We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tuscany 2014”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Grand Hotel du Park et Regina
Ranked #28 of 107 Hotels in Montecatini Terme
Reviewed 23 July 2014

A good hotel with friendly people. Good service and nice and clean bedrooms/bathrooms. Food is average and breakfast is Italian. If you want to visit the center or the market you can go walking. I would recommend the hotel by friends.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank ICC1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Hotel Du ... e, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Grand Hotel du Park et Regina, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2014

dear Guest,
thanks for your comment on the website. It is always precious to have the possibility to share your opinion. Good comments are as important as bad ones, we may learn a lot from both.
If you come back I hope to suggest you new areas to visit in Tuscany. Thanks a lot for staying with us and for leaving a comment.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (288)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

101 - 107 of 288 reviews

Reviewed 6 June 2014

2 Canadians on a Dutch bus tour and with few expectation because of the price.
We were pleasantly surprised by this Hotel.....or should I call it "a museum with rooms to let"
This amazing older Italian Hotel has character, a facinating collection of "stuff" (incl. numerous antique cars in the garage) Please take time and "wonder around the hotel as well as the gardens.
Now back to the essentials; fast check in, amazing front desk (Martina and her colegue are super efficient), rooms are all different like most older European Hotels but again reception staff eager and willing to change (if possible) when you are not happy.Rooms have refigarators and showers (few bath) The 2 dining areas deserve the highest rating for number of guests served in a reasonable time; house wines are excellent (and not expensive) and they will keep your bottle for you till the next day. With many in-house bus tours the service was fantastic and the food very good. The Tuscan night was well done and overall nothing but smiles all around......even the night bar attendant .....
This hotel is very clean, elevators can be a bit slow, internet "booth" a hoot, location superb (5 min. walk from finicolar to "Alto") and opposite the "Terme" Park.
The owners and staff are always willing to assist
Our best accommodation on a Bolderman Tour yet
Enjoy this unique Hotel

Room Tip: Rooms on the second floor all seemed to be favoured. Esp. if hotel is full due to small and slow ele...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Flyingdutchman951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Hotel Du ... e, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Grand Hotel du Park et Regina, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2014

Dear Guest,
many thanks for your comment on Tripadvisor, i am always impressed when people take some time to share their experience and their private moments with the rest of the WEB. Some people may think this is all unuseful because when you book a holiday you want to judge the location yourself. And we talked about this. I also remember talking to you everyday about comments, about how much you liked the fact that we always wanted to thank people and make them feel unique and special , so you surely know what i am talking about. I can only thank you for being so kind and I hope you will join us again in the future
Martina Giuntoli

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2014

Old hotel in need of renovation but enjoys favorable location near one of the most beautiful parks in Toscana. Termes are 5-minute walk away. Walking, biking, tennis club, town center is 10 minute walk away. Ample free parking (a plus in Montecatini Terme).
Friendly staff with English fluency.
A downside is the lack of connecting rooms, whch has to do with rooms layout. Rooms as said need upgrade.

Room Tip: rooms facing the street may be somewhat noisy from passing traffic. rooms in the back however are n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KRomanov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Hotel Du ... e, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Grand Hotel du Park et Regina, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2014

dear Guest,
thanks for spending part of your time on writing a comment on the internet. this is always important and it really matters to us. I remember you came here with your numerous family and you asked for two joined rooms, which we could not give you, because we do not have.
this is something we should take into consideration, because we have lots of families. we usually give them two rooms one next to the other. but sometimes, depending on the situation, the other type of rooms you were asking for was definetely better. Thanks for suggesting that to us. we hope to have you here again.
martina giuntoli

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2013

You should obviously review a hotel on the basis of your experience there and it seems as if some visitors have not been satisfied with their rooms and/or the restaurant food. I can only say that, having stayed there for a week in mid October on an all-inclusive package deal with Newmarket, my wife and I were, overall, very satisfied with our stay at the Regina. The hotel itself is a throwback to more elegant times and was full of interesting architectural decoration/furniture etc. which was kept in good order. Yes (contrary to what someone has said) there are lifts and whilst the one from the reception hall was not the most practical it was certainly quite eyecatching and, in my experience, unique.

We had a large second floor room with a balcony which, unfortunately, looked out over the fire escape and rear car park. Of more concern was the noise generated by the occupants of the hotel to the rear of the Regina who were rowdy on a couple of nights until the early hours. I guess there's little the Regina can do about this. Other than that, we were very satisfied with our room and it's adjoining en-suite, although this was a little small in comparison to the room itself - but still more than adequate.

As far as the restaurant and food is concerned, I would echo what some recent contributors have said. If you go on an all-inclusive package to Italy, do not expect food served in the British tradition, nor, when the hotel is catering for, I'd say, well over 100 guests some evenings all eating at the same time, high class, haute cuisine food. Generally, the food was more than acceptable. We particularly liked the meat dishes, although the accompanying vegetable was, more often than not, boiled to death. Other courses were ok and it was nice to start each dinner with as large a bowl of salad as you'd want. Breakfast could have been a bit more imaginative but, again, no real complaints (the croissants were great!).

Of the staff, special mention should be made of the waiters who managed to serve so many guests quickly, efficiently and pleasantly, and, I guess, also the kitchen staff who managed to turn out such a large volume of food. And, in particular, the lady on reception - I guess that must have been Martina - who was very helpful, smiley, chatty and full of personality.

Just also to confirm what others have said; Montecatini itself is well situated for visits to Florence, Pisa, Lucca, Siena and the Cinque Terra (do take a boat trip here!) and the Regina is ideal both for the town itself and the funicular to Montecatini Alto (again, do go).

The only real downside to our trip was, unexpectedly to us, the mosquitos who seemed to be out in force wherever we went so take suitable sprays/creams/precautions. Otherwise, we had a most enjoyable holiday, with our Newmarket rep., Sarah, being very efficient and knowledgeable.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank retiredrocker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Hotel Du ... e, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Grand Hotel du Park et Regina, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2013

Dear Guest,
thanks for your comment. This is what any hotel may look for.... grateful people who feel the urge to share their good experience with the web community. I have said many times that there are more people who'd like to share the bad than the good and this is because bad episodes are more difficult to forget. For this reason I want to thank everyone who felt the same need because I have learnt not to take anything for granted.
ps it was me, Martina, yes and many thanks for your comment!!
Martina-customer care

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2013

Lovely classic hotel, retaining many period features, chandeliers etc. Spotlessly clean, all staff really helpful and endlessly cheerful. Despite the hotel being very busy, even towards the end of their season, the food was excellent - four courses and a salad buffet at dinner. Breakfast was Italian style - more than adequate. This hotel is very conveniently situated for all Montecataini sights. We travelled with Newmarket Holidays, their rep. Sarah was excellent and trips well organised.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CHELTENHAMCOUPLE705
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Hotel Du ... e, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Grand Hotel du Park et Regina, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2013

Dear guests thanks for writing such a nice review on the hotel ... True, we are almost at the end Of the season but our enthusiasm is unchanged ! It is Just because Of people like you Who stand and write their comment That we are still here, being the comment good or bad. Thanks for the smile That you All shared with us, thanks for giving us your friendship and support. I have learnt to never take anything for granted. Hope to see you soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2013

We have just returned following a 1 week stay with Newmarket Holidays. The hotel was spotlessly clean, the food good and the staff were both friendly and helpful. Yes it is an old hotel but it has good facilities and free wifi which extends out to the pool area allowing you to catch up on things whist enjoying the nice pool. The hotel location is also a bonus with only a short walk to the town centre, or better still, the funicular railway that takes you up to Montecatini Alto.

Room Tip: Stick to the second floor or the existing part of the building if on the third floor otherwise you e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Grant C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Hotel Du ... e, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Grand Hotel du Park et Regina, responded to this reviewResponded 20 October 2013

Dear guests, many thanks for the time that you spent writing your comment on the website .... we know how nowadays time is more and more precious. The target for everybody I think would be to earn more time, not only more money, or better more time together with more money. Time is dedicating a part of your life to someone whom you meet while living, time is giving a portion of your experience to someone whom is asking you for help and information... I want to thank our clients who decided to share their holidays with us. We feel honoured for being part of their life. I hope you may want to decide to stay with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2013

We stayed at the Regina with a Newmarket holiday package 21st-28th September to celebrate my husbands birthday. The hotel looked very regal as the name implies and spotlessly clean. However the plumbing and bathrooms were of a bygone age as we were woken each time the person in the next bedroom flushed their loo or took and early morning shower!. All the staff were charming and eager to help , any problems were attended to immediately . The dinning room provided good Italian fare , the breakfasts were excellent and as you would expect from a four star hotel. The evening meal had to be ordered at breakfast time which indicated freshly cooked food for the meal. the meal consisted of five courses . However as a vegetarian I felt the choice was limited and the service of the meals were done so fast it reminded me of school dinners rather than a relaxing enjoyable dinning experience. The pool bar food was extremely limited and expensive and to be avoided. This family run hotel did offer a true Italian experience and as I have said before everyone on the staff were charming, however they definitely need to address the archaic plumbing to ensure their guests get a good nights sleep!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vickytrainer49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Hotel Du ... e, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Grand Hotel du Park et Regina, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2013

Dear Guests,
thanks for spending your time writing a comment about us on the internet and above all thanks for having decided to spent your birthday with us... we should feel honoured, and in fact we are...
you are right when you talk about problems with the bathroooms but unfortunately there are some changes that will be completed next season. We hope you liked the staff and the hotel all in all, becase as I always say, there is a little part of our heart in each thing we do... nothing is random, it all follows a love pattern...
hope to see you soon
martina giuntoli-customer care

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montecatini Terme hotels
0.2 mi away
Astoria Hotel
Astoria Hotel
#26 of 107 in Montecatini Terme
218 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Panoramic
Grand Hotel Panoramic
#21 of 107 in Montecatini Terme
385 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Torretta
Hotel Torretta
#14 of 107 in Montecatini Terme
318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Puccini
Hotel Puccini
#2 of 107 in Montecatini Terme
582 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Montecatini Palace
Hotel Montecatini Palace
#3 of 107 in Montecatini Terme
395 reviews
0.5 mi away
Grand Hotel & La Pace
Grand Hotel & La Pace
#17 of 107 in Montecatini Terme
622 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel du Park et Regina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel du Park et Regina

Address: Viale Diaz n.8, 51016, Montecatini Terme, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Pistoia > Montecatini Terme
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Luxury Hotel in Montecatini Terme
Price Range: £74 - £123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel du Park et Regina 4*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Hotel Regina is situated in the green adjacent to the thermal park of Montecatini-Terme and Hotel is a four-star hotel boasts 108 rooms equipped with all modern comforts, 2 restaurants, 1 bar warm and cozy, wi-fi in all the hotel 2 meeting rooms for meetings, our private parking located within the facility remains available to all our clients emphasizing the possibility of to park the bus without any additional cost (our parking can arrange until 6 bus). Our kitchen offers various types of menus, and is able to satisfy all your kind request. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HotelsClick, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Travel Republic (UK) and Evoline ltd so you can book your Grand Hotel du Park et Regina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Montecatini Terme
Grand Hotel Du Park Et Regina Montecatini Terme, Italy - Tuscany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing