We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hospitality Plus”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Swiss B&B La Tartaruga
California Hot Springs, California
Level Contributor
186 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Hospitality Plus”
Reviewed 18 May 2013

We stayed with Sylvie again this year in April for the fifth time,she is amazing because she knows the region very well and can point you in the right direction,whether it is food or a place to go.the breakfast spread is great because her husbands butcher shop provides the cold meats and cheeses and she gets fresh pastry or creates something in her kitchen for your breakfast.Her rooms are large with a balcony and you can sit and have a glass of wine.This is the best B&B that I have stayed in Europe or USA.
Mike

Room Tip: Ask for the room with a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank frau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    42
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
25
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
plymouth
Level Contributor
37 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2011

What a find! La Tartaruga is a beautiful home shared by the delightful Sylvie with her guests. Sylvie really is a wonderful hostess. Our room - the Blue Room - was huge and very comfortable. We were welcomed with fruit and water in the room and each morning breakfast was laid out on the terrace of her pretty garden. We were treated to a selection of local meats and cheeses and home made treats such as yoghurt cake. Each morning there was something different and Sylvie explained where each delicacy came from and how it was made. She then helped us to plan our day and poured over maps with us giving us helpful tips about free parking etc. Thankyou Sylvie for sharing your lovely home with us and making our holiday so memorable.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank justloveitaly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubbo, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2010

Due to a family emergency at our chosen B&B, we were unable to stay at the B&B we had researched on Tripadvisor. The B&B recommended La Tartaruga at short notice, so we were a little concerned that it wouldn't be very good. How wrong we were. From the moment we arrived, Sylvie did everything to make us feel welcome in her home, and to make our visit to Florence and surrounds as memorable as possible.
Sylvie provided recommendations and directions to local restaurants - without exception, with great quality Italian food. Her tips on visiting Florence made our days in the city even more thrilling. Yes, the train trip is about 40 minutes (from memory) but it provides the opportunity to view the countryside along the journey into and from Florence. And saves the anxiety of finding carparking that is notoriously expensive.
Sylvie's breakfasts were very generous - with Italian meats and cheeses, yogurt, fresh fruit, breads, cereal, cake, jams, juice, tea and coffee. She even suggested we make a picnic lunch from the huge amount of food left over from breakfast.
Sylvie is Swiss, married to an Italian (the local butcher who provides the delicious meats at breakfast), and she speaks fluent Italian, French and English - sometimes all at once as she has her guests conversing around the breakfast table. She also speaks reasonable German (and a splattering of other languages) so communication shouldn't be a problem!
Our room was huge - with a king size bed, a lounge area with coffee/tea making facilities. A big bowl of fruit and bottled water welcomed us on arrival in the room. The ensuite was large, and there was a generous balcony. Shutters did a wonderful job of blocking out the morning sun, allowing us the best sleep of our holiday.
Her recommendations included visiting Lucca, a small walled city that we loved. We were fortunate enough to time our visit to the one Sunday a month when they have antique stalls throughout the narrow streets and squares.
The countryside around Montecatini Terme is breathtakingly beautiful. The people are friendly and because it is a little out of Florence, the B&B is exceptional value,
Please take the opportunity when visiting Italy to stay with Sylvie. You won't regret it!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JimCathyYoung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2010

We stayed at La Tartaruga in Oct 08 so this review is well overdue but we wanted to share our experience because Tripadvisor was a big help in planning our trip. We stayed for 3 nights and wish it had been longer as it was so relaxing being at this B&B. We arrived following a night in Florence where we picked up a car. The drive was a bit over an hour and Sylvie provided detailed directions to find her.
We stayed in the Blue room and loved it, very spacious and private, clean and nicely decorated. We looked forward to coming back to it each night after spending full days driving around Tuscany.
Sylvie was an amazing host (thank you so much for everything) and was very responsive answering emails and even booked reservations to the Accademia for while we were in Florence before we were going to stay with her. Oh, and we can't forget the amazing breakfasts! Each morning Sylvie prepared this feast with different kinds of cheeses and cold cuts, yogurt, bread/croissants, fruit, juices, coffee/tea. We always left full and happy.
We had a wonderful experience and highly recommend this B&B, happy travels.

  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bbuddy00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2007

We stayed at La Tartaruga for five nights in May. What a beautiful B&B it is and Sylvie Leder is absolutely delightful. Sylvie was a gracious host and is am amazing woman (speaks several languages and is full of energy). She always had valuable information for us each day when we told her where we were going for the day -- parking information, how to get where we wanted to go, maps, and suggestions of places that might be of interest to us. She also had restaurant recommendations and was always "right on" with her recommendations. She was a delight to talk to each morning while she was preparing our breakfast. Ah, the breakfast...... what an amazing and delicious selection of food each morning - pastries, breads, meats, cheese, yogurt and cereal, plus juice and coffee -- all served in a beautifully decorated breakfast room. We stayed in the new "blue room" which is a very large room with a sitting area and a full bathroom - everything is very nicely decorated and spotlessly clean, plus we had a lovely view of the Tuscan hillside right outside our window. It doesn't get any better than this!

Stayed May 2007
Helpful?
5 Thank Joshua12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2007

In the past we were always slightly put off going to Tuscany because of disappointing hotel experiences, but now we've found Sylvie I think we'll be back much more often :-)

I can't say enough to recommend Sylvie's place. We liked the room (the Blue room on the top floor) - really spacious, lovely bathroom, kitchen area, very clean & bedding very comfortable. What really makes the place special is that Sylvie is very nice, she's very helpful (helped booked a spa treatment for my wife), and a pleasure to talk to.

She's very organised about directions as well, not only does she have very good written directions she also has GPS coordinates that take you to the door.

Oh yes - the breakfasts are really nice - she goes out of her way to serve great food typical of the area.

  • Stayed April 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank harryb888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
paris
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2007

We stayed at Sylvia's this October and we are absolutely delighted. Charming lady, very welcoming and helpful. Spacious, cosy rooms, nicely decorated and refurbished, beautiful views, abundant, tasty breakfast. What more would you wish for? I would definately recommend this place and stay there myself.
Thank you so much, Sylvia. We loved it.

  • Liked — everything
  • Disliked — n/a
  • Stayed October 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank advisor3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montecatini Terme hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Montecatini Palace
Hotel Montecatini Palace
#3 of 110 in Montecatini Terme
353 reviews
1.0 mi away
Casa Diletta
Casa Diletta
#4 of 58 in Montecatini Terme
87 reviews
1.8 mi away
Villa Pitti Amerighi
Villa Pitti Amerighi
#1 of 1 in Pieve a Nievole
61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
No photo provided
B&B Central Toma 2
#32 of 58 in Montecatini Terme
6 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Prati
Hotel Prati
#3 of 58 in Montecatini Terme
78 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel La Villa Resort
Hotel La Villa Resort
#1 of 2 in Pieve a Nievole
362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swiss B&B La Tartaruga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swiss B&B La Tartaruga

Property: Swiss B&B La Tartaruga
Address: Via Catalani 2 | Vangile, 51010, Montecatini Terme, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Pistoia > Montecatini Terme
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 58 B&Bs / Inns in Montecatini Terme
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cozy Swiss-run B&B in green and quiet location. Tuscany is within reach! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Swiss B&B La Tartaruga reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swiss B&B La Tartaruga Montecatini Terme, Italy - Tuscany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing