We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“DO NOT STAY AT FAWLTY TOWERS !! ITS AWFUL”
Review of Hotel Valtorta

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Valtorta
Ranked #103 of 107 Hotels in Montecatini Terme
Leeds, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“DO NOT STAY AT FAWLTY TOWERS !! ITS AWFUL”
Reviewed 23 September 2011

Me and my 74 yr old mum, were so looking forward to this holiday, what a shock when we got to the hotel. It was a DUMP, rooms like ovens, meals not edible, showers not useable, carpets filthy, walls filthy, even the dingles have better hygiene than this hotel.
Tiny lifts, hold maximum 3 slim people, cockroaches running over dining room floor !! Only saving grace was that the holiday was made up of some great people that we all had a laugh about the standards in the hotel, how can over 30 people be wrong.
National Holidays on the whole are good, coaches comfortable, drivers were fantastic as were the people we met.

Room Tip: Do not use at all -
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank shar0n123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    6
    8
    8
    14
    43
See reviews for
18
16
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2011

A sub standard hotel not fit to stay in. It is a health and safety accident waiting to happen with exposed electric wiring and handrails hanging off the wall. I placed my ( not heavy ) backpack on the horrible chair in our horrible room and the whole chair collapsed. There was a big hole in the wardbrobe floor the shower did not work, plaster falling off the ceiling - I could go on and on. The manager is a rude arrogant unhelpful woman ( unless you are Italian ) and the food is awful - we ate out every evening.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank billymac1946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Montecatini Terme hotels

Cramlington, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2011

Everything about this "hotel", apart from the reception area, was absolutely dire. Arriving after a long coach journey with 32 other travellers we were confronted with a lift that could only hold 3 people so getting to your room takes some time unless you are prepared to carry your luggage up the unlit staircase. Upon entering your room you are met by stifleing heat but think that because you are one of the lucky ones to have air conditioning everything will be ok. Wrong. It doesn't work very well. The single beds are about 30" wide. The room my wife and I were in had a broken light switch with wires on show and there was only one spare socket. The water pressure was variable so one minute there was quite a decent spray from the shower and then the next very little. Meals were a joke although at breakfast there was fresh meat in the form of cockroaches. The bread was stale and after the 1st. day we were down to one cereal (Coco Pops). The evening meal just isn't worth bothering about so needless to say the majority of our party ate out. There was no bar so the small bar /cafe just a few yards from the "hotel" did quite a good trade.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank 656899Derek1946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2011

Reception area inviting, from then it was downhill, the electrics need updating, only one plug in the room useable, obviously mini bar in our room was hiding as we didn't find it, the breakfast was minimal to say the least, it was first up best served, they never replaced if cereals ran out for at least a couple of days, the man that watched over us at breakfast time treated us like 2nd class citizens, I definitely would not go back to this hotel or recommend it, housekeeping needed looking into.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank TrillyandBeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2011

this hotel was of a minus standard. food was stale, and inedible, cockroaches in dining room and bathrooms. carpets were filthy.there were 34 persons on our coach trip we cant all be wrong. beautiful town but worst hotel.

Room Tip: dont think there were any good rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank linda h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Skipton, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2011

After a long coach journey, we arrived early evening in the delightful town of Montecatini looking forward to an air conditioned room, nice shower and a few drinks at the bar to finish the the day off. What we got was an oven and grimey bathroom in a hotel that had seen much better days.The only air conditioning we got was the noise from the adjacent hotel's air conditioning, we had a fan which distributed the hot air in our room very nicely thank you!! The bath and toilet were both stained and when the shower was on full blast, we had to run around under it to catch the alternating hot, then cold, then hot, then cold water droplets. When I say it was noisy from the other hotels air conditioning I mean noisy, even with the windows closed. The carpets throughout the hotel were in need of a deep clean and there was no bar.
The breakfasts were acceptable although the pre-packed croisants left a lot to be desired and on one occasion a cockroach had found its way into the dinning area, this was dispatched by the waiter but left squashed in the middle of the floor whilst we continued with our breakfast. Tea and coffee were only available with breakfast but not with the evening meal, which we only had one of, as we decided to eat out for the other, as did most of the rest of our coach party. It seemed as though there were two standards in the hotel, one for coach parties and one for everyone else.
Although the staff which we talked to were as helpful as they could be and very pleasent, it could not deter from the fact that the hotel was in a very poor state indeed.
The lift was very cosy as it was about three foot square, although the cockroaches managed to use it to get to the third floor and into the shower of two of our fellow travelers. This hotel should be re-named the Valtorture!!!

Room Tip: To get the best room....choose a different hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Ghostman51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 222 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2011

A nice reception area and tv lounge, but once inside, you are trapped
Some bedrooms were on the small side and they all need updating
How this hotel as got any stars is amazing, since there was no drink facilities in the room or even downstairs and a lost oportunity to make a profit from the holiday makers, most went to the bar at the top of the street where you will find a warm welcome and a relaxing atmosphere, Breakfast was terrible with pre packet crossiants and machine coffee
terrible with a bit of effort it would have been good, they need a toaster for toast fresh bread, rolls etc they even ran out of cornflakes for 2 days and the evening meal well they need to feed the chickens and produce more veg ,potatoes, etc and with living in this beautiful region with all the fresh produce, they let it down
the night porter loved moving things like bins and chairs during the night and early morning so was noisey and there is certainly the live cockroaches to watch out for
so next time it will be a diffferant hotel and I hope Madam brings a consultant in to get the most of a good building

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank roaminfred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montecatini Terme hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Reale
Hotel Reale
#10 of 107 in Montecatini Terme
392 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Ariston
Hotel Ariston
#21 of 107 in Montecatini Terme
281 reviews
0.1 mi away
No photo provided
Hotel Parma e Oriente
#14 of 107 in Montecatini Terme
298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Smart Hotel Bartolini
Smart Hotel Bartolini
#1 of 107 in Montecatini Terme
274 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Manzoni
Hotel Manzoni
#26 of 107 in Montecatini Terme
737 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Montebello
Hotel Montebello
#8 of 107 in Montecatini Terme
860 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Valtorta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Valtorta

Property: Hotel Valtorta
Address: Via Felice Cavallotti 92, 51016, Montecatini Terme, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Pistoia > Montecatini Terme
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #103 of 107 Hotels in Montecatini Terme
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Valtorta 3*
Number of rooms: 56
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Agoda, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Valtorta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Valtorta Montecatini Terme, Italy - Tuscany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing