We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“STAY AWAY!!” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Roberta

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Roberta
Ranked #43 of 58 Hotels in Mestre
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“STAY AWAY!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2013 via mobile

Please don't look at this review as a grumpy American. Because this goes so much farther than that. Upon arrival, the minimal English speaking staff was a little tough, but I dealt with it. We checked in to a room that, in all honesty, was about what I expected for the price I paid. Rock hard mattress, very small, but the Air Conditioning was at least bearable. The door lock only works when it wants to. It's pretty pathetic. Scary actually.

Here's the kicker. The customer service was beyond terrible. We arrived back at Hotel Roberta from a great night out at Venice at around midnight on a SATURDAY NIGHT. Not 3am... Midnight. All doors were locked. We rang the doorbell. No answer. We called the number suggested on the 'after hours' sign. No answer. Complete silence for well over 2 hours. We finally took the number to a nearby hotel manager who eventually got a hold of an employee at Hotel Roberta to finally let us in. By that time, we basically wanted to head back to the states and leave this hotel immediately. No apology from the man. Nothing. The employee basically blamed me and said it was " impossible" that I rang the doorbell and called the number multiple times. Imagine this happening to you in a foreign country by yourself. Hopefully this story makes you think twice about staying here.

All I have to say is.... PAY MORE. You currently have, at your disposal, the power of the Internet. I know this place may look like a great deal, But take advantage of this TripAdvisor privilege. This place is NOT a place you can trust, by any stretch of the imagination. STAY AT YOUR OWN RISK. Don't say I didn't warn you...

Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
9 Thank Mike H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    11
    62
    47
    14
    7
See reviews for
22
60
8
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mestre
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at Hotel Roberta. The room was comfortable, clean and quiet, very convenient for the train station and town centre.
The staff was friendly and helpful. We would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
2 Thank Luciana M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dhaka City, Bangladesh
Level Contributor
98 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2013

We booked the hotel on arrival, it is within a stroll's distance from Mestre Station. Location wise it is excellent. This an ideal base to quickly arrive to Venice and the islands, which are reachable by train or bus in just ten minutes. The neighbourhood was good, had good restayrants in walking distance; we had excellent sea-food dinner at an adjacent sea-food restaurant on the first night. The hotel's exterior was elegant, the welcome was discrete, though the reception people were poor in english; they don't have lift, hence we stayed in a ground floor room; room's space/size was good; furniture and amenities commendable; toilet was v good; ambience overall very good. Breakfast in in 1st floor, you need to go up the stairs (no lift); foods are of wide horizone; surprisingly we found a waitress who was a Bangladeshi Immigrant; that put a warmth in us. If I go to Venice again, I'll look up for this hotel for stay again.

Room Tip: Since they do not have lift, if you have heavy luggages; it's better to choose a room in ground...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shagufa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2013

Thoroughly enjoyed my stay, very spacious! Loved the shutters,great breakfast, easy access to train station and buses into venice which I visited daily! Quaint restaurant,next door, friendly staff, computer was not working, but hey I went to see venice after all! Would stay there again!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank marie w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2012 via mobile

Hotel Roberta was a better hotel than we expected. Room: 160

Pro: Comfortable, clean, near the railway station, Good Artificial lighting, Next to a basic supermarket.

Con: Bathroom not so clean, small shower area, no bathroom lock in triple room, not on Venice map because its a suburb off to it but you can take the 10 mins train to Venice.

Overall I would recommend this hotel to everyone, if you are not bothered by the lock issue and the rest of the cons.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kane090
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kaiserslautern, Germany
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2012

PROS: The location to the train station was excellent, with Venice being the first stop, and the breakfast (although 10 euro) was pretty good.

CONS: The hotel is a maze, making it quite difficult to find your room. There are no good restaraunts in the immediate area and the staff was okay. There is no free parking. The 3-person room is actually a double bed with a single bed squeezed at the base. This hotel is suited more for doubles or singles.

Overall: This hotel is fantastic for saving a significant amount of money on hotel costs while visiting Venice. Although the hotel is about average, when traveling to Venice you shouldn't be spending too much time in your hotel anyway.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brent V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangalore
Level Contributor
34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2012

We stayed at Roberta for two nights in September. The best feature of the hotel is its location: a 2-min walk from the Mestre station. To visit Venice, you can take number 2 from outside the station. The bus takes about 20-30 min depending on traffic and can be crowded. Bus number 15 to the airport from the side opp the station. Buy the ticket at the bars/cafes near the bus stop.

There's a very nice restaurant next door to Roberta, a couple of cafes, and a supermarket about a minute's walk on via piale. I hesitated before booking after reading reviews from guests feeling uncomfortable with the park on via piale, at night. I cannot comment on what it looks at night but one can walk on the side away from the park.

The room itself was clean (had a slight musty smell when we entered for the first time but it wasn't bad and we got over it quickly). There is no elevator and no staff help to move your luggage - which might be a problem if your room is on the 2nd floor and you have heavy luggage. Mattress was comfortable and the linen clean. Refridgerator and safe (though it didn't work).
The bathroom is large and clean: complimentary soaps, shampoos, hairdryer.
Staff spoke limited English but it was enough for basic communication.
Overall a good experience. By venice acco standards, its value for money.

Room Tip: No elevators. If your room is on the 2nd floor it might be a problem moving your luggage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VagabondAthma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mestre hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Paris
Hotel Paris
#11 of 58 in Mestre
4.5 of 5 bubbles 403 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cris Hotel
Cris Hotel
#16 of 58 in Mestre
4.5 of 5 bubbles 280 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Regit
Hotel Regit
#32 of 58 in Mestre
3.5 of 5 bubbles 316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Aaron
Hotel Aaron
#23 of 58 in Mestre
4.0 of 5 bubbles 511 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Montepiana
Hotel Montepiana
#27 of 58 in Mestre
4.0 of 5 bubbles 287 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Villa Costanza
Hotel Villa Costanza
#2 of 58 in Mestre
4.5 of 5 bubbles 684 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Roberta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Roberta

Property: Hotel Roberta
Address: Via Sernaglia 21, 30171, Mestre, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Mestre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 58 Hotels in Mestre
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Roberta 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotel.de, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Roberta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Roberta Hotel Mestre
Hotel Roberta Province Of Venice/Mestre

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing