We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Clean, Very Courteous, Very Prompt!!!!!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sam Hotel

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Sam Hotel
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Monfalcone
Playa del Carmen, Mexico
Level Contributor
100 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Very Clean, Very Courteous, Very Prompt!!!!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2014

This place is a great place to stay if you are in the area. I was here on business, the front
desk staff are very prompt and courteous. The maids are very good at keeping your room
tidy and clean. The have a small lobby bar and a restaurant attached to the hotel. the restaurant
opens around 7pm every night, but i suggest going out and heading toward the square, there
are some great restaurants in the middle of town. very fresh seafood and great pasta are some
of the great eats out in town. enjoy!!!!!!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    12
    34
    31
    7
    3
See reviews for
8
11
6
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
56 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2013

Stayed at the Sam Hotel for just over 10 days as a result of being moved from a different 'hotel' in Monfalcone (see previous review) and was pleasantly surprised at the vast difference between the two properties. Sam Hotel was bright and obviously newly renovated which is always a welcome sign and the staff were helpful and friendly.

Room was on the 6th floor which for all intents and purposes is the top floor as the 7th floor is the breakfast room. Room was clean and the small mini-bar was nice even though I only used the fridge to keep some small items cold. The bed was comfortable and the pillows were quite nice as well which doesn't sound important to some, but when the previous property had bricks to sleep on, anything remotely soft was welcome!!

Breakfast is served upstairs as mentioned and it was a nice variety of cold cereals, pastries, meats & cheezes and the older gentleman who runs around the place was great!! I don't think I ever saw him stop moving and he flew through the room with coffees, and table settings like the energizer bunny! Again, always very pleasant and once he served you coffee one time he remembered it each time thereafter and I never had to ask again, he simply brought it to the table once he saw me sit down.

The hotel has free Wi-Fi on each floor which is a nice touch, and its quite reliable and fast as well. There is a restaurant downstairs which I didn't visit due to the lack of what I consider an interesting or varied menu, but there's plenty of places to eat nearby at a decent price.

Overall I would be happy to recommend the Sam Hotel either for short or long term stays and its certainly worth the few extra dollars for a good nights sleep in my opinion.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Neil791
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crema, Italy
Level Contributor
140 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 December 2012

This place, located in a good position for the docks area, is a three star hotel with ambition to grow and, in some way, has some good points that could classify it as a good 3 stars hotel.
The main concern is for the room having very old style furniture and they looks like 40 years old, on the other side there is minibar and cable TV but there is not wi-fi connection.
You could choose between smoker or not-smoking rooms but if you want a no-smoking it's better to mention it when you book,
The breakfast is very good with a wide buffet choice in a really nice location at the last floor (7th) with a good view of the town.
The price is quite cheap and the staff is really kind and smiling.
All together is a good compromise quality/price.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Typ67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex
Level Contributor
91 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2012

New hotel from the outside..dated inside..rooms horribles..the only good thing the air con.Nice the breakfast with a good choice and servis.Good value hotel not to be choose for a family vacation.More if you look for something like a Travel Lodge...

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ItalianChefEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2012

The Sam Hotel was on our itinerary but when we found that we needed to change some dates the staff of this Hotel absolutely wonderful. They accommodated our changes - for a very large group of 13. We cannot thank them enough for this. The staff are very friendly and helpful. The breakfast room was a highlight. The view was lovely and the breakfast choice was plentiful. We had some of the best coffee in Italy in this breakfast room! The rooms were clean and well maintained. The rooms were well air conditioned and the internet was included in the cost of the stay. Just a short stroll to the central Piazza and shopping. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen_P2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2012

The receptionists of this hotel are business like. The breakfast staff which seems to consist of one person was friendly and efficient. The housekeeping staff were very friendly. Our room was comfortable and very clean. The bathroom was quite small but was in spotless condition. The location is about 5 minutes walk to the centre of Monfalcone and there are frequent bus and train services to Trieste.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nazrie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delta, Canada
Level Contributor
42 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2011

We stayed for 2 nights at the tail end of our trip to Italy.The hotel is modern, has wireless internet and clean and comfortable rooms.The hotel is situated in a quiet area of town beside the canal and has easy access to the main road to the airport and other towns. It is an easy walk to downtown restaurants and shops (5 minutes) and has a main grocery store about 8 minutes away by foot.The staff were very professional and helpful with directions in English.The breakfast is included in the rate and consists of meats, cheeses,pastries,cereal, toast coffee, tea etcThe breakfast room is the top floor of the hotel and provides wonderful view of Monfalcone.In a typical European fashion the bed pillows are too small by N.A. standards .We would not hesitate to stay again.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vqamarty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Monfalcone
0.2 mi away
Europalace Hotel
Europalace Hotel
#1 of 7 in Monfalcone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
2.9 mi away
Hotel Major
Hotel Major
#1 of 2 in Ronchi dei Legionari
4.0 of 5 bubbles 236 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Excelsior Monfalcone
Hotel Excelsior Monfalcone
#5 of 7 in Monfalcone
3.0 of 5 bubbles 77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Lombardia
Hotel Lombardia
#7 of 7 in Monfalcone
3.0 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ai Campi Di Marcello Hotel
Ai Campi Di Marcello Hotel
#4 of 7 in Monfalcone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Italia
Hotel Italia
#3 of 7 in Monfalcone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sam Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sam Hotel

Property: Sam Hotel
Address: Via Callisto Cosulich 3, 34074 Monfalcone, Italy
Region: Italy > Friuli Venezia Giulia > Province of Gorizia > Monfalcone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Monfalcone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Sam Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 59
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK) and Agoda so you can book your Sam Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing