We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“past glories but dated”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grand Hotel & La Pace
Ranked #15 of 110 Hotels in Montecatini Terme
Certificate of Excellence
newtownards
Level Contributor
163 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“past glories but dated”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2014 via mobile

We stayed, as arranged, just one night here. The hotel boasts of the rich and famous who have stayed in it, but most of them were there years ago. It was disappointing, needs a bit of a spruce up. Staff were helpful and friendly. The toilet did not flush, mechanism inside cistern was broken beyond quick repair resulting in a constant running water all night. A really spacious bathroom. Has character but needs a bit of tender loving care. Lovely location.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank liambt23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

581 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    275
    146
    74
    49
    37
See reviews for
103
298
18
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014

We stayed this spring again in the wonderful Grand Hotel & La Pace in Montecatini, in the heart of Tuscany. The city as such is already perfectly located between Floence and Lucca/Viareggio and surrounded by all the famous locations such as Florence, Lucca, Forte dei Marmi, Pisa, Viareggio and many more. However, there is not even a need to leave Montecatini, because the city as such with the famous "Therme" and Montecatini Alto already offer everything you need - pure italian hospitality and lifestyle.
But on top this iconic setting is the Grand Hotel & La Pace a wonderful hotel in a spacious old-school italian Palazzo, surrounded by a huge garden and spacious pool area. The hotel is staffed with the same friendly, professional, mulit-lingual but especially warm and helpful staff - hospitality is not just a word but lived by the whole staff, started with the long time owners - the Pucci family. The rooms are very spacious and the food the hotel serves is simply spectacular. We as a family have visited the hotel already several times - also with friends - and simply love to come back every year - it feels like coming back to your second home - this is the feeling which is provided to you by the whole entourage of the hotel. We can highly recommend the hotel to any traveller, regardless of travelling as a family, with friends, as a couple or alone.
Daniel Rupf, Zurich Switzerland

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Daniel R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stuttgart, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014

We really enjoyed our stay in Grand Hotel & La Pace in Montecatini Terme. We could feel the history of the Grand Hotel, not only in the impressive entrance area but also in the breakfast hall and in our spacious room. It is a quiet hotel located in the city centre of Montecatini Terme and surrounded by a park. The hotel staff was extremely nice and helpful: e.g. we got local and delicious advise on where to go for dinner. Montecatini Terme is located between Lucca and Florence, hence the hotel is a vantage point for day trips to all historic sites in Tuscany.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Theresa R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014

This is a splendid historical hotel with exquisite traditional atmosphere, an excellent choice for the family rest. Last time I was travelling with my little daughter and wife and all three of us deeply appreciated the hearty reception. The personnel of the hotel is highly professional, friendly and competent. I was staying in the hotel several times since 1998 and noted that some employees have been working in the hotel for years. Surely this adds positive effect when returning guests are met by name. Each time, nevertheless, there was something new in the services of the hotel that impressed me. Rooms are really huge, perfectly furnished and breakfasts are rich and delicious. In the evenings the dinner is served in the beautiful restaurant and there is a piano bar to enjoy the aperitifs before the meals. I definitely will return to the hotel in the future and would recommend it to everybody willing to enjoy the heart of Tuscany.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gianpaolo27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
444 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 251 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2014

We went here a group of people for work. The hotel was in a small village. Nothing special. It's supposed to be a hotel from the past where famous people went. The service was very good. The breakfast buffet was fresh and nice. The hotel is old and very classic. We had a few rooms (like more that 8) and some were horrible ....no joke less than 140 square feet with a single bed. Looked like a school dorm. My room was bigger but no shower curtain and the bathtub was old and rusted. The room had old furniture that was broken. One night it rained for a few hours and the wooden doors on the outside of the building were flapping on the glass window It was scary and the noise kept me from sleeping. It was very creepy. Only one of my friends had a amazing room with a renovated bathroom and a decent bed and armoir for a closet. This room had a balcony and was overlooking the garden. This room was a 4 star for sure. I believe this hotel was renovated and only some rooms had been finished. So beware ask for the new rooms or else for the price you pay you will not be very happy. I didn't complain as this trip was a business trip. Had I paid I would have made a complaint cause it was expensive and the rooms that we had were honestly horrible. This hotel is in Tuscany area so once you step out to adventure and visit, the room is no longer an issue. Tuscany area of Italy is beautiful and has gardens, flowers, greenery and good Vineyards. We visited 5 Terre, Lucca, Sienna, Venise, Florence, Pise.....lots of things to see in the area. Although not a close drive and not in a modern city this hotel could be an option. Just ask for the new rooms.

Room Tip: Ask for the renovated rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Nancy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zoetermeer, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2014

We booked for a very good price through Travelbird, and I guess we were lucky to have a room in de main building. Good space, bathroom fine, and we even had a small balcony.
The dining rooms are big and very high, with impressive ceiling paintings.
Breakfast and dinner great, and the personnel nice and effective. They had to work very hard!
Hotel in the centre of Montecatini, which is a very nice and cosy little city.
Last but not least is the hotel near the station, so you can go easily to wonderful Florence or other cities.
Even though the wheather was not warm enough to sit in the garden or swimming pool, we had a wonderfull time!!

Room Tip: If possible, ask for a room in the main building (we had nr 519)
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Bandung43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2013 via mobile

Great hotel , room was very grand and with a balcony gorgeous bathroom . great service and friendly staff all round . Spa looks very good although I did not use it . Breakfast amazing. Diner was Evan better .
Hotel a bit run down in places outside but you would expect that from the age of the hotel .

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Nicki H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montecatini Terme hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Montecatini Palace
Hotel Montecatini Palace
#3 of 110 in Montecatini Terme
4.5 of 5 bubbles 334 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Columbia Wellness & SPA
Hotel Columbia Wellness & SPA
#6 of 110 in Montecatini Terme
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,018 reviews
0.2 mi away
Croce Di Malta Montecatini GH
Croce Di Malta Montecatini GH
#11 of 110 in Montecatini Terme
4.0 of 5 bubbles 394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Puccini
Hotel Puccini
#2 of 110 in Montecatini Terme
4.5 of 5 bubbles 523 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Francia e Quirinale
Hotel Francia e Quirinale
#4 of 110 in Montecatini Terme
4.5 of 5 bubbles 672 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Ercolini & Savi
Hotel Ercolini & Savi
#5 of 110 in Montecatini Terme
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,735 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel & La Pace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel & La Pace

Property: Grand Hotel & La Pace
Address: Via della Torretta 1, 51016, Montecatini Terme, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Pistoia > Montecatini Terme
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Montecatini Terme
#11 Luxury Hotel in Montecatini Terme
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel & La Pace 5*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This beautiful property,built in 1870 in Liberty architectural style, is located in the heart of Tuscany, few miles from Florence, Pisa, Lucca, Siena and the seaside. Close to Florence and Pisa International Airports and a few steps from Railway station. The hotel features a great heated (28°C)outdoor swimming pool(seasonal),a Tennis clay court,both free of charge, a modern style SPA with Wet Area (a heated pool with Jacuzzi corner, the ancient Rasul bathing ritual and relaxation area),regenerative and anti-age treatment, holistic programmes, massage and remise en forme) and the enchanting SPA SUITE, a private corner with jacuzzi, rasul and relaxing area. Member of the Montecatini International Golf course (special discount for green fee available). Private park of 20.000 sqm. Private parking lot. Buffet lunch by the pool and candle light dinner with piano music in the Patio ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, TravelUp, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Hotel & La Pace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel And La Pace
Grand Hotel & La Pace Montecatini Terme, Italy - Tuscany
Grand Hotel Montecatini Terme

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing