We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great little hotel”
Review of Hotel Ambasciata

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Ambasciata
Ranked #34 of 58 Hotels in Mestre
Reviewed 19 May 2010

Walking distance from Mestre station..this little hotel is in a quiet Neighbourhood , with a mini market just around the corner (that closes early in the evening), a few eateries around. and a few youngsters hanging around a local bar nearby...A nice place if you are arriving by train from Mestre and want to discover Venice without paying a lot extra for less comforts. very helpful staff....

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank raoul88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (341)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

65 - 71 of 341 reviews

Reviewed 16 March 2010

Great hotel. Very clean, stuff very friendly and helpful. Location simply great. Free parking space. The only disadvantage is breakfast. Poor. Juices or coffee from machines are very cheap but you can ask stuff to prepare a nice cup of coffee for you instead. Despite this I would definitely return back.

5 min walk from hotel bus station to Venice ( bus goes every 10 min). You can also get 12 hours ticket for 16 EUR a person - buses, boats included or you can take just one ride for abou 1 EUR. Ride takes about 10 min and bus takes you to the edge of city´s center.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank j3g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2010

We stayed here for 2 nites in end Dec 2009. It was easy to locate from the main train station. Although it was quite dark during the evening, the place is safe. The two ladies at the reception were very informative. They gave us a map on Venice and recommended us some good restaurants.
Breakfast was ok.

Stayed: December 2009, travelled with family
1  Thank JaniceLim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2010

Great value! This hotel is situated minutes away from the Mestre-Venice Train Station (must take the 5 minute train ride to Venice as cars are not allowed on the island). Hotel is clean and spacious. It is much better value than hotels or B&Bs on the island of Venice which are usually overpriced or very small (you get watch you pay for).

We loved the complimentary breakfast at Hotel Ambasciata with good variety of foods and fruits to choose from (including yogarts). It's a great value you just can't find anywhere ON the island.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cipherxy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2009

This hotel is great and very clean. It is also situated about a 5 minute walk from the Venice- Mestre Train Station (the train ride to the island of Venice is about 5 minutes), trains run form that station to the island about every five minutes. A train ride to the island from here is 1 Euro. Our rooms were nice and had enough space to stay and comfortable. The owners were very helpful and had alot of information to share if asked about the surrounding area. The breakfast was good and had a good varieity of foods to choose from.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JML0810
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2009

We found the hotel very easily via the ACTV bus from Marco Polo straight to Mestre Railway Station then a 10 minute flat walk to the hotel. Check in was simple (expect to hand over your passport so they can take your details - common practice) and friendly. A train onto Venice Island is 2 Euro return, 10 minutes.
Our room was spacious, clean and more than adequate for our weeks stay. Shower was a good size and always had hot water. There were no coffee making facilities in the room but I believe this to be due to Italian fire regulations.
With Mestre shopping centre only 20 minutes walk away we discovered Cafe Vergano 1882 and spent many a cup of espresso joining every day working Italians watch the world go by. Street markets were on here during the weekdays as well. As usual don't buy from anyone carrying goods or presenting them on the ground as they are illegal traders. If caught you're up for a large fine.
Breakfast was a nice surprise with a selection of breads, cheeses, meats, cereals, yoghurt. If early enough you may also get some scrambled eggs and bacon. Not sure what others are on about with their disappointment with breakfast. Seriously how much are people expecting for breakfast? What would you normally have at home? In my opinion it was excellent. Enjoyed trying all the selections over the week from the Lavazza coffee machine!
After a week here at Ambasciata I would definitely recommend it. Being off the main island you will appreciate the peace, quiet and extra spending money in your wallet and being able to appreciate every day Italy if you take the time to visit Mestre shopping district.
The only downside would be the noise made my other guests on the tiled flooring. Why people choose to have conversations outside other peoples doors it beyond me. Other than that this place was a real gem.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kiwi_gypsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2009

I booked this hotel after reading good reviews on Trip Advisor. It was excellent value for money and we saved a fortune by not staying in Venice itself. The hotel is a five minute walk from Mestre train station, where you can catch either a train or a coach (ACTV) to Venice for one euro. In Venice we bought a two day ticket for the water buses which also covered the ACTV bus from Mestre to Venice. We caught an ATVO coach from Marco Polo airport to right outside Mestre train station with no trouble at all. The pick up point to go back to the airport is at exactly the same place that it drops you off.

The hotel is modern and clean and the reception staff were very helpful, even giving me some packets of tissues and bottles of water when my allergies were bad. They spoke really good English and explained everything, even the WiFi, really well. The air conditioning in the rooms is a welcome suprise too.

The buffet breakfast is great - nothing special but all you need to keep you full up until lunchtime and plenty of coffee on tap.

We didn't explore Mestre at all, but the area around the train station is a bit rough-looking, especially when arriving at night.

One tip, which we really hadn't thought about - bring a mosquito plug! We were eaten alive.

Would highly recommend this hotel for a budget break - save your money for Venice!

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank goldingwebb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mestre hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Villa Costanza
Hotel Villa Costanza
#2 of 58 in Mestre
793 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Paris
Hotel Paris
#19 of 58 in Mestre
450 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Regit
Hotel Regit
#35 of 58 in Mestre
351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Aaron
Hotel Aaron
#27 of 58 in Mestre
595 reviews
0.6 mi away
Quality Hotel Delfino Venezia Mestre
0.9 mi away
Hotel Nuova Mestre
Hotel Nuova Mestre
#24 of 58 in Mestre
152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ambasciata? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ambasciata

Address: Via Fagare' 19, 30171, Mestre, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Mestre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 58 Hotels in Mestre
Price Range: £37 - £129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Ambasciata 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Ambasciata is a brand new 3 stars hotel situated 250 meters from the railway station of Venice-Mestre and guarantees an immediate holiday in Venice in just 10 minutes and 24 hours a day. It offers night's passing and buffet breakfast in 20 wides rooms with individual air conditioned, individual heat, frigo bar, satellite tv, internet access, bath with shower or bathtub to choice, free car park and a reception active for 24 hours a day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelsClick and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Ambasciata reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambasciata Hotel Mestre
Hotel Ambasciata Province Of Venice/Mestre

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing