We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mediocre hotel”
Review of Hotel Cappelli

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Cappelli
Ranked #38 of 110 Hotels in Montecatini Terme
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Mediocre hotel”
Reviewed 6 September 2010

We stayed in this hotel for 1 night only at the beginning of September 2010. Our room was on the first floor overlooking the street. Room size was ok. Overall room decor looked ok but was a bit grubby.
Good things: On arrival check in staff were friendly and quite helpful. Easy to park on street right outside the hotel paying e3 per day. (Not sure if there was off street parking as we weren't offered this). Nice pool and jacuzzi. Good location on a street with other hotels and a short walk to spa (if you're thinking of taking the waters at the spa, we were told you need a doctor's prescribtion), funicular and shops.
Other points: Room too stuffy/hot to sleep well. Although it did say there was air conditioning from 12-12, the air conditioning in our room was not turned on until10.30pm after we asked if anything was wrong with it as our room just wasn’t getting cool. Air con then went off at midnight. Signs on windows requested you keep them closed for your own security.
Breakfast was basic, processed ham, cheese, bread, croissants, cereals, tinned fruit salad, tea/coffee from a machine and juice. Service from the waitress at breakfast was ‘frosty’. There were only four other guests dining and the waitress wasn’t over busy at the time.
Despite being a non-smoking floor, there was an overwhelming smell in the corridor.
Bathroom not particularly clean. Toilet seat broken and mould around bath. Shower was over the bath. In the shower area there were taps on one side of the bath with a window just above and fixed shower screen on the other making it small and awkward trying not to hit your leg on the tap without getting water all over the window sill or floor.

As it was just for a night the hotel was ok, but wouldn't want to stay here for any longer.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ginger2028
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    62
    70
    20
    8
    4
See reviews for
26
56
19
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dollar, Scotland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2006

We spent 4 nights at the Cappelli in April 2006 as part of a bus tour of Italy. The public rooms were elegant and the bedrooms were spacious. However the bedrooms did not have coffee making facilities, a safe or a working fridge/minibar. Wet towels were simply hung back on the rails rather than replaced. There was a very attractive terrace with a swimming pool and gym. Unfortunately we found the staff to be rather surly and unhelpful and the meals were awful. Breakfast consisted of cornflakes, toast and croissants with fruit juice and coffee. A slab of ham and cheese were provided for non coach party guests but removed when we arrived, as was the meusli. We had booked 2 evening meals. The first consisted of very good home made soup followed by a pork chop, frozen peas and semi liquid instant mashed potatoes. The dessert was a tinned pineapple ring topped with a spoonful of tinned fruit salad. My husband considered it to be the worst meal he had ever been offered in a restaurant.When people complained they were offered fresh fruit or vanilla ice cream. The house wine was charged a e12 a bottle. (By comparison we had a wonderful 4 course lunch at Capa Tosta, Piazza dalla Sala in Pistoia for e9.50, including water and coffee!) The second meal was much better - pasta carbonara, meat stew with green beans and carrots and panacotta for dessert.
However, due to the unpredictability of standards I would hesitate to recommend this hotel.
While Montecatini Terme is an elegant resort, for some reason it was filled with school parties of teenagers who rampaged about the streets shouting every night until the early hours of the morning.
We felt this whole experience reflected badly on the Italian tourist industry which up until now we have found to be first class.

  • Stayed April 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dollarite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati, OH
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2005

My wife and I enjoyed 4 nights at this delightful establishment. Our room was large by European standards, with 10-12 foot ceilings, separate bathroom and a/c. The staff was very friendly and responsive. The food was very good and all this at a rate of approximately 60 Euros per person per day (3 meals). I would return in a heartbeat to this family owned and operated establishment and Montecatini was a joy (although we did not partake in the waters and their "cleansing" effects).

  • Stayed July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Taelaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, CA
Level Contributor
49 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2003

We stayed here three nights in 2000 after finding hotel prices in Florence exhorbitant, and we thoroughly enjoyed Montecatini Terme and this hotel. We had a renovated room on the top (6th?) floor, with a beautiful new marble bath. The view of the mountains from our balcony was stunning. (Only a few rooms have balconies). In looking over the hotel, it appeared that about half the rooms had been renovated; room prices vary accordingly. Service was excellent; I learned that the person who showed us to our room was the hotel's long-time manager only when he refused my tip! The hotel's public rooms included a series of rooms of varying sizes furnished in an older but comfortable style--a bit like staying in a good English country house. Food in the formal dining room was good (not necessarily great) and was fairly priced.
Montecatini was (and to some extent still is) a place where wealthy Europeans came to "take the waters." After dinner--even after dark--people of all ages can be found strolling along the upscale streets and even through the large parks of this spa town. A very enjoyable and relaxing scene. The town makes a good base for exploring this part of Tuscany (Florence, Lucca and Pisa). About 20 trains per day make the 50-minute trip to Florence (to the east) and the 25-minute trip to Lucca (to the west). It's about a 10-minute walk through town from the hotel to the small train station on the single but busy rail line. There are plenty of stores allowing one to shop for art, jewelry, leather and other luxuries, and a few bargains to be found at small street markets. Montecatini has two true 5-star hotels, perhaps twelve 4-star hotels, and well over a hundred 3- and 2-star hotels, most kept to a very high standard by all the competition. This hotel (Capelli-Croce de Savoia) is in the 3-star range--by no means the finest in town, but still very comfortable, satisfying and fairly priced. We recommend it.

  • Stayed January 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
16 Thank tearose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montecatini Terme hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Parma e Oriente
Hotel Parma e Oriente
#15 of 110 in Montecatini Terme
295 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Reale
Hotel Reale
#12 of 110 in Montecatini Terme
377 reviews
0.3 mi away
Astoria Hotel
Astoria Hotel
#28 of 110 in Montecatini Terme
196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Smart Hotel Bartolini
Smart Hotel Bartolini
#1 of 110 in Montecatini Terme
271 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Ercolini & Savi
Hotel Ercolini & Savi
#5 of 110 in Montecatini Terme
1,772 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Da Vinci
Hotel Da Vinci
#13 of 110 in Montecatini Terme
359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cappelli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cappelli

Property: Hotel Cappelli
Address: Viale Alessandro Bicchierai 139, 51016, Montecatini Terme, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Pistoia > Montecatini Terme
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 110 Hotels in Montecatini Terme
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Cappelli 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Cappelli reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Montecatini Terme
Montecatini Terme Best Western
Hotel Cappelli Montecatini Terme, Italy - Tuscany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing