We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Confusing name”
Review of Lumaro Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Milazzo
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Lumaro Resort
Ranked #13 of 17 Hotels in Milazzo
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Confusing name”
Reviewed 29 August 2013

We had a hard time finding the Lumaro. We were looking for a RESORT, i.e. a large place in a large garden. When we called the hotel the owner came and rescued us and guided us to his place in his little sports car. This was the first sign of the kind of service one can expect in this lovely boutique hotel. All six rooms are individually decorated by the owner. Ours was very large and extremely comfortable with a large canopy bed. The bathroom was equally nice and up to date. The owner and his brother (who took the night shift at the hotel) were equally friendly and full of good advice. The brother 's English was excellent. A wonderful place to stay in the lovely town of Milazzo.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Puck W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    61
    6
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
14
28
1
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2013

We spent 2 weeks traveling to many cities around Italy. Before hopping over to our last destination, the Aeolian Islands, we spent the night at Lumaro. We were so glad that we did! Luca picked us up from the train station when we got in around 10pm and brought us to the port the next morning around 7:30. The room was stellar; we had a little balcony and an awesome shower. Before leaving for the port we were also provided with possibly the biggest breakfast we had ever eaten (and we're American). We were each given around 3 slices of different pies, fruit cake with gelato on it, and a croissant. All amazing. The hospitality and accomodation were both fantastic. Thank you, Luca and Massimo.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Katie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lucas355, Proprietario at Lumaro Resort, responded to this review, 18 July 2013
Dear guys , we are so glad that you enjoyed your stay in Lumarò .

We always try to do all the best for our customer and we are happy that our breakfast is appreciate also in USA :-) . Thanks for your rewiew and hope to see you maybe on your next trip in Sicily .

Have a nice day
Luca
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2013

Stayed there the night before leaving for the aeolian islands. The rooms are decorated in a very romantic way, a lot of attention has been given to the atmosphere and this was a very good surprise to us at a very reasonable price. We even had a small balcony with a view on Stromboli. Massimo is very present and always ready to provide advice on things to see or restaurants and share his love for his city. The most amazing experience was the gigantic typical sicilian breakfast plate that kept us happy and fed for the day. One thing to note: it might take 10 to 15 mins to go to the port and get boat tickets but if you want to park for free add another 30 mins to find a spot in the area. In summary GREAT and not to be missed.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Fourchette_Sacados
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lucas355, Proprietario at Lumaro Resort, responded to this review, 7 June 2013
Thanks for your kind review. We are very happy when we read reviews that capture the main essence of our concept of Lumarò. About the parking Lumarò suggest to use our private parking and transfer to the port saving 30 min/1hour to find free parking in the city . I hope you had a safe trip back at home and we look forward to hosting you again soon ;).
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2013

We stayed in this hotel for one night, on our way from Taormina to Cefalu. While driving to Milazzo my GPS died on me, so we ended up in downtown Milazzo, but had no idea where the hotel was. We entered one of the hotels there and asked them to call our hotel. We were told to wait there, and after 20 minutes Massimo arrived, and directed us to follow him with our car. It took another 10-15 minutes to drive to one of the suburbs of Milazzo, where we ended up parking in front of quite unremarkable building. But the inside was beautifully designed and decorated. Massimo, in spite of having limited knowledge of English, was a great source of information and fun. We enjoyed staying with him in the lobby and chatting with him. Since we arrived rather late for lunch, he called one of his friends at nearby restaurant, which was basically opened especially for us. In the evening he directed us to a pizzeria in a small village outside Millazo, and it was superb. We ended up tasting many kinds of pizzas, until our stomach could not take it any more. On the next day, which was a lovely day, we visited, on Massimo's recommendation, the tip of Milazzo's peninsula, which is a very beautiful short hike. Of course, we did not leave without a wine recommendation list from Massimo. We certainly recommend this place, which, in addition to the uniquely designed rooms, has a very friendly and knowledgeable owner.

Room Tip: Each room is different, ask to see all of the available ones.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank suger1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lucas355, Proprietario at Lumaro Resort, responded to this review, 17 May 2013
Dear Guest , im Massimo's Brother and Thank's to have appreciate Lumarò and his philosophy ! Little things must be make better as you suggest . Lumarò born 2 years ago,and we would like to grove day by day in the right way . Lumarò have an Artistic project to enlarge the structure (we hope soon) but economic recession has stopped our investment at the moment . As we say in sicily we are as the wine we improves with age :-)
Many Thanks Luca
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holten
Level Contributor
57 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2012

we had a stay for one night and was really super . Each room is different and decorated with a lot of taste , great style ! clean, quiet,comfortable, good shower ,all together great experience. Breakfast was perfect with home made croissant and cake etc . Friendly owner gave us a good advice for a nice restaurant .

Room Tip: let the owner advice you
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jan-wout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
luca s, Proprietario at Lumaro Resort, responded to this review, 26 November 2012
Dear guest, we are very pleased you enjoyed "Lumarò" and was satisfied with the service received.
Our goal has always been to offer a high quality service and sincere hospitality and we are delighted that it has been perceived and appreciated by you.
A friendly greeting
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2012 via mobile

Massimo, designer and manager of Lumarò Resort made our stay spectacular. We came to Milazzo to visit the Eolian Islands. We felt sorry for not being able to stay longer in Lumarò. Massimo went to all length to make our stay splendid. Taking us on a tour to see the various rooms - each one different from the others. Recommending the best places to swim, to eat, to see. Showing us his garden full of fruit trees and vegetable plants. Stopping at nothing to make us feel comfortable and satisfied. We loved this place and it's spirit and recommend it heartily. You won't regret it. 

Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Ronit C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2012

We had actually booked in somewhere else, but (luckily) they were overbooked and we were shifted to Lumaro. The owner was very helpful and gave us the choice of rooms - the first room was amazing looking and then he showed us the second which was huge and had a 4 poster bed! We were sold. Place was decorated in a very beautiful, original style. The owner explained that he'd designed it all himself. It was such a great treat to stay in a place where the owner has such passion - you could tell he loved what he was doing. He even hopped on his harley to guide us in our car to Capo Di Milazzo so we wouldn't get lost. Breakfast in the morning was one of the best meals of our trip (and the flowers on my girlfriends's plate were a cute touch!). Only bad thing might be that you'd definitely need a car to get into Milazzo, however, we had one so it was perfect.

One of the best B and B/Hotels I've stayed in, highly recommended!

Room Tip: Each room has a different style, but the 4 poster room was so gorgeous!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kiwi_Matt_in_London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Milazzo hotels
2.7 mi away
Eolian Milazzo Hotel
Eolian Milazzo Hotel
#1 of 17 in Milazzo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 361 reviews
1.8 mi away
Petit Hotel
Petit Hotel
#4 of 17 in Milazzo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 158 reviews
2.0 mi away
La Chicca Palace Hotel
La Chicca Palace Hotel
#2 of 17 in Milazzo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Hotel Medici
Hotel Medici
#9 of 17 in Milazzo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 99 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hotel il Principe
Hotel il Principe
#6 of 17 in Milazzo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel La Bussola
Hotel La Bussola
#12 of 17 in Milazzo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lumaro Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lumaro Resort

Property: Lumaro Resort
Address: Via Luigi Fulci 141, 98057 Milazzo, Sicily, Italy
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Messina > Milazzo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Milazzo
#4 Romantic Hotel in Milazzo
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The house situated on two floors is an old colonial structure dating ,back to the beginning of 1900's.The renovation of the building is made in totally respect of the pregusting and the rooms are carefully furnished.Colours and atmosphere suggest to the Mediterranean places and cultures that the history of sicily changed.All rooms are equipped with air condition , satellite tv, free wi-fi internet access and mini bar. Lumaro' is the perfect base for you stay in Milazzo; you can enjoy the beautiful beach and the wild coast or visit sicily's artistical and historical patrimony. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Lumaro Resort Milazzo, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing