We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely location in an Italian Spa Town”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Parma e Oriente
Ranked #16 of 107 Hotels in Montecatini Terme
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 June 2014

This is probably the best value hotel I have stayed at in Italy. The location was excellent being near to both the train station for days out to Lucca, Florence & Pisa & also the main sights in Montecatini Terme and Montecatini Alta.(i.e the Spa's, parks & funicular railway).
A previous review mentions the roadworks but these did not detract from our stay and I never heard any noise from these works which were improving the look of the road/pavement in the immediate vicinity, The swimming pool was a bonus although we did not have time to take advantage of this. The room was clean and towels were changed every day. The breakfast had a nice selection.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Villa which was just down from the main hotel. It was lovely and quiet and only had...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sharon K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (311)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

36 - 42 of 311 reviews

Reviewed 22 June 2014

This was a fairly nice, clean, hotel, except for some issues; There was sidewalk/street construction that was going on early every morning jack-hammering workers, noise etc., which also made finding the hotel almost impossible because the one way street was closed off, as previously noted by another reviewer (when mentioned to the front desk they really didn't seem to care).
The "free parking" was about 3-4 blocks away, but we were offered 10 euro a night parking in indoor garage, they also tried to add charges for wi-fi, when it was advertised online as included. Breakfast buffet was ok. Pool area very nice, but too cold to enjoy when we visited. Pictures online seem to be quite different than reality... as far as location very much in city and accommodations not being the quality portrayed.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Crazycruiser99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014

Arrived very late at night into Montecatini which didn't matter, there was someone at the hotel to welcome me. So pleased with my room, the oriental décor quite different to the ordinary, but I enjoyed a huge very comfortable bed, a modern functional bathroom, a place to sit within the room, plus a huge balcony which overlooked this popular Italian town. There were plenty of drawers and a big enough wardrobe. Most of the staff could speak good English, and one of the Parma's best assets is its restaurant and bar area. The restaurant was ever so grand and there was a great choice of food to order for the evening meal and anything you could want for a good healthy or hearty breakfast. The waiters in the restaurant, so efficient and friendly. They appeared happy as they went about their work. Speedy would sometimes break into song at breakfast. The swimming pool area would have been a pleasant place to relax too had it not been for roadworks that were happening alongside at the time, but all that would be completed by the time you read this.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony if you like to relax in the sun during the day, or watch the street ac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ShepLapstone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2014

This is the second time we have stayed at the Parma e Oriente, the last time being about 4 years ago. The reception area is bright and airy with a large lounge/seating area, which is lovely and comfortable. Check in was fast and efficient and the receptionist very friendly. We stayed in room 114, unless you are an insomniac you need to avoid this room at all costs as it is right beside the marble staircase, so anybody walking up or down the stairs disturbs your sleep. 5.20am both mornings woken by somebody running down them. The room itself was small and the decor and bedding exactly the same as our last visit. The en suite was small but served a purpose, but a power shower rather than a dribble would be a big plus. We were there on a B&B basis and on going into the restaurant on the first morning, the one single waiter couldn't be bothered to show us to a table as he was busy talking to a young lady in a short skirt, which he did for a further 10 minutes after our arrival. The breakfast was OK but thats all, nothing special about it at all. The pool area is very nice and a great place to cool down on a very hot day. This was our 7th stay in Montecatini and our second at this hotel, but won't be staying there again. There are better and cheaper hotels available within yards.

Room Tip: Avoid any room near the stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

We stayed here for five nights in April 2014 on a bed and breakfast basis.

We found this hotel tricky to find by car, but this was partly because the bottom of the one-way street was closed for road works when we were there. However, you have to watch out for one of the access roads being pedestrianised at certain times, the only warning being a small red traffic light when access is prohibited. Cameras record the car number and there is a 28 euro fine.

We were charged 10 euros a day to park on a piece of rough ground at the side of the hotel. The alternative was a free car park about ¼ mile walking distance (further by car because of one-way systems). There appeared to also be an underground car park, but we were not offered this option.

Our room was spacious but very old-fashioned. There was adequate storage space, the king size bed was comfortable and the bathroom had a decent shower but no bath. The room faced onto the main street. The windows were old and loose fitting which meant there was little sound proofing from the road. We had a problem when we were there with youths congregating at night shouting loudly and revving scooters.

We ate in the hotel restaurant the first night, but did not eat there again. The food was OK but we were not happy with the service. The hotel caters for coach parties, who seem to be given priority.

The buffet breakfast was adequate, but not nearly as good as in many similar hotels. Nothing seemed to be replaced as it ran out, so those arriving later for breakfast had less to choose from. The two waiters only ever spent their time setting tables for the evening meal, and taking away empty plates from the buffet without replacing them.

The reception staff were always pleasant and helpful. Wifi was charged at 1 euro for one hour of access.

The location is good with the town centre only a short walk away.

The hotel is good value for money based on what we paid, but we would look elsewhere if visiting Montecatini again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank WCS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2014

we booked 3 nights at the Hotel Parma e Oriente well in advance as we had 19 days throughout Italy and this was a good base for the later part of our trip.
Let me first say , we are well travelled , have stayed in hotels rated from 3 star to 5 star plus throughout the world
we feel that customer service is most important to us.

the pros of this hotel
clean
reasonably priced
location is ideal
Cons
front staff need more training exception -Elia)
front desk staff we encountered were very rude
only one key per room
if you dont go out with each other and have to be let in with the master key, the staff show annoyance when you need to get in to your room
we got no sleep at all due to the hotel guests next door , talking very loud , shouting , and non stop noise
we asked them twice to be more considerate, management did nothing and offered no compensation nor showed any concern they are better hotels with customer service

Room Tip: front rooms are better
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank monty12069
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2014

A wonderful , very well run hotel. The staff were so friendly and helpful. The double room was small but very clean and comfortable. Breakfast was excellent and plenty of choice. The location of the hotel is very good, 5-10 min walk from the train station. Hotel near some lovely restaurants and eateries. would recommend this hotel

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Louise186525
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montecatini Terme hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Reale
Hotel Reale
#11 of 107 in Montecatini Terme
417 reviews
0.5 mi away
Grand Hotel Panoramic
Grand Hotel Panoramic
#22 of 107 in Montecatini Terme
385 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Montecatini Palace
Hotel Montecatini Palace
#3 of 107 in Montecatini Terme
396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Da Vinci
Hotel Da Vinci
#10 of 107 in Montecatini Terme
415 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Columbia Wellness & SPA
Hotel Columbia Wellness & SPA
#6 of 107 in Montecatini Terme
1,125 reviews
0.3 mi away
Astoria Hotel
Astoria Hotel
#26 of 107 in Montecatini Terme
218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Parma e Oriente? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Parma e Oriente

Address: Via Felice Cavallotti 135, 51016, Montecatini Terme, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Pistoia > Montecatini Terme
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 107 Hotels in Montecatini Terme
Price Range: £47 - £88 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Parma e Oriente 3*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on a semi-pedestrian street in the centre of Montecatini Terme, just 150 metres from the main thermal buildings and magnificent parks, and 400 metres from the funicular to Montecatini Alto, the Parma & Oriente Hotel was built in 1922. Elegant and harmonious, the hotel is enriched by the Liberty terrace that perfectly reflects the style of the building, which has itself been renovated many times, most recently in 2010, and is equipped with all modern comforts without ever betraying its spirit. Everything in this hotel emanates personality, style and balance: the hospitality culture condensed into a harmony of shapes and colors that let you experience a unique and different holiday, aa thermal health spa holiday in the green heart of Tuscany. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and Ebookers so you can book your Hotel Parma e Oriente reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Parma e Oriente Montecatini Terme, Italy - Tuscany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing