We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“wonderfull holiday in Tuscany”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Francia e Quirinale
Ranked #4 of 110 Hotels in Montecatini Terme
Certificate of Excellence
Barnard Castle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
“wonderfull holiday in Tuscany”
Reviewed 5 August 2013

we have just returned from a Great rail journey to Montecatinni and stayed at this hotel at the same time as the last couple. I think we had the same room as the complainer from Petworth. We were offered two alternative,one was smaller and the other was over the main entrance,which we declined because I am a poor sleeper.The shower was functioning properly but tricky to operate.Had the person in question complained at reception they would have been offered another room and the chamber maid would have shown them how to operate the shower.The staff were excellent very accommodating.the food was tasty and we got fresh towels every day.I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel.If you have problems first give the management the opportunity to put things right

Room Tip: the rooms on each floor numbered 11 to 19 are at the side looking on a blank wall
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jennifer g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

671 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    422
    175
    47
    18
    9
See reviews for
152
275
26
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2013

My wife and I used this hotel as a base for exploring both Pisa and Florence. With both places just under an hour away by train it was ideal. The hotel itself is in a quiet road next to a park and all the thermal houses. The hotel dates from the 20's but is modern yet still retaining character.

Our room was 107 overlooked the entrance to the hotel but neither of us had any disturbed sleep, the bed was comfortable and the room was kept spotless. The barman Roberto is full of chat and really attentive to your needs. We used the restaurant twice during our stay, twice in the town and in Florence.

The staff are attentive and we met a great group from Great Railway Journey's who made the evening's fun as well.

Would recommend this hotel for visiting Florence (even if you have not read Dan Brown's latest novel) Pisa and Lucca etc.

A visit to Montecatini is not complete without a visit to the old town.

Tip. Do get off the train at Montecatini Central and Not Montecatini Terme.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kevin O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2013

Montecatini is a great place to base yourself if you've got transport and you want to explore Tuscany. There's not really enough there to keep a family occupied for more than a day, so if you haven't got transport, you're better off in Pisa or Florence. This hotel is in a quiet area with pay and display parking on the street. Parking cost was around 3 Euros for 4 hours, but after 6pm was free. The room we had was clean, well kept and the bathroom was great. It was wall to wall marble, twin sink, toilet, bidet and a walk in shower. The bed was comfortable, and the room was a good size, not cramped like some rooms in Italy can be. The restaurant has obviously been recently refurbished and it looks great. The food was basic but good. Breakfast was a continental buffet (breads, cheese, sliced meats, cakes, fruit, yoghurt, etc. Just don't expect bacon or eggs.) Dinner can be a la carte or off a fixed menu. We had the menu and had no complaints. There's lots of restaurants in town to choose from if you don't fancy the hotel. I'll be heading back to the area next year, and I'll be looking to rebook in this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NewBrightonGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northumberland National Park, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 July 2013

Montecatini Terme is an excellent base for exploring Tuscany. The Francia & Quirinale a friendly family run hotel with incredibly helpful staff in a very convenient location within comfortable walking distance of the train station making Florence, Lucca, Pisa & Varregio easily accessible. Fabio on reception was absolutely charming giving a great impression as you walk through the door and amazingly helpful throughout our stay. Guiseppe, Ricardo & Adrianna very efficiently managing the dining room with a smile & a joke no matter how busy and Roberto the bar manager was exceptional radiating warmth and humour and really added a personal touch to our family holiday. Ok didn't see all the rooms but the public areas are all tastefully decorated and comfortable as was our junior suite no complaints at all. We found the food to be very good, fresh very tuscan in style with a plentiful vegetable buffet every evening and ample portions. Would acknowledge that the large tour parties occasionally present were perhaps not faring so well and did seem to have a different level of food choice but were thankfully sectioned well away from other guests at both breakfast and dinner. Would happily return and have no compunction recommending to friends. Would also happily recommend Bar Concordio just down the road from the hotel, a newly opened family run wine bar with staff as welcoming and considerate as those in the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris16557
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Petworth
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2013

My friend & i were also on a Great Rail holiday & found this hotel to be a great disappointment, our twin room looked out over a couple of lean-to outbuildings which housed the kitchen area between our hotel & that next door, also next doors bottle bank which had the previous days bottles tipped in at 6am every day - very much a room without a view!!!
The bathroom although spacious had a very inefficient shower & no curtain to prevent the floor flooding. The bath towels were thin & face towels were only cotton teatowels.
The food was appalling & the dining room resembled Butlins in the fifties with plastic tablecloths & paper napkins.
Most certainly NOT a 4* hotel

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mrsmolePetworth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2013

Stayed here for 7 nights from 25th June to 2nd July 2013 after our original hotel closed down just before we were due to go on holiday, and thoroughly enjoyed the stay. Giuseppe, Ricardo, Roberto and Adrianna were great members of staff who made us feel very welcome and were good fun to have around. Everyday everything in the hotel seemed very well organised, our room was kept spotless by the cleaning staff who also did an excellent job.
We hope to get back to this hotel as it proved to be a nice place to stay and we will happily stay here again.
Thank you Hotel Francia & Quinale for helping to make our first stay in Italy an unforgettable experience!

Room Tip: we were above the front entrance door and at the top of the stairs to the 1st floor so it could be n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank urbandouglas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
penicuik
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2013

We are just back from an escorted rail journey in Tuscany and stayed 7 days at this hotel. I had looked at the reviews and pictures before I left and was looking forward to staying there. How wrong can you be. When we arrived the public rooms and bar were classy and tidy. We were checked in and went to our room. Nothing like the pictures. 2 very hard single beds, view out onto the wall of the next door hotel and very tired decor. We had to keep the shutters closed for privacy. Bathroom was quite big but the bath had a shower on a pole against the wall and no shower screen or curtain. I went back to reception and enquired why no shower screen and the girl on reception just shrugged and said it was normal. Had a shower that night and had to bend over to get under the shower head. Needless to say water went everywhere and bathroom floor was very wet. A slip on the floor would have injured you badly. Next day went back to reception and asked to be moved. Girl I saw then was very helpful and got us shifted to a room with shower cubicle.Still dated but safer.
Then we come to the food. There was a menu outside the dining room but we didn't get any of it. Dining room was separated so that our large group ate on large tables. First meal veg was processed mushy peas. Another night we had spinach boiled within an inch of its life. No effort was put into the food and most times just slopped on the plate. One night I had what was supposed to be York ham. It was a processed meat of which I had 2 slices, no more than a dessert spoon of mashed potato and 5 slices of carrot. That night nearly everyone sent their food back to the kitchen. There was mixed salad every night as a starter which was lettuce, a couple of slices of cucumber and a couple of bits of tomato. To vary it they added grated carrot. Our tour manager complained and the next night we had parma ham and melon then after that back to mixed salad.Meals had to be eaten as soon as they arrived at the table as only luke warm with the result we were all eating at different times. At breakfast there was scrambled egg every day. One morning there was none left so my husband waited for it to be replaced. When it arrived it was cold. How can fresh stuff be cold? It says it serves Italian cuisine. We never saw that at all. We have been to Italy on several occassions in both 3* and 4* hotels and had beautiful food. What we were dished up in this hotel was most certainly not 4* standard.
The night before we left I went to reception to pay our bar bill and was told I had to pay it in the morning. As we were leaving at 7.15 and dining room opened for breakfast at 6.45 I went down at 6a.m. to settle up. The night receptionist told me to come back later as he didn't take bills at that time. I asked if he was joking and he just shrugged and went back to what he was doing before I arrived. I stood there shocked and after a few minuted he looked up again, sighed and went to a pile of invoices lying on the desk. He finally took my payment with no "thank-you" and went back to what he was doing as if I was dismissed.
I certainly felt there was a 2 tier system at this hotel and our group was definately on the lower tier for service.
In saying that the weather, train trips and places we visited were marvellous. Shame the hotel didn't live up to its pictures.

Room Tip: Rooms at front of hotel have a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mal29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montecatini Terme hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Montecatini Palace
Hotel Montecatini Palace
#3 of 110 in Montecatini Terme
334 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Puccini
Hotel Puccini
#2 of 110 in Montecatini Terme
522 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Columbia Wellness & SPA
Hotel Columbia Wellness & SPA
#6 of 110 in Montecatini Terme
1,017 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Ercolini & Savi
Hotel Ercolini & Savi
#5 of 110 in Montecatini Terme
1,733 reviews
0.3 mi away
Smart Hotel Bartolini
Smart Hotel Bartolini
#1 of 110 in Montecatini Terme
258 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel & La Pace
Grand Hotel & La Pace
#15 of 110 in Montecatini Terme
581 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Francia e Quirinale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Francia e Quirinale

Property: Hotel Francia e Quirinale
Address: Via Quattro Novembre 77, 51016, Montecatini Terme, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Pistoia > Montecatini Terme
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Montecatini Terme
#4 Family Hotel in Montecatini Terme
#6 Business Hotel in Montecatini Terme
#9 Romantic Hotel in Montecatini Terme
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Francia e Quirinale 4*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Francia & Quirinale Hotel sits in a prestigious yet quiet area of downtown Montecatini Terme, within walking distance from the town’s thermal springs and its beautiful park. The Giusfredi family has owned and managed the hotel since the 1920s, constantly renewing what they consider their Home with the greatest devotion and passion. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Francia e Quirinale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Montecatini Terme
Hotel Francia e Quirinale Montecatini Terme, Italy - Tuscany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing