We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really terrible hotel!!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Grand Hotel Tamerici & Principe
Ranked #12 of 107 Hotels in Montecatini Terme
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 October 2012

This is a terrible hotel, run by a real life Basil Fawlty!!! The manager was rude, unhelpful & unconcerned about guests' needs.
Service in the restaurant was extremely poor & menu monotonous. Stairway was dangerous to negotiate with poor lighting and in some instances no lighting at all. Handrail was poorly positioned. Number of lifts (2) and capacity was insufficient to cope with the volume of guests. Lighting switches on floors & stairs were hard to locate. The bedrooms in no way remotely resembled the pictures shown in the brochure/website.
Definitely a 1 Star hotel. I would not recommend it to anyone.

Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
2  Thank Edmund M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel Tamerici M, Proprietario at Grand Hotel Tamerici & Principe, responded to this reviewResponded 26 October 2012

First of all we want to thank you for choosing our hotel and we regret its criticism.
The Tamerici is run by the same family for over 100 years always dedicated to the satisfaction of the guests who come from all over the world. We are sorry if you found the manager rude and will take a disciplinary action against him. The menu at the restaurant each day has a different choice of meat and fish as well as a rich breakfast buffet and are therefore unjustified the term "monotonous".
The stairs have handrails and adjust lighting with various light sources. The hotel has 3 lifts (not 2 as mentioned above). The owner personally prevented some clients of his group to bring in the dining room a bottle of mineral water for the dinner in addition to preventing to take out the food from the breakfast room. This is not corrector allowed. The hotel has 140 rooms with different types of style and decor and we cannot show them all in the brochure or on the website. Please provide us the room number and date of stay to better understand your complaint. We renew our apologies for not being able to satisfy her stay and we send our best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (567)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

153 - 159 of 568 reviews

Reviewed 24 September 2012

I have read all the comment's about this hotel and the service you receive. The hotel is a disgrace and shouldn't be allowed to be called a four star. I was with a tour and we were treated like second class citizen's. The manager is a rude. arrogant. bully. The only member of staff who was helpful was called Elvis.Nothing was any trouble for him as long as the manager wasn't watching. There is no tea making facilities in the room and the single room i had which i was charged a supplement for. even though only one person could of slept in it. was a dingy smelly. The shower screen wouldn't stay along the edge of the bath and was just swinging about when i was trying to shower. The breakfast was plentiful but the same everyday. They wouldn't give you a glass off water without buying a whole bottle at dinner. The dinner took two hours in the evening. The waiter's (apart from elvis) ignored you when you asked for anything. Every night we had to ask for butter and every waiter we asked pretended not to understand or said ok and just walked off. The manager would give out and shout at the staff in front off the customers. The only people who the manager spoke to was the private guests. He served them personally and anything they wanted he got his right hand man to get. They had a choice of pudding's they had petit foires. They were allowed to take food from dining rm to there room. one of our party took a croissant and he snatched it off her and when she questioned him he shouted to her to shut up. My room was nothing more than a cell. It was on the main street and very noisy. The balconies don't even have a chair to sit on. The pool is small. The whole hotel is dingy and old fashioned. DREADFUL PLACE!!!!!!!!

Room Tip: Don't have any!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank kathcov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel Tamerici M, Proprietario at Grand Hotel Tamerici & Principe, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2012

In response to your review on our Hotel, we are very sorry to learn that your stay with us was not happy with, but we would like to clarify your claims :
1) the treatment of second class citizen’s does not belong to our Hotel as with us “groups” have dinner in the same dining room of all other guests and also are served at the table with silver placemats and candles on the tables
2) At the restaurant of Italian Hotels are not allowed to bring drinks to the table (only a few number of guests carried mineral water from outside), but must be requested and purchased by the waiter
3) In our Hotel, as in most Italian structures, it is not customary to find the tea making facilities in bedroom for free use of guests, but you can get in the room (room service) or at the bar on payment
4) All Italian Hotels distinguish the single room rate for an additional fee as well as for a double room for single use and we feel offended by the definition of smelly room because the cleaning is a key part of the property but at the same time addressing the Reception could also provide an exchange of your single room (18 square meters) with balcony
5) The breakfast buffet is rightly recognized abundant and it is rightly same every day and we would not know even what to change to make it different every day as there is every variety of foods
6) If the shower screen had some problem, addressing the Reception they were going to solve and if not, would also informed that you could change the room
7) The food at breakfast are served to be consumed only at restaurant and are not allowed to bring in the room
8) The Hotel is located in the center of the city but in addition all rooms are equipped with soundproof windows
9) The balconies are equipped with chairs but if were absent addressing the Reception you would have been satisfied
10) The terrace pool considered small (18 x 9 meters) is ordinary water not heated
11) Everything that is required (butter etc.) is always fulfilled
We are sorry again but we believe we have given satisfactory answers to every comment.
Sincerely yours

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2012

Terrible hotel, manager in reception very rude and unhelpful, pretended not to speak or understand English, the service in restaurant was terrible took 2 hours to have a 3 course meal, food was terrible, we were a party of 38, and it ruined our time in Italy, the rooms were small, dark and a real disappointment, chamber maid was the best thing about hotel, the swimming pool was small and the water was so cold, the tiles have all lifted off the bottom of the pool, so you had to take care not to cut your feet!

Would not recommend this hotel to anyone, montecatini is a lovely town well worth a visit, but stay well clear of this hotel, it's a total waste of money, and will ruin your holiday in Itay as it did mine.

You also have to pay for wifi /internet connection and it doesn't work! But it's free in other hotels and bars in the town!!!!!!

I think if you want a lovely holiday in Montecatini just find another hotel, if not 'good luck' as you will need it!!!!!

Never had to write a review like this before, but just wanted to warn others what to expect!

Room Tip: Try another hotel you will be glad you did
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Janetb29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel Tamerici M, Proprietario at Grand Hotel Tamerici & Principe, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2012

We would like to thank you first of all for according your preference to our Hotel. In reference to your review we are sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us and would like to clarify some points of claims:
1) Really sorry for the slow service one evening while dinner in the evenings after was fast and abundant food served
2) Our swimming pool situated on a garden terrace is measuring 18 x 9 meters and it is possible that some small tiles on the bottom are detached but unfortunately we can only repair when the pool is drained
We are very sorry again for inconvenience and hope to welcome you back to make appreciate our hospitality and remain with our best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2012

We were there for 6 nights .
the positives are very nice location , close to restaurants and shopping.
the negative
1- very cheap dated rooms ,but clean
2- horrible service at breakfast , very short staffed , same food every day, their fresh fruit salad in nothing but compote.their coffee is undrinkable and we had to argue to get expresso or capuccino instead
3-the Lady at the front desk Michela needs to learn how to smile to the guests , we are customers not a burden, a smile is FREE
The bottom line , this is NOT a 4 star hotel , this is a 3 star hotel at best

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank eldabh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2012

Tamerici Hotel is located in the center of Montecatini Terme and is close to restaurants, "termes", bars, shops and train station. The interior is maybe a little old-fashioned though the service and comfort is excellent. The breakfast is served in buffet with lots of choices. The coffee is not really very good, but the staff didn't mind making a superb cappuchino.

It's great to have a swim during the hot days and it's relaxing to take some appetizer near the pool.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stevetravbuddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2012

We stayed at Grand Hotel Tamerici & Principe for one night only on a tour of Italy in June. As we had stayed there before (about eight years ago I believe), we were upgraded to a suite and given half price parking. The suite was fabulous - two bathrooms and two balconies. The pool was welcome to cool down in. The hotel is a little jaded and the breakfast was not the best, hence only a very good rating rather than excellent ... although I was tempted to give the final extra mark for the present given to us by the Manager ... two bottles of wine, which set us up nicely for our onward journey! Would definitely recommend the hotel and of course the lovely town

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LondonTraveller21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2012

We stayed at the Grand Hotel Tamerici for one week in June so that I could take advantage of the mud baths. We found the breakfasts and dinners delicious and graciously served. The location was perfect for all our walks around town. Our room was clean and quiet. The reception desk offered us a laptop for our computer connection. When we return to Montecatini Terme we will definitely return to this hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Noel A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montecatini Terme hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Montecatini Palace
Hotel Montecatini Palace
#3 of 107 in Montecatini Terme
394 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Columbia Wellness & SPA
Hotel Columbia Wellness & SPA
#6 of 107 in Montecatini Terme
1,123 reviews
0.1 mi away
Croce Di Malta Montecatini GH
Croce Di Malta Montecatini GH
#18 of 107 in Montecatini Terme
438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel & La Pace
Grand Hotel & La Pace
#17 of 107 in Montecatini Terme
621 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Francia e Quirinale
Hotel Francia e Quirinale
#4 of 107 in Montecatini Terme
924 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Reale
Hotel Reale
#11 of 107 in Montecatini Terme
417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Tamerici & Principe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Tamerici & Principe

Address: Via Quattro Novembre 2 B, 51016, Montecatini Terme, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Pistoia > Montecatini Terme
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Montecatini Terme
#9 Luxury Hotel in Montecatini Terme
#17 Romantic Hotel in Montecatini Terme
Price Range: £64 - £115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Tamerici & Principe 4*
Number of rooms: 157
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From a big Art Nouveau villa the architect has obtained a modern building and the previous motives embellish the large and bright halls which are enriched with carpets of great value, draperies, Murano crystalware, ancient bronzes and nineteenth century Italian-style paintings. Relaxing and peaceful areas of semi-darkness interchange with the halls brightness and the brillant vivacity of colours. The hotel is happily located, in a quiet area in the middle of the green Spa parks, 2 Top Suites, 25 apartments and 130 bedrooms. 10 Meters from the Montecatini Congress and Exhibition Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Grand Hotel Tamerici & Principe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Tamerici And Principe
Grand Hotel Tamerici & Principe Montecatini Terme, Italy - Tuscany
Grand Hotel Montecatini Terme

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing