We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst hotel I've been in my life”
Review of Hotel Biondi

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Biondi
Ranked #27 of 108 Hotels in Montecatini Terme
Reviewed 12 May 2013

This hotel should not have any star. I was in hotel with two stars in Greece, and that was better than these. I guess that there is part of hotel that is renovated, but I got room that dates back to 1970s, and nothing was changed since than. Room was mouldy. Beds were like in prison, metal with wire, and 1,70 meters long. We had to ask for towels! Bathroom also very old. From our window we were looking directly at kitchen from other hotel, so it was very smelly.

Breakfast was OK for Italian hotel. Staff on reception were very nice and helpful, but in restaurant very unpleasant. They were loud, intruding, they were taking food from our table even if we weren't done.

Location is good, but Montecatini is a small town, so I guess all hotels are close to town center.

So if you are comming to this hotel, make sure you don't get old rooms. Maybe than your stay will be okay.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank IvanK146
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (322)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

56 - 62 of 322 reviews

Reviewed 12 April 2013 via mobile

Wonderful everything , just loved it. Friendly staff, nice hotel, close to everything you wsnt to visit in Tuscany. Montecatini Terme is a beautiful city with great night life. It also has natural roman thermal baths. It has great shopping and great food at very good prices.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mlvilleneuve21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2012

This hotel is a short walk to restaurants and a fun sidewalk market. It is situated in a stunning location. The room was spacious with two bathrooms! Staff were courteous and the hotel is lovely. Our only regret is that we spent so little time in this lovely town as we were part of a busy Cosmos tour of Tuscany.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sstreet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2011

We came to this hotel on a coach tour, stopping 5 nights. Is this hotel punching above its weight ? A 3 star hotel posing as a 4 star ? I offer this question because there was so many things not customer friendly.

It’s too regimented to be customer friendly. Efficiency is all well and good as long as it doesn’t infringe on the customer’s relaxed holiday experience.
Some of the staff and management were rude and rushed, and if you asked questions that were not to their liking they gave answers in a dictorial manner, obviously trying to deter you from asking any further question, again not customer friendly.

The ‘welcome drink’ had to take place on the second night, because the first night we arrived at the hotel too late, due to our coach being late, not the hotels fault. But Why did they bother, because non of the hotel staff spoke welcoming us. A small glass of wine was offered and that was that. Nobody spoke welcoming us and no effort was put into to making us feel welcome

The menus had little choice and what was on offer was pretty poor with no imagination, and not the Italian experience we were hoping for.
Here are some of our complaints.

Breakfast
Stale bread or rolls every morning
Tinned fruit cocktail, no fresh fruit, hello I thought we were in Italy.
Warm milk instead of cold for cereal.
Could not serve yourself at the Coffee Machine because one of the staff rudely insisted that it was her job, this often caused frustration, especially when busy.
The toaster, totally inefficient. I put the stale bread through 3 times, and it still didn’t toast the bread properly, all time consuming, when trying to meet time schedules for the coach excursions.

Dinner in the evening was not the Italian experience we were hoping for:
Not much choice, and the Pasta every night was dry and rubbery with very little sauce.
Also where were the popular dishes that the Italians are world renown for, example In the whole time spent at the hotel, no pizza, no Ice Cream offered .
They offered mashed potatoes one night, you could practically drink it through a straw, it was that watery.
On the third night we asked for the possibility of having Ice Cream, and that we would pay for it if necessary, the waitress was very rude to my wife. It caused so much of a stir, not to mention embarrassment, that the manager was brought in and only by his sanction were we allowed to have Ice Cream, and may I add with not so much as an apology.
Because of that incident and lack of imagination with the way the food was cooked, we dined out for dinner for the last night, thus ensuring we would remember our holiday for good Italian cooking and not the poor Hotel Biondi experience.

The room had a fusty smell to it.
There was a ‘heat wave’ and we could not control the air conditioning as the hotel kept switching it off. At night it got so hot we opened the windows, but it was very noisy, especially from early coach leaving tours first thing in the mornings.

The swimming pool although very nice, seemed disorganized, getting a towel was a bit of a lottery, our friends on the trip wasted valuable time walking between reception and the pool trying to find somebody who could give them a towel. Also the pool closed at 7pm at night, often too late for us to enjoy as our Ecursions often arrived back at the hotel late.

We are seasoned Coach tour travellers, but have found that this hotel falls far short of the standard we have been used to and the Hotel, we feel is misrepresenting the Italian experience that we had hope for and doesn'tdeserve it's 4 star rating.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank Keith J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2011

Just had a wonderfull holiday at this hotel in Montiecatini Terne. Breakfst was great & the evening meal was very good. we had plenty to eat although some of the men said there wasn't enough for the evening meal. The staff were all very friendly & helpfull. The lounge & outside seating was very good.The pool was lovely (open 7am-7pm) We had a room on the 4th floor at the front of the hotel, it wasn't noisey & we slept very well,shower was over the bath (no curtain) & the bath was alittle small.Ideally situated for the lovely park (literally a 2 minute walk) where many of the 'spa's are & 5 minute walk into the heart of the town. One of the local train stations was a 7 minute walk. It cost 3 euros 1o cents (each way) to get to Lucca a great walled town. Trains run about every half an hour. Trains available to FLORENCE, Piza, and many more. Would stay there again.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Penelope154
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2010

The hotel is in a great location, Montecantini is a great base for discovering Tuscany. That unfortunately is the main plus point. This hotel is out dated and needs to a refurbishment desperately and so do most of the staff as well as a good shower.

My room was clean, with the most amazingly high ceiling which did not help the fact that the walls wer made of paper. Every movement in adjoining rooms and in the corridoors could be heard. If staying here i would reccomend ear plugs.
The food can only be described as interesting. I would never thought to have put veal and tuna mayonnaise together and my tip is don't it doesn't work. The breakfast was not much better and i will happily never eat stale bread and plastic cheese ever again.

The staff tried hard but just couldn't get it right and a previous review called this hotel the Italian fawlty towers, there was indeed many Manuels and Basils.

I would only reccomend this hotel if you have a good sense of homour, if you don't take life too seriously then the shambles that is this hotel is very funny. They did give me a free bottle of wine on arrival i think this helped ease the pain.

  • Stayed: August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank hollylincoln
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2010

Stayed here for a week with a large group. Didn't sleep well, the bed was hard and the pillows even harder, plus I was often disturbed by noise from the corridor or neighbouring rooms. The hotel itself was in a quiet location and I had great views of Montecatini Alto. The room, though tired, was clean and had everything I needed for the amount of time I spent there.

The food had to be experienced to be believed. I can praise the croissants at breakfast, but not much else. If you have a penchant for squirty cream and chocolate chips, you'll like the desserts here as they seem to be compulsory toppings.

Montecatini Terme is a great place to use as a base while exploring Tuscany, but there are plenty of hotels to choose from so I wouldn't recommend you pick this one.

  • Stayed: August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank snailrunner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montecatini Terme hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Montecatini Palace
Hotel Montecatini Palace
#3 of 108 in Montecatini Terme
404 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Ercolini & Savi
Hotel Ercolini & Savi
#5 of 108 in Montecatini Terme
1,876 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Columbia Wellness & SPA
Hotel Columbia Wellness & SPA
#6 of 108 in Montecatini Terme
1,148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Croce Di Malta Montecatini GH
Croce Di Malta Montecatini GH
#17 of 108 in Montecatini Terme
443 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Reale
Hotel Reale
#13 of 108 in Montecatini Terme
421 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel Panoramic
Grand Hotel Panoramic
#21 of 108 in Montecatini Terme
397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Biondi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Biondi

Address: Via Quattro Novembre 83, 51016, Montecatini Terme, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Pistoia > Montecatini Terme
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Luxury Hotel in Montecatini Terme
Price Range: £62 - £195 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Biondi 4*
Number of rooms: 101
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Biondi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Biondi Montecatini Terme, Italy - Tuscany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing