We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal base for Venice visit”
Review of Hotel Al Vivit

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Al Vivit
Ranked #12 of 58 Hotels in Mestre
Certificate of Excellence
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Ideal base for Venice visit”
Reviewed 2 May 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights over the easter holidays. About a 10 minute taxi ride from the train station (€12). All the staff on reception were very friendly, efficient and helpful. We arrived early, before our room had been readied and the staff were happy to look after our bags in reception. Reception is on the 1st floor, accessed by the elevator, they were also able to sell us Venice Cards.
We booked a suite, did expect it to be 2 separate rooms as in other hotels or at least the sleeping areas to be separated by sliding doors but it was a very large room (having walked past some of the others when they were being cleaned - more than twice as large). This was our only niggle as we had our teenager with us. During the day you could hear the music from the bar downstairs but no noise at all when it mattered - all got very restful sleeps. The bathroom had a jetted bath and shower which was fun once we worked out how to use it.
Breakfast was superb, lots of choice of pastries, cakes, cheeses & hams - do not expect a full cooked british breakfast. You can also boil your own eggs. Coffee machine and lots of tea varieties.
The bus to Venice is a 10 minute gentle walk away.
Lots of restaurants in the square of the hotel and near by.
Definitely get more for your money when compared to Venice.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Subhash B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

453 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    232
    166
    47
    6
    2
See reviews for
116
171
20
53
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Prague, Czech Republic
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2014

It was a pleasure to be there, everybody was really kind with us. The hotel was also nice and the area is beautiful . There was a Carneval when we were there and only that hotel was nice in Venice. Thank you, we will go there in the future for sure.

Room Tip: Rooms on the south side are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Borizs B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pasadena, California
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2013

the staff in hotel was first class but the were to many problems with the hotel that would negate me from ever staying there again...pros staff and location(located in the center of a stip mall)..cons the room didn't have air cond and when opened the windows was attacked my mosquitos , internet was not reliable, breakfast was not enjoyable, and location was noisy given the church clocks and street cleaners...the major issue was the lack of air conditioning and the inability to open a window due to the several mosquito bites that were inflicted.. also at the end when we requested a cab we were provided with a gypsy cab to the airport which was a 15 min ride and cost 40 euros..

Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank tony t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2013

A lovely, friendly hotel with very good access to the centre of Venice. The hotel is distant enough from the hustle of Venice but easily accessible by bus which runs from a stop about five minutes walk away. The hotel is located on a square/Piazza in Mestre with plenty of choices of cafés and a couple of eateries. There is a very good restaurant next door.
The hotel room is quite spacious and provides facilities, including free wifi to meet most travellers needs. the. The breakfast is fantastic though and the pastries are delicious, the latter I feel is an understatement.
The hotel is extremely clean and the staff are very friendly and helpful, bus tickets are available for purchase from reception.
Overall, if I was to return to Venice I would choose this hotel for its convenience, cleanliness, affordability (with a very good breakfast) and good access to Venice

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank alwall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 November 2013

This is a super hotel to stay in, the pictures on the web are just like the rooms. We were upgraded free of charge. Staff are very friendly and helpful. Lovely choice for breakfast. You couldn't ask for more. The square the hotel is situated in has lovely shops and cafés. You can easily get into venice from this hotel. Also just around the corner is a lovely cafe with very friendly staff and a good choice of food and drinks. A few shops to look around.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Srog1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2013

We stayed in this hotel, in order to travel to Venice, so it was perfect for us. It is located in the center of Mestre which is full of restaurants and shops. The bus station to Venice is 5 minutes’ walk from the hotel. They have parking spots behind the hotel (make sure you tell them in advanced you have a car). The stuff is very helpful and nice, the rooms are big and clean but the highlight of the hotel was its breakfast, the best one I ate in Italy.

Room Tip: Ask to stay in a room which is not facing the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Revital G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 October 2013

This was the second time I have stayed at Hotel Vivit and this stay even out did the last. both times the customer service was just the best ive ever experienced. the staff are so friendly and helpful.
this stay we were upgraded to a room with a view -free of charge - the day we arrived there was a market in the piazza which had some wonderful stalls of food and all sorts.
always find it very easy to get to Venice from Mestre, i llike it in Mestre as its nice and quiet here.
both nights we at at the Mc Onor irish bar below - the food was just amazing and the staff excellent too!we were drinking mojitos and they ran out of mint so one of the staff went and got some more. talk about going above and beyond. (proscuitto pizza and carbonara a Must try)
Breakfast at the hotel was great aswell a lot of different foods to chose from and all very fresh!\
would definately recommend Hotel Vivit to anyone going to Venice!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RAPHAELA R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mestre hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Villa Costanza
Hotel Villa Costanza
#2 of 58 in Mestre
750 reviews
0.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Hotel Bologna
0.1 mi away
Hotel Venezia
Hotel Venezia
#20 of 58 in Mestre
703 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel Tritone
Hotel Tritone
#8 of 58 in Mestre
1,312 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel San Carlo
Hotel San Carlo
#11 of 58 in Mestre
435 reviews
1.2 mi away
Ai Pini Park Hotel
Ai Pini Park Hotel
#5 of 58 in Mestre
488 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Al Vivit? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Al Vivit

Property: Hotel Al Vivit
Address: Piazza Erminio Ferretto 73, 30174, Mestre, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Mestre
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Mestre
#7 Romantic Hotel in Mestre
#9 Family Hotel in Mestre
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Al Vivit 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the historic center of Venice Mestre, the 3 star Hotel al Vivit is pleased to welcome you to a prestigious palace from the early twentieth century, with 35 rooms and apartments complete with every amenity, facing Piazza Ferretto, close to the Toniolo Theater, the best shops and public transportation for the new Ospedale dell’Angelo and Venice. Passion and Cordiality Since 1909.Just a few minutes from Venice, Hotel al Vivit in Mestre receives its guests with passion and cordiality, a steady tradition since 1909 that has made the satisfaction of its dear clientele the main reason for hospitality. Hotel al Vivit is considered a historical establishment by the Region of Veneto. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, HostelWorld, Agoda, Ebookers and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Al Vivit reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Al Vivit Hotel
Al Vivit Mestre
Hotel Al Vivit Province Of Venice/Mestre

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing