We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dreadful food not 4*”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Francia e Quirinale
Ranked #4 of 110 Hotels in Montecatini Terme
Certificate of Excellence
penicuik
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Dreadful food not 4*”
Reviewed 28 June 2013

We are just back from an escorted rail journey in Tuscany and stayed 7 days at this hotel. I had looked at the reviews and pictures before I left and was looking forward to staying there. How wrong can you be. When we arrived the public rooms and bar were classy and tidy. We were checked in and went to our room. Nothing like the pictures. 2 very hard single beds, view out onto the wall of the next door hotel and very tired decor. We had to keep the shutters closed for privacy. Bathroom was quite big but the bath had a shower on a pole against the wall and no shower screen or curtain. I went back to reception and enquired why no shower screen and the girl on reception just shrugged and said it was normal. Had a shower that night and had to bend over to get under the shower head. Needless to say water went everywhere and bathroom floor was very wet. A slip on the floor would have injured you badly. Next day went back to reception and asked to be moved. Girl I saw then was very helpful and got us shifted to a room with shower cubicle.Still dated but safer.
Then we come to the food. There was a menu outside the dining room but we didn't get any of it. Dining room was separated so that our large group ate on large tables. First meal veg was processed mushy peas. Another night we had spinach boiled within an inch of its life. No effort was put into the food and most times just slopped on the plate. One night I had what was supposed to be York ham. It was a processed meat of which I had 2 slices, no more than a dessert spoon of mashed potato and 5 slices of carrot. That night nearly everyone sent their food back to the kitchen. There was mixed salad every night as a starter which was lettuce, a couple of slices of cucumber and a couple of bits of tomato. To vary it they added grated carrot. Our tour manager complained and the next night we had parma ham and melon then after that back to mixed salad.Meals had to be eaten as soon as they arrived at the table as only luke warm with the result we were all eating at different times. At breakfast there was scrambled egg every day. One morning there was none left so my husband waited for it to be replaced. When it arrived it was cold. How can fresh stuff be cold? It says it serves Italian cuisine. We never saw that at all. We have been to Italy on several occassions in both 3* and 4* hotels and had beautiful food. What we were dished up in this hotel was most certainly not 4* standard.
The night before we left I went to reception to pay our bar bill and was told I had to pay it in the morning. As we were leaving at 7.15 and dining room opened for breakfast at 6.45 I went down at 6a.m. to settle up. The night receptionist told me to come back later as he didn't take bills at that time. I asked if he was joking and he just shrugged and went back to what he was doing before I arrived. I stood there shocked and after a few minuted he looked up again, sighed and went to a pile of invoices lying on the desk. He finally took my payment with no "thank-you" and went back to what he was doing as if I was dismissed.
I certainly felt there was a 2 tier system at this hotel and our group was definately on the lower tier for service.
In saying that the weather, train trips and places we visited were marvellous. Shame the hotel didn't live up to its pictures.

Room Tip: Rooms at front of hotel have a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mal29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

719 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    453
    190
    48
    19
    9
See reviews for
156
298
30
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2013

Have just returned from a Great Rail Holiday and was based in this hotel for 7 nights, on arrival the hotel looked good nice reception area and bar and lounges all decorated nicely then we were given our room that was dated and in close proximity to the next hotel so we had a alleyway which also had kitchen noise from below. Due to the closeness we could see into the opposite bedrooms which meant they could see into ours , so we had to have the shutters closed which made the room very dark and had to have the lights on no matter what time of the day , size of the room was large and the bathroom was a decent size as well. We were lucky to have a shower screen on the side of the bath some rooms had neither a screen or curtain .
As for the food I don't know if its different food for different companies but what we got was not 4 Star food , we have been to Italy on numerous occasions staying in 4 Star hotels never before have we had processed meat and mushy peas and a dollop of mash potatoes for a main course , veal every night was one of the options would not be too bad if cooked properly and was presented nicely instead of being chucked on the plate . We also seemed to get a lot of mixed salad for starters consisting of a couple of shreds of lettuce 2 slices of tomato 2 slices of cucumber and some grated carrot never varied , the desserts were not much better one night a dollop of ice cream and 4 cherries of the tinned variety .This hotel prides itself on its Italian cuisine and Tuscan specialities our group on Great Rail journeys got none of this did the company pay enough for the food and rooms. The food when it arrived was not hot and the courses if you had something different did not arrive at the same time leaving you eating when others had finished . We are not picky people with our food and will try most things but often it seemed liked school dinners . It spoilt what was otherwise a nice holiday the town itself was very nice and the trips we went on were good the hotel really needs to get its act together with the food or they will start losing people on the Great Rail journeys others who had been on similar trips this was the worst one and we will not be going on any more with Great Rail . The whole group complained about the food not just us ,even the tour manager complained so something was amiss.

Room Tip: If you want a view ask for a front or rear room also some rooms do have a proper shower enclosure
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Roger075
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Downham Market
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2013

Recently stayed here for four nights as part of a Treyn holiday to Tuscany and Venice. I would really find it hard to fault this hotel - my husband and myself really enjoyed our time here.
First impressions were good, the reception area and lounge are beautifully styled,with comfy sofas and tables. An outside terrace was a good place to sit with friends over a drink.
The hotel seems to cater mainly for groups of travellers, but it does so really well. In the restaurant, the staff dealt with different menus for different groups with efficiency and politeness, no matter how busy, and the food was very good indeed. Breakfast was a joy!
Our room, though not large, and without a balcony, was stylish and comfortable, complete with a lovely bathroom. We only had one day to relax by the pool, but wish we could have had more.
Over all, a memorable and enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HappyH0usewife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Rosa, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2013

The amazingly welcoming staff almost makes up for a very old hotel that needs a makeover (desperately). The room we were in had a very old smell that hit you every time you walked into the room. It was spacious but very dated as the rest of the hotel was as well. Maybe this is what they are striving for as it does seem to attract a much older clientele.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
Reviewed 19 June 2013 via mobile

Staying here 1 week was very pleasant. The hotel was kept very clean, the staff were very friendly and helpful. Really good location to a local park, cafés and shops. We had a good sized room with a balcony with an excellent view. The pool got plenty of sun in the afternoon / evening. The hotel food and drinks are not overpriced and the morning coffee is so good! This hotel is always bustling, there were no let-downs, we're very happy.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Crazyviolindude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dayton, Virginia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2013

After taking a guided tour of the north of Italy, there was no doubt I would come back to Montecatini Terme and end my vacation at this hotel. Why? Because it is like coming back home. This was my 3rd time staying at this hotel. Everyone else, including me, has commented on the hospitality and warm welcome you will receive from everyone, including Signora Anna, the owner, as well as its perfect location for exploring Tuscany. That is all absolutely true! Everyone goes out of their way to make you feel special and will do whatever they can to make sure your vacation is a wonderful, memorable experience. At reception, Beatrice, Marco, and Fabio are the first to welcome you and you know right away you picked the right hotel. You will also notice how hard Riccardo, Adriana, Giovanna and Beppe, the maitre d', work in the restaurant. Although it can get very busy, they will take time to talk to you and even joke with you. In the evening, the bar also can get busy but Roberto is "favoloso". His drinks are made beautifully with special garnishes. Of course, drinks always come with something free....his beautiful heartwarming smile. The bar fills with the sounds of laughter, glasses clinking and conversations in many different languages. Roberto makes each and every guest feel special and they return night after night because it's the best place to end a long day. There is no better "home away from home" in Montecatini Terme. If you stay here, your experience will be "favoloso"!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Liz C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
59 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2013

Comfortable, clean, friendly and helpful staff, good location - what is there not to like. The food at evening meals was good, although it is worth sampling the local restaurants. Continental breakfasts were filling and with plenty of choice. Our fourth floor room was quiet and there was little disturbance even with the windows open. Only a short walk (about 10-mins) from the station and convenient for all the attractions of the area. Recommended.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ShropshireBorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montecatini Terme hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Montecatini Palace
Hotel Montecatini Palace
#3 of 110 in Montecatini Terme
4.5 of 5 bubbles 345 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Puccini
Hotel Puccini
#2 of 110 in Montecatini Terme
4.5 of 5 bubbles 535 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Ercolini & Savi
Hotel Ercolini & Savi
#5 of 110 in Montecatini Terme
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,753 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Columbia Wellness & SPA
Hotel Columbia Wellness & SPA
#6 of 110 in Montecatini Terme
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,034 reviews
0.3 mi away
Smart Hotel Bartolini
Smart Hotel Bartolini
#1 of 110 in Montecatini Terme
4.5 of 5 bubbles 265 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel & La Pace
Grand Hotel & La Pace
#16 of 110 in Montecatini Terme
4.0 of 5 bubbles 586 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Francia e Quirinale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Francia e Quirinale

Property: Hotel Francia e Quirinale
Address: Via Quattro Novembre 77, 51016, Montecatini Terme, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Pistoia > Montecatini Terme
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Montecatini Terme
#4 Family Hotel in Montecatini Terme
#6 Business Hotel in Montecatini Terme
#9 Romantic Hotel in Montecatini Terme
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Francia e Quirinale 4*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Francia & Quirinale Hotel sits in a prestigious yet quiet area of downtown Montecatini Terme, within walking distance from the town’s thermal springs and its beautiful park. The Giusfredi family has owned and managed the hotel since the 1920s, constantly renewing what they consider their Home with the greatest devotion and passion. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Francia e Quirinale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Montecatini Terme
Hotel Francia e Quirinale Montecatini Terme, Italy - Tuscany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing