We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Definitely not a 4* hotel”
Review of Albatros Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Albatros Hotel
Ranked #56 of 57 Hotels in Mestre
Reviewed 28 April 2011

I don't know who gave this hotel a 4-star rating, but I would rate it as a 2*. The room had no decoration at all and the beds would shink in the middle, causing backache. Wouldn't recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed: April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank cbpapi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (271)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

32 - 38 of 271 reviews

Reviewed 17 April 2011

I and my wife stayed in the hotel for a day and night. I found it very quiet and family type hotel. The hotel was booked prior to my visit to Venice from the home country. And, the per night tariff was reasonable. The breakfast was excellent.
The ACTV bus 2 can be used for traveling to Mestre or Venice.
I will recommend this hotel to any family visiting Venice for a quiet stay.

Room Tip: Book Early from Home country
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sam E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2011

We spent 2 nights at Albatros. It is supposed to be a 4* hotel but it should have been a 3* actually.
We were with a group of 50 people and we came here because it was booked through a travel agency.

Very basic and the reception staff not very helpful. I noticed that some of us got a suite while others not. It was a standard room they said. Ours was really big , comfortable and clean.
It is not very long away from Venice but with the daily traffic it took us more than half an hour to get to Venice. The coach moved rather slowly.
Continental breakfast and dinner very poor. You have to pay for internet access here which is something that I always demand in the hotels I book for myself if I travel alone.

I don’t think I would pick this hotel again when back to Venice!

  • Stayed: November 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank greekcypriot2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2010

Before we left for our Shearings tour of Italy, I looked up the Hotel Albatros on Trip Advisor and was very apprehensive when I read the reviews, so was expecting the worst! We had a nice, clean large room, the hotel was situated in a pleasant area, the food was fine and the staff friendly.

My advice = Judge it for yourself...... Afterall, you can't please everyone all of the time!

  • Stayed: August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CaseyLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2010

We recently stayed for 2 long nights while on a bus tour. It was the worst hotel on our tour. There were hairs on the bed and in the shower. We asked to move to a different room. Woke up in the morning with bug bites. Worse than a Motel 6! The pictures online are not anything like what our room looked like.
Pro's: large towels, dinner was okay, lobby and dining room looks nice
Con's: location, cleanliness, front desk staff, thin walls, poor breakfast

  • Stayed: August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank cyclone_fan24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2010

I stayed at this hotel with my husband as part of a Shearings group on a tour of Italy. The hotel is located in a quiet residential area with a supermarket and bar opposite. We stayed at the hotel for 2 nights and were pleased with the experience.
The room we had appeared to be one of the larger rooms on the floor with a seating area and lots of space. The rooms looked like they had been recently painted but the fixtures were of a rather unusual style. The bathroom was quite large but the bath was very slippy when having a shower and we had to put a towel down in the bathtub.
The dinners we had were reasonable with a choice of starter and the breakfast was plentiful if basic, with a selection of cold meats, cheese, eggs, cereals, bread and fruit.
This hotel had a small bar with beers costing 3Euros and it also had a nice terrace to sit outside.
We were pleased with this hotel and its proximity to Venice.

  • Stayed: August 2010
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scholesh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2010

It looks like a hotel from the East block! Rude staff, very poor breakfast and rooms without any character. It worths only to go to sleep after a very heavy daylong excursion at the amazing Venice.

Stayed: August 2008, travelled with friends
Thank Korinthios
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mestre
0.4 mi away
Kappa Hotel
Kappa Hotel
#28 of 57 in Mestre
392 reviews
1.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Quid Hotel Venice Airport
1.6 mi away
Alexander Hotel
Alexander Hotel
#211 of 387 in Venice
382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Hotel Garibaldi
Hotel Garibaldi
#29 of 57 in Mestre
262 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel President
Hotel President
#36 of 57 in Mestre
383 reviews
0.6 mi away
Smart Hotel Holiday
Smart Hotel Holiday
#10 of 57 in Mestre
769 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Albatros Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albatros Hotel

Address: Viale Don Luigi Sturzo 32, 30174, Mestre, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Mestre
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#19 Luxury Hotel in Mestre
Price Range: £66 - £129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Albatros Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 143
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, bedfinder AG, Atrapalo, 5viajes2012 S.L., Travel Republic (UK) and HotelQuickly so you can book your Albatros Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albatros Hotel Venice
Albatros Hotel Province Of Venice/Mestre

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing