoyed your stay, and looking forward to meet you again.

Best regards,
Grazia, Luigi & Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2014 via mobile

Easy to get to . Number 2 bus stops outside the door. Maid everyday . Breakfast not so great . Air con not to good . We spent two nights here & apart from the air con blowing warm air it was ok . Staff very helpful & welcoming . Supermarket nr by & lots of bars . Over all i would stay there again .

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shashmayer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grazia Z, Proprietario at Hotel Garibaldi, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

Dear guest,

many thanks for your review! we are happy you overall enjoyed your stay, and will make the best usage of your suggestions.

Best regards,
Grazia, Luigi & Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2014

While this hotel is budget-friendly, it provides service that surpasses many similarly rated places. Clean and quiet, and in a nice area of Mestre, at the top end of the main piazza where several good restaurants are a simple stroll away. I was initially concerned that it was too far from Venice, but actually the location is helpful because the No.2 bus (the one that goes to Venice) stops right in front of the hotel and usually it was possible to get a seat; the hotels closer to the Mestre train station meant increasing crowds as the bus traveled, so the Garibaldi location was an advantage. The breakfast offered variety beyond simply coffee and brioche; there was yogurt, cereals, rolls and sliced meats/cheeses as well as fresh fruit. The staff was uniformly pleasant and helpful (and fluent in English for people who worry about such things). As another reviewer noted, I'd suggest buying the tranportation pass for your stay and it'll cover the bus to/from Venice and the vaporettos while you are there. I was there for four nights and would happily stay again. No complaints at all.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ijan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grazia Z, Proprietario at Hotel Garibaldi, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

Dear guest,

Many thanks for your positive review, and for the many suggestions you shared with the other tripadvisor users!

We are happy we stasfied you!

Looking forward to seeing you again,
Best regards,

Grazia, Luigi & Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2014

I found in this hotel the perfect combination for an excellent and pleasant stay in Venice: friendly and highly helpful staff, clean rooms, private parking, and perfectly located meters away from the bus stop to Venice. Buy the transportation pass for one/two/three days including these buses from Mestre to Venice and all the steam boats (Vaporetto) within Venice - a bargain! And please, do not even think about driving all the way to Venice - Mestre is the option (quieter, cheaper, easier to access). Enjoy!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Edu D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grazia Z, Owner at Hotel Garibaldi, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2014

Dear guest,

Many thanks for your review and the tips you shared with the other users!

Looking forward to having you again.
Best regards,

Grazia, Luigi & Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews