We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Extremely good value and convenient.”
Review of Hotel Da Tito

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Da Tito
Ranked #55 of 58 Hotels in Mestre
Reviewed 12 April 2012

The bus stop to get to Venice is almost opposite the hotel and the kiosco nearby sells tickets which you can use on the bus and all the vaporettos in Venice (16 euros per person per day which is great value considering one vaporetto journey costs 6.5 euros!).

The hotel has parking at the back of the hotel but don´t try and leave in a hurry in the morning as getting your car out can be quite a task as they pack the cars in to maximise space. Service was very friendly, the room was very old fashioned but extremely quiet considering it´s on quite a busy road running through Mestre (2 layers of double glazing) and after a day of sightseeing around Venice we both had a perfect night´s sleep. The cleanliness of the toilet was the only thing I would say was a negative and the breakfast is small but the coffee was good.

For the price we payed through a booking website, it was the best price in our whole trip around northern Italy and certainly provided us with what we needed. Yes, it´s dated, but considering the prices of most of the places in and around Venice, for what we payed, we can´t complain!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank raqueluchi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (183)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

31 - 37 of 183 reviews

Reviewed 14 March 2012

We drove into Mestre and located the bus station. We then drove down the first road from the bus station and stopped at the first hotel we came to. The staff were friendly and helpful. We ended up staying there two nights. Its a small hotel with friendly helpful staff. The breakfast is small but adequate. They helped us to sort out our bus tickets to Venice so that we got the specials. The bus stops right outside the hotel so you don't need to go to the main station. The parking is a bit tight but they seem to manage to move the cars around without damaging them. The price was great for all 5 of us.
Our trip was in April 2010. I would go back there.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank doppierunner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2012

A small hotel, very friendly, breakfast adequate. The hotel is located near the bus station that leads to Venice - 10 minutes. Tatiana - manager, a very welcoming and friendly. Very good prices. After Venice, is worth visited and Mestre.

Room Tip: For those who visit Venice
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Scorpyon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2012

comfortable rooms, but noisy, parking space (but you have to leave the keys, since they do not have enough space for all the cars, they squeeze them up). Most upsetting, breakfast was included but it was very poor, they had no cheese, no ham, no butter only marmelade and chocolate, for sweet breakfast it was ok..for people liking salat..better go to a bar.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank didip81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2012

I just came back from Da Tito Hotel and I am more than dissatisfied by the service :(

I made a reservation through dhr.com for a twin room for the period 29/12/2011 to 01/01/2012 in Da Tito Hotel, Mestre, Venice. The booking was for 3 nights & breakfasts in the hotel.

At our arrival around 5.30p.m. on 29th December, the receptionist told us to switch on the heating radiators to maximum. Then we were given a double bedroom, not the twin bedroom which I had booked. I spoke with the receptionist who changed the room.

Our second room was as cold as the first one. And also was double bedroom, not twin, and the receptionist assured me that when his colleague comes around 8p.m., they will separate the beds, providing us the twin bedroom which we had booked.

There was no toilet lid at all in the toilet! So I asked the receptionist to put it, and he assured me that he will take care of that. Besides, the room was quite dirty - with hair on the sheets, and also hair on the shower, and the bathroom door could not be closed.

We went for a walk, and when we came back about 6 hours later - i.e. 23.30, we found out that the heating was not working at all - we had left the heating radiators switched on to maximum level before leaving, hoping that the room will warm up for the time we are out so we could go to bed - but when we came back we found that not only the room was not warmer, but the radiator itself was cold - meaning that the heating of the hotel was off!
There was no hot water either.
The double bed was not turned into twin beds.
And there still was no toilet lid at all.

So I went to speak with the receptionist about it and found that in the same time another guest of the hotel, was complaining about the same things - they also didn't have any heating in their room, despite that they had switched on the radiator at maximum at their arival around 5p.m., like we did, and they also didn't have any hot water.

The receptionist said that he will take care of it, so we went back to our rooms, waiting for the heating. A couple of hours later, the heating was on, but it was working too poor to warm up the room, so we had to stay with our jackets, boots and hats in the room!
And there was no hot water either.
So I spoke with the receptionist again, asking him to either give us an electric heater in order to warm up our room so we could go to bed, or to give us the remote control for the air-conditioner in order to switch it and warm up the room. He refused to do any of that and just gave me a blanket. I also asked him about the hot water and the toilet lid and he said that he will take care of that. Later in the night he came to our room to ask me if we already had hot water, which we didn't have. And then, even more later (after midnight!), he came
again to offer us to change the room and take a room in which they had a toilet lid. So we replied that we will change it in the morning.
So the first night of our stay we had no heating and spent the night with our clothes on, freezing under some blankets in a dirty room with no hot water and no toilet lid!

On the next morning we changed the room. The heating was working but still not as it should be, so we slept with our clothes on again. The hotel staff took from us the extra blanket which the receptionist gave us in the second room, so we didn't even have an extra blanket. This room was better than the second one except that the canal was not working properly so it overflooded when we had a shower and the bathroom was quite dirty too. I thought of making pictures but decided it would be too disgusting to post pictures of the shower curtain full of spots of all sorts (and background) and hair hanging from the shower :((

Besides, the 2nd room was too noisy - we practically heard everything that happened in the bathroom next door.

In the third morning, we found out that the heating was not working at all - i.e. the radiators were cold, despite that we had switched them on to maximum level!
Besides, the receptionist refused to give us breakfast, because their suppliers were not working on 1st of January. So he said that we will not have anything to eat and can just drink orange juice!

Otherwise the breakfast was orange juice, croissant and one small bread with 5-6 jams for 2 people. That's all.

I sent a complain to dhr.com through which I booked for some compensation.

And I would never go back to that hotel again!
I read all the good reviews here before going, but the actual sitation there is much different than described.

I would never go back, and I would not advise anyone to stay at that place.

Room Tip: Good rooms are not in that hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank pi2a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2011

I stayed here for one night before taking a cruise. It is a small hotel in Mestre. The bus to Venice stops just across the street and the bus tickets are available at a bar a couple of doors from the hotel. Buses to Venice are frequent and much cheaper than a taxi. It takes about 10 minutes to the Venice bus station. From there the people mover goes to the cruise port. The hotel served a continental breakfast that was included. The rooms were a reasonable size and fairly comfortable. I was not able to close the window. There was a lot of exterior noise in the evening but not enough to stop me from sleeping. I would stay here again if I was in Venice. I had taken the train to Mestre and walked from Mestre station. There are lots of stairs there.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank judithO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2011

As previous reviews have said, this is a good hotel is in a very convenient location. We caught the fast Airport bus (prebooked tickets online as was slightly cheaper) which stopped at Mestre railway station. You present your vouchers for your tickets and travel passes at the ATVO desk in the arrivals hall and you will be issued with your proper tickets and passes there. It was a short walk to our hotel from the railway station. The hotel room was clean and comfortable with a nice bathroom with plenty of towels. It was extremely hot when we visited (mid September), so we were very glad of the air conditioning. The road was very busy with traffic, including trams, when we arrived. I was a little concerned that it would be noisy at night. However the road was very quiet later, the double glazing excellent and we slept well.
We bought 36 hour travel passes online before we left UK at the same place as we bought the bus tickets ( www.ATVO.IT). These cost 23 euros each and your time starts when you first swipe your pass to validate it when you get on the bus. Don't forget to do so as we were talking to a British couple who forgot to do it and were fined 100 euros. They told us they had to haggle with the inspector as they didn't have enough money so ended up paying 80 euros! The passes are good value as they cover you for local bus travel and also the vaporetto. So you can go up and down the Grand Canal as much as you like! We also used ours to travel out to Burano to see the beautiful coloured houses. As has been already stated, the bus stop for Venice is just opposite the hotel. So it couldn't be closer. Although the bus was always packed when we got on and we had to stand, it is only about 15mins journey. Marco and the other gentleman on reception at night were both very nice and both very helpful. We wouldn't hesitate to stay here again and would certainly recommend it to others.
Tip - the fast airport shuttle bus cost 5 euro and has room in the hold for luggage. But if you are like us, travelling with only hand luggage, it is possible to catch the local no15 bus from outside the railway station . This goes to the airport and only takes about 10mins more and costs only 1.20 euro.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mestre hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Regit
Hotel Regit
#34 of 58 in Mestre
345 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Villa Serena
Hotel Villa Serena
#47 of 58 in Mestre
165 reviews
3.7 mi away
Palladio Hotel
Palladio Hotel
#2 of 2 in Malcontenta
419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Montepiana
Hotel Montepiana
#30 of 58 in Mestre
315 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Piave
Hotel Piave
#52 of 58 in Mestre
606 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Alveri
Hotel Alveri
#22 of 58 in Mestre
242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Da Tito? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Da Tito

Address: Via Cappuccina 67, 30172, Mestre, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Mestre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #55 of 58 Hotels in Mestre
Price Range: £38 - £104 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Da Tito 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Da Tito since 3 generations has been the best solution in Mestre to be close to Venice. Located in the real heart of the city, the hotel is 5 minutes walking from the central railway station and at only 4 kms from the hystorical centre of Venice. Every 10 minutes a bus that stops in front of the hotel connects our guests to the wonderful lagoon city. The hotel has a private parking, 16 wide and comfortable rooms furnished with taste, private services in rooms, telephone, safe, tv and hairdryer. Open 24 hours on 24 all year long, guarantees to its guests the highest service combined with the usual Venetian warmness. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Da Tito reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Da Tito Province Of Venice/Mestre

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing