We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fab and friendly”
Review of Royal Palace Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Royal Palace Hotel
Ranked #49 of 107 Hotels in Montecatini Terme
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fab and friendly”
Reviewed 4 August 2014 via mobile

I stayed here for 6 nights with a coach party and had a fab time!!! Although people in the group moaned about different things, I found the staff to be friendly,the food was excellent and the hotel was kept clean and tidy at all times!! The only down side I can say I found was that at certain times another hotel could use the pool and this did become a problem when I wanted to use it. Other than that I had the most amazing time and didn't want to come home!! See you next year hotel royal palace!! I can't wait to come back!!!!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank Ann D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    33
    38
    40
    21
    10
See reviews for
26
50
6
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
hornsea
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for four nights with a coach party.have to admit had read all the reviews an just wasn't sure what to expect but have to admit was fine with me
The room was a double which granted was not modern but to be fair was very clean an maid visited daily with fresh towels each day an to be honest after the walking we did,the bed was a welcome sight
The breakfast to be honest was ok,as with all continental breakfasts it had the usual suspects,cheese,salami,cereal,yoghurts,your typical affair an that was fine with me but then came the strange thing,you chose your evening meal then,which I have never done before but again to be fair the hotel deals in a lot of coach parties arriving at differant times so I presume this works for them and again the food was piping hot which it's as I like it
The only thing I would have liked would be a kettle in the rooms as we English like are cuppa ;-), but again were in Italy aren't we!!!!!
All in all a decent cheap budget hotel an yes would use it again

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank steve p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
Level 5 Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014

(4/3/2014) This was one of the hotels booked for us on a group tour of Italy, we were a group of 45. WiFi was free but painfully slow, at times, could not get a connection at all, even just to surf, let alone try to upload photos. Interior is kind of dingy. We had breakfast and dinners included, which we ate in the hotel. Breakfast was the standard around Italy, platter of meat (ham or salami), platter of white cheese, rolls, cold cereal, yogurt, coffee, milk, juice. Dinners were mediocre, started with American-style romaine salad with tomatoes, carrots, radicchio. We usually had soup to start, which were all very good (pasta e fagioli, split pea, lentil and barley), pasta dishes were forgettable, the main meat and potatoes were unspeakably bad. Service was friendly and efficient.

My room was above the kitchen and had a balcony overlooking the kitchen's back door and facing the backsides of 3 other hotels. It was a noisy, noisy, intersection, and a add a touring group of teenagers and French tourists to that, the cacophony was deafening.

The hotel is conveniently located near the city center where there's lots of shops and restaurants and a grocery store, and it's walkable to the train station for day trips to Florence. Also just a few blocks nearby are a pedestrian shopping street and the funicula station.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Traveller_AKC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2014

We stayed at this hotel for 4 nights with a tour group. For the price we paid for the holiday the hotel for the most part was certainly adequate. Our first impression of the double room we had was that the décor was really weird, with everything a very dark blue making the room appear very dark. Even the table lamp was blue. Everything on our floor was the same colour scheme, other floors had rooms and corridors that were bright red, very strange. Apart from the colour, the room was clean with a comfortable double bed, the bathroom was fine, with a nice roomy, hot shower and clean towels.
We were staying half board. Breakfast was what you might expect for the price, with cereal, cheese, ham, coffee, tea and juice, although the juice was a bit on the watery side, the rest was ok.
Each evening we were asked to choose our meal for the next day, which consisted of a salad buffet, followed by pasta, a main course and a dessert. In the main we found the meals to be perfectly adequate until the final night when the choice of main course was loin of pork or four cheeses. Several people ordered four cheeses, unfortunately, this is exactly what they got. Four little pieces of cheese and a lettuce leaf, that was the main course. We were pleased we had ordered the pork which came with potato and spinach but the cheese did not go down very well with many of our party who had expected it to be served with something, anything, even a few crackers.
The hotel is in a good location, only a short walk into the centre of town. Directly opposite the hotel is one of the town's thermal spas.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank williamoreilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2014

room walls are paper thin. bathrooms are tiny. evening meals are a joke, cold, uncooked pasta from a country famous for the product, bizzare combinations. need to replace chef, if they have one to replace that is. pool has no water, so look before you leap. registration desk left unattended at times. would not stay again or recommend. no kettle in room

Room Tip: book another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jonathan m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Montecatini Terme hotels

Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2014

When arrived at this hotel looked pleasant but disappointed on arrival we entered our room it was red with red lights, we did not let that put us off went down for breakfast was ham cheese all week did not the evening meal was just as bad, cold food not cooked beef raw , was glade to leave my first taste Italy but the Vatican city was amazing so was Piza and the trive fountain

Room Tip: Don't go on the 5th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Elaine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2013 via mobile

The hotel is in a great location the front of house staff very helpful!!!! The restaurant is basic but the food is good and portions are large... Soft drinks are reasonable but the wine list is very expensive when the wine shop just literally up the road is superb!!! Have a room with a balcony overlooking the Main Street as the pool is tiny and can be noisy with big groups so there would be no siesta time!!! A really good location!!!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elisabeth P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montecatini Terme hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Parma e Oriente
Hotel Parma e Oriente
#15 of 107 in Montecatini Terme
298 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Montecatini Palace
Hotel Montecatini Palace
#3 of 107 in Montecatini Terme
366 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Montebello
Hotel Montebello
#8 of 107 in Montecatini Terme
860 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Astoria Hotel
Astoria Hotel
#27 of 107 in Montecatini Terme
199 reviews
0.5 mi away
Grand Hotel Panoramic
Grand Hotel Panoramic
#23 of 107 in Montecatini Terme
356 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Francia e Quirinale
Hotel Francia e Quirinale
#4 of 107 in Montecatini Terme
794 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Palace Hotel

Property: Royal Palace Hotel
Address: Viale Alessandro Bicchierai 113, 51016, Montecatini Terme, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Pistoia > Montecatini Terme
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#27 Luxury Hotel in Montecatini Terme
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Royal Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 67
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Royal Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Palace Hotel Montecatini Terme, Italy - Tuscany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing