We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“excellent staff” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hilton Garden Inn Venice Mestre San Giuliano

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Venice Mestre San Giuliano
Ranked #4 of 58 Hotels in Mestre
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
169 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“excellent staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014

We decided on this hotel because it was on mainland (didn't want to drag suitcases over narrow streets in Venice) and we like Hilton brand. First let's start how to get there- we arrived on the train from Florence. You could either get off at Santa Lucia station or Mestre station. The cab ride from the 2nd choice is about 22-25 euros & is clearly a rip-off since the hotel is about 4 km away. There is a bus #15 and also #9 that stop right outside the hotel from the Mestre station (1.30 euro)-the stop is called Orlandia. You can check the bus schedule outside the hotel. The staff is very helpful; they also sell bus tickets as well as bus passes+water taxi tickets. The #5, 9, and 19 buses run (each has a different schedule)4 or so times per hour. They stop services from Venice between 10 pm and midnight. The hotel is easy to spot from the bus since it's located by a Nissan dealership and next to a glass covered walkway. The ride to Venice is about 20-25 min depending on the traffic. It's the bus' last stop.
The bus system in Italy is very good and buses run on schedule. Be aware that you need to validate your tickets (saw a group of American kids getting a fine-not a pretty picture) once aboard & also call your stop.
The hotel itself has a nice large pool. Its location is a bit strange but overall we had a very pleasant stay. The breakfast buffet is very extensive and has some American standards like a waffle maker etc. The room was large and new; reminded me more of a standard Double Tree room elsewhere in Europe.

Room Tip: hotels.com had a great deal on this hotel but we booked 3 months in advance
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bubuli32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,221 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,180
    816
    156
    33
    36
See reviews for
449
1,175
71
196
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (283)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Gastonia, NC
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014

extremely convenient location. buy a bus ticket at the front desk. bus stop in front of the hotel. eating dinner in venice in 20 minutes. can't beat that. room was very clean, new. huge comfy bed. great bathroom, big tub. definitely will stay again if ever in Venice. 15 minutes from airport

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jpweant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
235 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 228 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014

This hotel is a great choice for staying in Venice. Yes it is on the mainland, but its just a 10 minute bus ride from Pizzale Roma and costs £1 per ticket. The bus stops are directly outside the hotel. From Pizzale Roma take bus route 5 which is every 15 minutes during the day and every 30 at night. The stop for the hotel is the second stop out of Venice. The hotel sell bus tickets and provide you with a handy map with all the bus times on the back - perfect.

The rooms are super modern, quiet and spacious which is the opposite of most hotels in Venice itself. Unfortunately some other guests decided to slam doors as they left at 4:30am but that is not the hotels fault. The beds are like sleeping on a cloud, so comfy.

The only negative I have is that when the maids start cleaning in the morning they make a lot of noise, they drag furniture across the floors of other rooms and this does disturb your peace and sleep if you are trying to get some rest in the day. They need to lift and not drag furniture.

The staff are super friendly, fun and nice to deal with. All of them. They were just so happy to help and genuinely wanted to please. No question was too much bother.

The breakfast is great - wide selection of hot and cold food on offer and a DIY waffle station. The coffee is fantastic.

The pool area is lovely, lots of space, 25 metre long pool, nice sun loungers and pool bar open all day with nice music playing.

We took advantage of the hotel shuttle to the airport - €14 per room (not per person) and 15 minutes in a comfy minibus booked to suit your timings. The local buses to the airport can be packed and hot so choose the hotel shuttle for a better experience all round.

Save money and get a fantastic hotel to boot - stay here for Venice!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adz99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

We would stay here if we ever got to go back to Venice. Convenient to the airport, but easy to catch a bus to the canals. As someone else said, great base spot for Venice. Friendly, clean, modern, restaurant was convenient. Stayed here for sightseeing after a cruise. Near airport, not near canal. But access to a city bus to canals made it simple. Recommend unless you want to be right on the Grand Canal.

Green Features: Met several lovely people before dinner, by the pool! A wonderful place to stop. Not quaint, not funky, just a good, solid hotel with all modern conveniences.
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank babs29_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pune, India
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014

Nice hotel. Nice location. I will suggest visitors to stay in this hotel rather than any hotel in Venice island. Good ambiance. Nice rooms. Excellent swimming pool. As an Indian vegetarian, food is not of my taste. But understood

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank Vish_me2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maastricht
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2014

Stayed in Mestre for just one night before going on a cruise from Venice. We arrived very early but we're promptly checked in by the friendly Alice. Rooms are clean and in a modern style with a nice bathroom.
We enjoyed a few hours at the beatiful pool and had a lunch there. The staff at the bar should be friendlier and the prices should be less for this food but still, it was ok.
Got our bustickets at the reception where the concergie was very helpfull. Free parking + busstop is an ideal combination for a visit to Venice!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roger_vd_L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miamisburg, Ohio
Level Contributor
309 reviews
108 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 206 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2014

The first night we were wakened after 10:00 pm by maintenance who said he had to come in the room to check thermostat. The air conditioning was not working on our floor. The next morning we woke to a very warm room. The front desk did move us, but we had to wait for a room to become available. So we wasted a large part of the day in moving and waiting. By the way we were in a VERY small king room and find that the new double room was much larger. There is NO option to eat an evening meal anywhere but in the VERY expensive hotel restaurant and the food there was not good. After the first night we went later to Venice and ate our evening meal in Venice which was also expensive, but it was good and the service was good. I am a Hilton honors gold member, so breakfast was included. It is only a buffet and you cannot order from the menu. It was just adequate, there were some warm options, but mainly just continental style with very poor service. I thought we might have become invisible. We have spent a lot of time in Europe, at least 200 nights, so I am familiar with prices, quality and service. In fact we had stayed at this hotel only a year before. On return home, I checked my Hilton honors account and found that I had not been given credit for points for one night. On calling Hilton, it seems to take a general board of review and 10 days to check the folio to see if I am correct. I had emailed the hotel letting them know I did not receive credit and that part of my email was ignored. When we tried to buy bus tickets at the hotel the machine was broken, so they sent us to another hotel to buy the tickets and their machine was also broken, thus another waste of time. The front desk was always crowded with people with questions, probably because they were not given correct information when they checked in. I will choose another hotel next time in Venice. There is a good chain hotel near the airport.

Room Tip: Book a double room rather than king and you will get a lot more room. Better choice is to book anot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank timesharetraveler11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mestre
Villa Barbarich
#1 of 58 in Mestre
5.0 of 5 bubbles 370 reviews
Hotel Villa Costanza
#2 of 58 in Mestre
4.5 of 5 bubbles 685 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Giudecca
Hilton Molino Stucky Venice Hotel
NH Laguna Palace
#12 of 58 in Mestre
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,079 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Venice Mestre San Giuliano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Venice Mestre San Giuliano

Property: Hilton Garden Inn Venice Mestre San Giuliano
Address: Via Orlanda 1, 30173, Mestre, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Mestre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Mestre
#3 Luxury Hotel in Mestre
#3 Green Hotel in Mestre
#4 Romantic Hotel in Mestre
#6 Business Hotel in Mestre
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Garden Inn Venice Mestre San Giuliano 4*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilton Garden Inn Venice Mestre is midway between Venice's historic centre and Venice Marco Polo Airport. It offers free Wi-Fi, parking and an outdoor pool.Hilton Garden Inn Venice Mestre has air-conditioned double rooms with free Wi-Fi, coffee/tea maker, free access to the 24-hour business centre and to the fitness centre.The restaurant serves classic Italian and international cuisine for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Snacks and beverages can be purchased at the bar or in the Pavillion Pantry, Hilton's on-site market. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hilton EMEA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Venice Mestre San Giuliano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Venice Mestre Hotel Mestre
Capitol Palace Mestre
Capitol Palace Hotel Mestre
Hilton Garden Inn Venice Mestre San Giuliano Province Of Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing