We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Pleasant” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Pia Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
La Pia Hotel
Ranked #21 of 109 Hotels in Montecatini Terme
Certificate of Excellence
Dudley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very Pleasant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2013

We stayed Montecatini for 3 nights and had a great time. We were using the La Pia Hotel as a base to visit Lucca etc. The lady owner (assumed) was really nice and her English was very good. She advised us to take the train to Florence rather than drive which turned out to be good advise. The hotel is tucked away in it's own pretty little piazza but was only a short walk into the thick of the hustle and bustle of the town and the train station. The rooms were basic and without a kettle, but clean and comfortable. We did feel a bit uncomfortable having a drink in the bar as it meant looking for somebody to serve us each time. All in all a very pleasant hotel and very good value for money.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TobyLewis0877
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    129
    60
    7
    5
    3
See reviews for
62
76
6
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
45 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2013

We spent a week at this hotel. It is very clean and the rooms spotless. While this is advertized as a 3 Star hotel the service you receive make it more like a 5 star hotel. The owners go out of their way to make your stay exceptional. The breakfasts were exceptional. They even supplied street maps for the nearby towns for you to use. Our family enjoyed our stay here very much! Would highly recommend it to anybody wanting to stay at an exceptional hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pockets08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kirriemuir
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2013

My Husband and I stayed at La Pia for 1 week returning to UK on 1st October. Our compliments to Maria and Pierre our hosts along with the staff who were excellent. Nothing was too much bother for any of them. Our room was clean and comfortable. The meals were lovely, simple but tasty and typically Italian and local which is what we wanted. After dinner in the evening there was always someone on had to provide drinks,tea or coffee until the last guest went to bed. We especially enjoyed sitting out in the lovely little terrace outside in the evening to chat to other guests or listen to great live music which just happened to be presented at the time. We were very fortunate in being allocated this hotel as our accommodation for our package holiday. We would recommend Hotel La Pia for anyone wishing to stay in Montecatini Terme. The hotel was central for many locations. Thank you to Maria and Pierre and Staff.

Room Tip: earplugs for the airconditioner noise was helpful
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Patricia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2013

We picked montecatini as our first nights in Italy because it is close to Florence airport but far enough from it to adjust without pressure. The La Pia hotel is a great value. Very clean! One of the owners speaks English & several other languages well so she was able to point us to local spas and parking in Lucca. The breakfasts were very good and we had dinner here one night. The dinner was very good. They allowed us to leave our bags after we checked out so we could use a spa that morning before heading south to Chianti. I will stay here again if I come back to this area.

Room Tip: Ask to be upgraded to balcony. The natural light is nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rocketmandan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2013

We thoroughly loved our stay, the hosts were exceptional, the room was great with a balcony overlooking the square, the views were great and enjoyed the feel of the town
The family atmosphere in this hotel with your own table for dinner if needed and breakfast was a special touch
We found it great value
We would highly recommend this hotel to anyone

Room Tip: The room that we had was a front room with a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
92 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2013

What a refreshing change to find a Hotel with old-fashioned service! Maria and Pierre run the Hotel with quiet but friendly efficiency, never tiring of giving advice to their guests, and made us all very welcome, as did all the other staff! But best of all was Maria's offer to get our rail tickets, and the advice given on how to use them. Maria also always made sure we understood her directions!

The room was comfortable, if not large (who wants a huge room anyway?), and the water always hot. We had a small balcony in our annexe room which was unexpected, and the food was always freshly prepared (we could see the staff at work in the kitchen, and smell the aromas each evening before dinner) and delicious!

Thanks to the both of them, we really enjoyed our stay and wouldn't hestitate to revisit their hotel.

Room Tip: We stayed in the annexe just a step away from the main reception and dining area, and had our own si...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PhotobugsUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2013

Maria and her brother Pierre are two great hosts. Maria helped us to book our excursion to Cinque Terre. Also, we wanted to go to a spa for a day. She proposed Gusti Grotta and it was a great
experience.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Francine P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montecatini Terme hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Savoia e Campana
Hotel Savoia e Campana
#35 of 109 in Montecatini Terme
4.5 of 5 bubbles 154 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Reale
Hotel Reale
#13 of 109 in Montecatini Terme
4.5 of 5 bubbles 354 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Parma e Oriente
Hotel Parma e Oriente
#14 of 109 in Montecatini Terme
4.0 of 5 bubbles 284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Grand Hotel Panoramic
Grand Hotel Panoramic
#22 of 109 in Montecatini Terme
4.0 of 5 bubbles 314 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Ercolini & Savi
Hotel Ercolini & Savi
#5 of 109 in Montecatini Terme
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,707 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Cappelli
Hotel Cappelli
#32 of 109 in Montecatini Terme
4.0 of 5 bubbles 161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Pia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Pia Hotel

Property: La Pia Hotel
Address: Via Montebello 30, 51016, Montecatini Terme, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Pistoia > Montecatini Terme
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Montecatini Terme
#7 Family Hotel in Montecatini Terme
#9 Best Value Hotel in Montecatini Terme
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — La Pia Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your La Pia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel La Pia
La Pia Hotel Montecatini Terme, Italy - Tuscany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing