We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Highly recommended, stay there and you will agree with us”
Review of Hotel Ambasciata

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Ambasciata
Ranked #34 of 58 Hotels in Mestre
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
“Highly recommended, stay there and you will agree with us”
Reviewed 14 October 2010

Clean room and bathroom, great location, quiet at night as the hotel located at housing area, value for money (why pay so much to stay in Venice with lower quality room and at the same time have to struggle to lift the luggage to cross bridges??) friendly staff, good buffet breakfast, cheese, ham, scramble egg, vegetable pie, toast, pastries, croissant, yoghurt, coffee, etc... if you ever stay at other B&B in Italy, then you'll know this hotel is really value for money!

The only thing we don't like is the shower cubical is too small, however, overall we are very satisfied with the hotel!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nutcracker416
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

314 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    72
    158
    65
    12
    7
See reviews for
54
147
19
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego,CA.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2010

I would highly recommend this hotel .It's located near the Mestre train station in Venice ,It take only a few minutes walk .The hotel room is right size and was very clean, But shower enclosure is so tiny.
However the value for money was very good,

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 7traveler77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2010

I selected this hotel because we could reserve free parking and there was free Internet wi-fi connection in hotel + in rooms and getting both for free is very rare in Italy, most places charge £10-15 for parking for day and Internet connection is charged by the hour. The owners did not speak much English but a receptionist that starts at 10am spoke English very well and gave us all the information we needed to have a pleasant stay in Mestre as well as for sight-seeing in Venice. Our room was on the 2nd floor, it was small and the bathroom was tiny, with tiny shower enclosure. The old TV had very poor reception even for Italian TV stations so we did not watch it at all. It was clean though. The breakfast was OK, Continental, with a coffee/tea machine dispensing Italian style small drinks, in mini cups. I did notice that their tea selection box included Twinings breakfast tea, although we tend to bring our own tea on holiday. On the day of our departure we turned up for breakfast at 07:00 as most hotels start serving breakfast then but although the breakfast room was open, we were told that they don't start serving until 07:30 so we had to leave and come back which I thought was weird because there is not much serving involved when eating corn flakes (cereal selection was poor) & bread and jam for breakfast. However the value for money was very good, the location of the hotel in a residential area was very nice and we were very pleased with parking behind the building and secure gate. It was only few minutes walk to train/bus station. We went to Venice by bus as advised by the receptionist and that took us to main bus station in Venice which is also the first stop for Vaporetto so we got good seats at the front, so got the best view of The Grand Canal. I would probably go back to Ambasciata, as one other reviewer said having seen others struggle with luggage in Venice...I think the last bus leaves Venice around midnight so it is still possible to spend an evening there without having to pay for the overpriced accommodation in the City itself.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LillyRLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2010

The hotel itself is located in a quiet residential neighbourhood of Mestre. But still just a couple of minutes from the Mestre train staiton which connects Mestre with Venice (service each few minutes, travelling time 10 minutes). So it is a good alternative if you do not want to stay directly in the fussy Venice. I came by car with my wife and appreciated a free guarded parking lot behind the hotel (which is rare these days).

It is a smaller facility with approx. 30 rooms and it looks like a family run business. After a small delay at the reception (they had to find somebody speaking English) we were given a very nice room on the 4th (top) floor with large terrace. The room was spacious enough with king size bed and usual equipment (closet, table desk, flat TV, minibar with nice prices, safe, free WiFi internet ...). The room was also fitted with an airconditioning unit. Unfortunately an output of this unit was not sufficient for the heat we experienced (35°C). The airconditioning did not help to cool the air at all. Like if it were not installed.

We also enjoyed a nice bathroom with a big window. But somebody was not thinking while furnishing this place. There was no shower curtain so if you wanted to take a shower you had to be extra careful to not splash water on the floor.

Breakfast was standard for a 3* hotel I think. Some eggs, bacon, cheese, salami and of course pastry - some of the obviously home made. You could not eat it for a week but it was OK for 2 days.

So in general this hotel may bee a good base for visiting Venice if you want to stay aside of the tourist rush.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Panoramix_Prague
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
60 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2010

The reviews are right. This place is what it is. Very basic and clean. Staff super friendly. We had a lovely room on top floor. Free Car-parking a plus. Breakfast is very very basic...no hot food served. 10 minute walk to station (another 10 to Venice)...be careful at night - stay off the main street in front of the station. There are a group of bars where a large number of Africans drink and crowd the street, they get quite drunk and can be intimidating. There is a back way to go. After seeing all those people in Venice, dragging there suitcases all over the place, trying to get them onto boats, and paying 4 times the price, glad we stayed here.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gringoAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2010

I would highly recommend this hotel located near the Mestre train station in Venice and 10 minutes by bus from the Islands of Venice. The rooms are clean, the service is great and the breakfast has plenty of variety. My thanks to the owners and staff for a great stay.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gvescio1951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UAE
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2010

Walking distance from Mestre station..this little hotel is in a quiet Neighbourhood , with a mini market just around the corner (that closes early in the evening), a few eateries around. and a few youngsters hanging around a local bar nearby...A nice place if you are arriving by train from Mestre and want to discover Venice without paying a lot extra for less comforts. very helpful staff....

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank raoul88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mestre hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Paris
Hotel Paris
#10 of 58 in Mestre
4.5 of 5 bubbles 417 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Regit
Hotel Regit
#32 of 58 in Mestre
3.5 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Villa Costanza
Hotel Villa Costanza
#2 of 58 in Mestre
4.5 of 5 bubbles 712 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Tritone
Hotel Tritone
#8 of 58 in Mestre
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,260 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Montepiana
Hotel Montepiana
#28 of 58 in Mestre
4.0 of 5 bubbles 296 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cris Hotel
Cris Hotel
#16 of 58 in Mestre
4.5 of 5 bubbles 284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ambasciata? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ambasciata

Property: Hotel Ambasciata
Address: Via Fagare' 19, 30171, Mestre, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Mestre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 58 Hotels in Mestre
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Ambasciata 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Ambasciata is a brand new 3 stars hotel situated 250 meters from the railway station of Venice-Mestre and guarantees an immediate holiday in Venice in just 10 minutes and 24 hours a day. It offers night's passing and buffet breakfast in 20 wides rooms with individual air conditioned, individual heat, frigo bar, satellite tv, internet access, bath with shower or bathtub to choice, free car park and a reception active for 24 hours a day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Ambasciata reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambasciata Hotel Mestre
Hotel Ambasciata Province Of Venice/Mestre

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing