We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Excellent relaxing family holiday”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of La Grande Gennerie

The rear of both houses.  Overlooking the large safe play area below.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The rear of both houses.  Overlooking the large safe play area below.
Front of the two cottages with tarmaced area leading to play area and flower garden. Welcome pack in kitchen.  Fully fitted kitchen with all modcons.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
11 reviews
The rear of both houses.  Overlooking the large safe play area below.
Front of the two cottages with tarmaced area leading to play area and flower garden.
Welcome pack in kitchen.  Fully fitted kitchen with all modcons.
The large open plan lounge with exposed beams. Plenty of room for all.
Cosy Characterful double bedrooms with original beams
Alma and Smudge preening each other
View from the large fruit and veg garden looking towards Troy's old stable and large safe play
The large flower garden with fruit and veg and picnic benches
Large safe play area at the rear of the property overlooking the fields. The cows like to watch.
Table tennis and Pool in the shade of Troy's old stable.
Private Carp Fishing Lake -32.5 lbs.  If you fancy this let me know in advance please.
Troy my horse who usually grazes with the guests on the lawn
Harriet and Claire on the float the first Sunday in July in Carelles.
Swimming Lake at Fougeres in the middle of the woods, kayaks in Summer and fab for bikes.
Swinging through the trees in Gorron, Swingball and canoeing also.
Jardin des Renaudies - 5 mins away.  Lovely gardens and activities through the Summer.
View over Fougeres from Cathedral walk down to the Chateau through the beautiful gardens.
Mont St Michel an hour away.
Farmers market in front of the chateau at Fougeres and after film in the chateau grounds
Fougeres Cathedral and where the Market is Saturday.
Lassay les Chateaux
Ange Michel - 20 mins away - Perfect for young children, parents or teenagers alike.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Carelles, Mayenne, Pays de la Loire

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 11 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
striker16...
Shefford, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent relaxing family holiday”
Reviewed 25 August 2013 for a stay in August 2013

The gite was very much as advertised. Alison was great host and went out of her way to recommend places to visit. There is plenty for kids with trampoline, pool, table tennis, and other games on site. The welcome pack including bbq/wine upon arrival was also great. Further you will also meet troy the horse, alma the dog,the two cats and the local cows.

Definately worth visiting

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: peaceful area
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Sep 2013
We have had such a lovely Summer with all our guests and look forward to welcoming you all back. Best wishes. Alison and Harriet
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Romain F
Lausanne, Switzerland
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Nice and quiet countryside spot”
Reviewed 29 July 2013 for a stay in July 2013

We were two couples looking for a nice place to stay during a week-end for a wedding in the area, and we enjoyed La Grande Gennerie and its simplicity. The owners were welcoming and helpful, and the few moments we spent there were relaxing. We did not have a lot of time to visit the surroundings but there are a lot of small villages and the countryside is beautiful.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Jul 2013
Glad you all had a lovely, peaceful time as we all seemed to be coming and going at different times as we had the Fete in the Village and your wedding.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IanFur
Worthing, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fabulous Cottage, really friendly welcome, food and Bar b q great”
Reviewed 19 July 2013 for a stay in May 2013

We had a wonderful relaxing 4 days, we were viewing properties in this region, and Alison had plenty of helpful advice, the bar b q on arrival is a great idea, the welcome basket was also great and went down a treat (Wine and food).

The directions are a bit vague, but all part of finding your way.

Fougères is a beautiful town and Gorron and Ambrières-les-Vallées are both worth a visit.

I would recommend this cottage and the host to anyone who wants to relax and get away from it all.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Bar b q on arrival, Alison and Harriets friendly nature
Travelling group: Teenagers
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Jul 2013
Thanks Ian and family glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again soon. Take care and Best wishes Alison and Harriet
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Georgette...
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fabulous place to go, we would definitely go back.”
Reviewed 10 June 2011 for a stay in May 2011

We have just got back from a lovely stay. Wwe were made to feel very welcome and there are lots of small touches, eg a BBQ on arrival that really helped things go smoothly - the last thing you want to faff about with after a long drive is food. I honestly don't think you can beat it with small children in particular, lots to see and do nearby or you can just relax in the ample space available as there is plenty to keep them occupied provided. Our children are aged 4, 2 and 3 months.

Very accessible from Calais, my only comment would be the AA site said it was about 4 hours from Calais and as the last leg of the journey is very intrcvate when you don't know the area it took us 5 hours of actual driving to get there, plus 2 hours of stops because of the kids ages/ need to feed the baby.

We would definitely return, which I always feel says it all!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: Family with Young Children
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway A romantic getaway
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Jun 2011
Thanks for that look forward to seeing you again. Best wishes
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing