We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tasteful and comfortable”
Review of Tranquil Waters

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Tranquil Waters
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 June 2014

We stayed for three nights, and found it very comfortable and clean. Tasteful interiors, generous breakfasts and friendly hosts made our stay in this beautiful location very enjoyable. Also, beautiful Molton Brown products add that touch of luxury.

Room Tip: Try to get the Napoleon room, as it has a large comfortable bed. Although, if you have mobility prob...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank ATait2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (99)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

52 - 58 of 99 reviews

Reviewed 28 May 2014

We travel around a lot and stay in many establishments. We come to Chateauneuf du Faou from time to time and previously I have had trouble finding somewhere appealing - with a tasteful interior, a very attractive location and with certain comforts that we often expect today.
It was a huge relief to find Tranquil Waters which totally lived up to the details I found on the internet.
Beautifully furnished and decorated, with a well equipped refreshment tray - with a kettle, teapot and mugs, a good selection of teas, coffees and hot chocolate and super homemade biscuits. Fridge with fresh milk and choice of other drinks/wine etc. (+ wine glasses instead of having to use teacups or tooth cups, should you decide to have a glass of wine!) Plenty of pillows and cushions and warm 'extra 'bed covers/throws. A 'good' shower and efficient heating in the shower room.
TV and DVD facility.
A lovely breakfast room and an extremely good breakfast.
Very welcoming owners, and breakfast host - excellent all round.

Room Tip: They all looked to be good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank WENDY C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2014

Beautifully appointed and set on the banks of the Nantes/Brest canal, this was an ideal overnight stop. Very friendly welcome and a good breakfast. Highly recommended. The town did not have a great deal to offer but the local Logis has a good and very reasonably priced menu.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Alan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014

We spent one night here on our way further south. Lovely location, friendly and helpful hosts, refurbished rooms, nice breakfast. Excellent in every way. We certainly will return .....................

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank BarryBean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2013

The peace and serenity of Tranquil Waters together with hosts, Steve and Graham ensured our first visit was one to treasure, so much so that when we had to return to Chateauneuf du Faou there was absolutely no question as to where we would stay. Having now returned from our second visit, we are once again delighted to recommend this wonderful B&B. As before the hospitality Steve and Graham provide is second to none, our bedroom, overlooking the water and bathroom were tastefully decorated, comfortable and clean. Complimentary goodies were provided by the way of wine, home-baked cookies and luxury toiletries. The setting is truly picturesque and 'tranquil' and the surrounding areas offer beautiful unspoilt countryside, medieval towns and rugged coastline - what more do you need? Cathy and Kevin

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kerzalig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2013

The other reviews really say it all. Steve & Graham are excellent, welcoming hosts & we enjoyed every moment of our all too short stay at Tranquil Waters.
The room was quiet, clean & comfortable with plenty of storage, quality bedding & towels, Molton Brown toiletries, complementary mini bar, tea, ground coffee, hot chocolate, freshly baked treats plus satellite T.V. with a choice of English or French language channels.
A copious breakfast followed a refreshing night's sleep. We couldn't have wished for anything more & if we're in the region again, we wouldn't consider staying anywhere else.
We also enjoyed a warm welcome & delicious meal in the restaurant next door.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheLeadbetters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2013

In contrast to most establishments, Tranquil Waters not only lives up to expectation but exceeds it. Blending a beautifully serene location with fantastic comfort and hospitality, our few days there will remain with my wife and I for a long time, and will doubtless see us return.

Steve and Graham are very friendly and welcoming, so much so that we had a few drinks with them at the lovely bar and restaurant next door on our last night, Steve's baking is great, and he stocks the rooms with cookies (and if you're lucky, cake) everyday. The generous minibar is refreshed daily too. Steve has an enthusiasm for Molton Brown products - not something I was familiar with prior to our visit, but which undoutedly add to the sense of luxury inherent in our beautifully appointed room and bathroom.

Chateuneuf du Faou is a stunning location, with a striking sense of peace and tranquility beside the canal. Its also a great location from which to explore Finistere. The roads are a joy to drive and we visited several lovely and fascinating towns, both inland and coastal, with ease. Particularly enjoyable was our afternoon at the beautiful and fascinating Chateau which nestles in the hills high above the canal and is visible from outside Tranquil Waters.

My wife and I really enjoyed our stay and left only with great reluctance. We'd like to thank Steve and Graham for such a lovely break. I'm certain we'll be back (and this time I'll be bringing my bike to enjoy those amazing roads!).

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Philip F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chateauneuf du Faou hotels
3 mi away
Stang Korvenn B & B
Stang Korvenn B & B
#1 of 1 in Saint-Thois
68 reviews
0.2 mi away
No photo provided
Logis le Relais de Cornouaille
#6 of 6 in Chateauneuf du Faou
12 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Old Bakery
The Old Bakery
#5 of 6 in Chateauneuf du Faou
10 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tranquil Waters? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tranquil Waters

Address: 4 quai Jean Guivarch, 29520, Chateauneuf du Faou, France
Region: France > Brittany > Finistere > Chateauneuf du Faou
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Chateauneuf du Faou
Price Range: £57 - £75 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Tranquil Waters 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury bed and breakfast located on the Nantes Brest Canal, all the en suite bedrooms have views over the river / canal. The town centre of Chateauneuf du Faou is a 5 minute walk away from the property.All bathrooms have molton brown products for guests to use, the bedrooms also has a complimentary fridge with beer, wine, water for guest use. The hospitality tray in the bedroom has a selection of free trade teas, coffees, hot chocolate and fruit infusion teas.The bedrooms have flat screen TV's (English & French) TV, a selection of DVD's are available for guest use, we have free wifi throughout the property.Bedroom 1: Eleanor (double) en-suite.Bedroom 2: Eugenie (king-size) private bathroom next to the bedroom.Bedroom 3: Napoleon (super king) en-suite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Tranquil Waters reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing