We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Italian Style Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Grand Hotel Plaza & Locanda Maggiore
Ranked #7 of 110 Hotels in Montecatini Terme
Certificate of Excellence
Cork City
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent Italian Style Hotel”
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Myself and my Mother have just returned from an excellent stay at this hotel (July 8th - 15th). We thoroughly enjoyed everything this beautiful hotel had to offer.

It is a typical Italian style hotel and this brings with it old world charm which may not be to everyone's taste. Lovely big lobby area with a huge old stair case. The lift is a bit of a tight fit - so perhaps not that best if you're claustrophobic. The bar is small, but there are plenty of seats outside and in the foyer if it is full. Our bedroom was standard European size on the first floor - the window was floor to ceiling and opened out onto a shared verandah which overlooked the back of the property adjacent to the Viale Verdi - yes, this can be noisy - but we live in the city so this didn't bother us. If you are a light sleeper you might be better off to ask for one of the courtyard rooms.

We had breakfast and dinner in this hotel - which was plentiful. The waiting staff were excellent and a special word of mention must go to Mariano - what a lovely, guy who is extremely dedicated to his job and it is clear that he loves doing what he does. He was kind, courteous and extremely helpful. My Mother and I cannot eat certain dishes and he made sure that we enjoyed our meal like everyone else by providing alternatives without a fuss.

Truly what makes this hotel great is the staff. Kind, friendly and they always did their job with a smile on their faces. Furthermore, the hotel is spotless.

Thank you for a great week and I look forward to returning.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank corkmanufan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

827 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    392
    293
    97
    35
    10
See reviews for
151
387
37
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (252)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Drogheda, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Just returned from a 1 week break in this hotel and could not have asked for a better experience. We loved the hotel, the elegance that goes with old Italian palazzo style hotels, the superb staff and service. Montecatini is also a really nice town to centre a holiday in Tuscany. We went with the Travel Department and had a great time all round.

Room Tip: We had a corner room which was very spacious and comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 167KLO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kilkenny
Level Contributor
106 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Sometimes I have to wonder did people who have reviews on this website actually stay in the same hotel as me ??
This hotel is typically old Italian elegance and if you like Italy and have stayed in other Italian hotels you will love it .fab entrance and very central to everything in montecatini .Beautiful staircase and beautiful antique furniture on every floor.There will be a fabulous square in front of the hotel when the paving work is finished and that will be shortly as they were nearly finished when I was there 2 weeks ago with the Travel Department.i was on the second floor overlooking the wine bar at the rear of the hotel,had a view of montecatini alto and once those windows were closed at night noise from the wine bar or any other never bothered us .The bedroom and bathroom were spotless and fresh fluffy towels every day and a change of bed linen in the middle of the week .The air con worked perfect and there was no extra charge as can happen in some places .Staff were excellent across all aspects of the hotel .I have to say the evening meal every night was great ,food was just lovely ,sometimes you could have an off night but not in this hotel and generous portions.Breakfast was the usual affair plenty for everyone hot Buffet of scramble eggs and bacon or the cold meats and cheeses ,yogurt ,cakes ,toast ,fresh fruit or the canned variety too.Tea/coffee.if anything is missing Marieo is excellent and will sort it out for you Just ask and you shall receive no point in complaining afterwards.The bar is small but comfortable and the courtyard is lovely if you want to sit out and have a drink and the bar staff are very nice and pleasant.Pool is small but it is very quite and relaxing up there when you come back after a long day touring.Plenty of chairs and sun beds.There is a bar across the square where you can sit and watch the world go by and have wonderful pizza or just a slice of pizza ,very popular .I would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel as it was comfortable, spotlessly clean ,central and lovely staff .If you are with the Travel Department you should have no complaints (there was 51 on our tour)as everyone enjoyed it and we had a great guide in Alexandra .

Room Tip: Ask for level 2/3/4
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank coupleskilkenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
broxbourne
Level Contributor
29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014

While touring Italy with Shearings we arrived at this hotel to find the square in front of hotel a building site. While the entrance looked grand the rooms and other areas were very dated and grubby. We had bath towels covering the mattress which was very alarming. The hotel is in dire need of an upgrade and a spring clean. Dining areas were well decorated but the breakfast was very basic with tinned fruit and limited choice of yogurts.Not an experience i would wish to repeat.

Room Tip: Make sure you check out the beds and the bathrooms. Noisy area but make sure you dont get a room ove...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank purdy123Broxbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Visited the hotel as part of a Shearings tour of Tuscany. Reception staff were great. Interior of hotel was very impressive and well decorated. Breakfast and dinner were typically Italian and of good quality. Each morning you had to order starter and main course for the evening meal.
Our room was clean and the beds very comfortable but the bathroom "was different". The shower consisted of a small shower tray in a corner with only a curtain. The result was a wet floor every night but the room had been designed as a wet room so this wasn't too much of a problem.
Pool area is great.
All staff were very friendly and helpful.
Visitors in the near future need to be aware that the area in front of the hotel is currently being reconstructed. Work started at 8am. and was finished when we returned to the hotel. This will greatly improve the aspect of the hotel when completed.

Would love to return one day.

Room Tip: We asked for a balcony when booking. Some people would consider the front of the hotel to be noisy b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Headsy2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yorkshire
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Cosmos/archers holidays should seriously consider removing this hotel from their Italian tours.
The room was a disgrace, small low twin beds, very old and uncomfortable The room and furniture was grubby and undesirable, the furniture,ancient and scratched, very depressing dark bathroom. Bird droppings on the carpet where the window had been opened.
Our tour group squashed into a side room, no grand dining room for us!!!! Breakfast was poor.
Very hot, no air conditioning while eating our meals.
Very poor hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bifta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wirrabara, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

This is definitely not a 4 Star hotel . The facade might look like it but there are many rooms that are just dreadful. at this hotel. My friend and I had a twin room with a shower . There was just enough room for the two beds and you had to stand in the shower to get to the wash basin. We spent 7 days at this hotel on a tour and there were at least 5 of us who complained about the rooms. We eventually were offered another room which was MARGINALLY an improvement but the only one they had. The furnishing was appalling with 50s style furniture and a wardrobe too small for 2 people. The only appealing part of the hotel is the reception area which is large and gives the impression of spaciousness. I could not recommend this hotel in its present state - the bedrooms are in need of refurbishment and they could do with a larger bar area. The only positive comment I can make is that the staff are very pleasant and as helpful as they can be given the circumstances they have to work in.

Room Tip: Don't accept your room until you have checked it out first. There are some dreadfully small twin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ann W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GPRoma, Direttore at Grand Hotel Plaza & Locanda Maggiore, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Dear Client,
We are sorry to hear you were not happy about your rooms. Being an historical hotel not all the rooms are the same in size and furnishing and of course you cannot expect a modern style room. As you have seen whenever is available we always give the chance to change the room and most of the time all our clients are very satisfied . Maybe you do not like the old Italian fashion style hotels.
Kind regards
Giancarlo Poli
Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montecatini Terme hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Montecatini Palace
Hotel Montecatini Palace
#3 of 110 in Montecatini Terme
4.5 of 5 bubbles 344 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Puccini
Hotel Puccini
#2 of 110 in Montecatini Terme
4.5 of 5 bubbles 535 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Ercolini & Savi
Hotel Ercolini & Savi
#5 of 110 in Montecatini Terme
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,753 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Francia e Quirinale
Hotel Francia e Quirinale
#4 of 110 in Montecatini Terme
4.5 of 5 bubbles 712 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Columbia Wellness & SPA
Hotel Columbia Wellness & SPA
#6 of 110 in Montecatini Terme
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,032 reviews
0.2 mi away
Smart Hotel Bartolini
Smart Hotel Bartolini
#1 of 110 in Montecatini Terme
4.5 of 5 bubbles 265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Plaza & Locanda Maggiore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Plaza & Locanda Maggiore

Property: Grand Hotel Plaza & Locanda Maggiore
Address: Piazza del Popolo 7, 51016, Montecatini Terme, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Pistoia > Montecatini Terme
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Montecatini Terme
#5 Romantic Hotel in Montecatini Terme
#6 Luxury Hotel in Montecatini Terme
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Plaza & Locanda Maggiore 4*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
change Primary photo from ownerphoto edit ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your Grand Hotel Plaza & Locanda Maggiore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Plaza/Locanda Maggiore Hotel Montecatini Terme
Grand Hotel Plaza & Locanda Maggiore Montecatini Terme, Italy - Tuscany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing