We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The view worth it”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Antico Podere

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Montepulciano
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Antico Podere
padova
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“The view worth it”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2013

Amazing view, especially from my apartment (i tulipani) excellent position (10 minutes driving from montepulciano and cortona), very nice apartments and Nino (the owner) was really kind and always available. I would definitely advise.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank giovanni b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    11
    11
    1
    3
    1
See reviews for
14
7
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2013

Firstly the good, of which there is plenty. Stayed mid July 2013.

1). Nino is very pleasant, affable and helpful.
2). The building is to a good standard with good sized rooms.
3). The pool, the garden and the views are all very good.
4). Good things about the location is that it's near the autostrada, it's beautiful scenery and it's an
easy drive into Montepulchiano.
5). Given nice wine but no corkscrew.- also gas cooker with no means of lighting. (Don't smoke).

Now the not so good memories.

1). We booked ground floor + outside space specifically (Ortensia) and got 1st Floor (Peony).
The "peony" room was larger, but it was disappointing that we were not warned beforehand
that we could not have it (even though it was confirmed).
2). We also did not get Aircon, this time the reason was "Hailstorm". Is this an ongoing problem
with insufficient electric capacity into the site?
3). Walk to the village not pleasant as you have to "run the gauntlet" of crazy dogs behind a not
very high see through fence.
4). Water supply "splutters", is feeble and the shower is hopeless. (Yet garden sprinklers are
going on and off all through the heat of the day).
5). Kitchen equipment not available was Kettle, Toaster and Microwave. (Maybe not a problem
for locals, but from our experience usually suppled in most rentals for northern Europeans).
6). Strong smell of either gas or drains quite often.

Really hope that the negatives can be sorted, we would definitely want to return if they were.

Sorry it's a bit negative Nino, but as I explained to you when we checked out, hope it helps you to make a good place even better.

With our best wishes,

David & Bernadette Forrest.

Room Tip: Very good restaurant in the village (Guastino) was full on Sunday night, best to book 1st. In Monte...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Bendavid1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
anticopodere, Proprietario at Antico Podere, responded to this review, 26 July 2013
Good evening.
First of all, I thank tMrs and Mr Forrest for their presence at our hotel and also for the contribution they have provided us with their considerations.
I thank them also for their nice words about our location.

About the change of apartment, which had become indispensable at the last moment and therefore impossible to talk, I like to emphasize that we have offered, as an alternative, the most prestigious apartment, Peonies, of course, without extra charge.

- For air conditioning we have planned a radical restructuring of the system. that has created some problems. (although the exceptional position of the house, well ventilated and in the hills, still allows a pleasant situation).
As we know that many like an artificially cooled environment for this reason we are planning mdification works.
- Water: Our guest house is in the countryside and then some inefficiency can happen even if we work to reduce them.
- The apartments are fully equipped, with electric oven, of normal size, but we take note of the suggestion of Mr Forrest to provide the apartments with tools sometimes required by North Europeans:
The corkscrew, present in all the apartments, it has probably been lost by a previous guest.
- Obviously nothing I can say or you can say that in the stretch of road outside our property, there are lively dogs, however in private area, well-defined and protected.
Thanks again
Best wishes
Nino
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Budapest, Hungary
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2012

clean, well-equipped apartments, swimming pool and very helpful staff. What else do you need?
bonus: there's an excellent restaurant in the village, in a walking distance! (piccola trattoria guastini)

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gergely C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Netherlands
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2012

Antico Podere has a wonderful location in the countryside of Tuscany. Vineyards, fields of sunflowers and yellow gold grain are all nearby and because the property is situated on a hill, the view is amazing, with a spectacular sunset. We visited in August 2012 with our family of 2 adults and 2 young children (3 and 5) and Antico Podere offered a great price for a room that could easily fit us all. The property has a central location in Tuscany, with an outlet mall nearby and both Rome, Pisa, Florence and Siena within driving range. The nearby Montepulciano village (15 minute drive away) is also very much worth a visit, with a great atmosphere, nice restaurants and packed with history and tradition.

We were received by the owner Nino, a sympathetic man who gives helpful information for getting around (restaurants, supermarket, sightseeing). There was no formal check-in process, which was excellent and we could go to our room straight away and required only our passports for making copies.

Our room was called 'Il Glicini' and was more like an appartment, with a living room, a nice kitchen with stove, overn, fridge a large bedroom and bathroom. The room was nicely furbished in a classic Italian countryside fashion and above all, clean. There was no airconditioning, but we discovered that opening all windows caused a nice breeze through the unit, giving a sufficient cooling effect. An A/C would have been nice though and would definitely make the room better.

The pool was very nice with one part being very deep. One of the more negative parts of our experience was with the pool though: there were a lot of wasps and at some point we discovered a nest of wasps had invested the pool house in a crack between the doorway frame and the building. We didn't get stung, but still it was disappointing that the nest was not removed during our four night/five day stay. Especially with small children running around and the risks of them turning out to be allergic to wasp stings. This was something that needlessly made our stay less nice.

Another thing was the Internet connection: we had to go to the pool to get a solid wireless connection and there was no reliable signal in our room.

All in all we will definitely be back at Antico Podere. Both for spending a few relaxing days in the Italian countryside as well as a base for visiting the bigger cities that are within a few hours driving range. Next time we visit, we hope we can give 5 (excellent) in stead of 4 (very good) circles.

Positive: great location, well furbished, well priced, informal check-in, very friendly owner
Negative: wasps at the pool (when we visited), no A/C, only Internet at the pool (for our room).

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Araaf R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2011

We stayed in Antico Podere for two weeks, and we wish it was more... The place is ideally located and the accommodation was adequately furnished. The view of the surrounding hills is astonishing, sunsets are breathtaking, the garden is well taken care of, the pool is wonderful for all the family and especially the kids, and the cool Tuscan nights are serene and relaxing. Even Rum, the well behaved and always controlled guardian dog was friendly and excellent! One could hardly find a better base from which to explore the stunning Tuscan countryside and the magnificent cities of Montepulciano, Cortona, Pienza, San Quirico D' Orcia, Siena, San Gimigniano, Perugia, etc etc. On top of everything, Nino, the administrator, is always present, discrete, warm, friendly, sincere and keen to take care of every question, problem or any unforeseen mishappening (his help when my car broke down in the middle of August was unforgettable)!! His advice on trips and restaurants was invaluable!! Bottom line, an overall excellent establishment, worth every penny, that contributed to an amazing fortnight in Tuscany. Nino thank you very much and see you soon!!

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dimitriskataras
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albany, New York
Level Contributor
59 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2011

antico podere is located in a small hamlet, valiano, which is part of montipulchiano. Mery, the caretaker, met us and made us feel at home immediately, although she speaks very little english. the apartments are spacious, clean and make you feel at home until you look out the window and see the vineyards, olive trees and in the distance fields of yellow - sunflowers. Then you know where you are.
Antico Podere is centrally located so you can visit the hilltowns of Siena, Assisi, Cortona. It is about 1 hours from Florence. A car is essential. There is a small store with incredible staff in Valiano and Gustifo's restaurant is superb.
i cannot say enough good things about this place. My family and I would go back tomorrow if possible.
when we return to italy, this will be one of our stops.

Room Tip: Peonie is 2nd floor. beautiful views. Tuilipe is one bedroom first floor airy with terrace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ballstonlaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
montreal
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2009

we stayed 6 nights at antico podere with 3 young kids. We mainly chose this place because of the air conditioning. But, when we checked in, tha a\c was broken and every day we were told that it would be fixed and it never happened. We were told to leave the windows opened, that we would not need ac and one night we came back and there was a rat in the room!! The owner wasn't impressed with that and never even apologized. We should have left but with 3 young kids.... Beside that, the pool is very nice, the view is wonderful ( exept for high speed train that is on the way) the rooms are ok (no microwave). They have a dog so you have to be careful where you put your feet!!!
Overall we stayed at much nicer place in tuscany ( but more expansive), you get what you pay for!

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank montreal64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
anticopodere, Owner at Antico Podere, responded to this review, 1 September 2009
We are really sorry for the way in which the vacancy has been perceived (fortunately this is an absolutely isolated).

For AC the client is right but the failure occurred during the week of half August, thing that has prevented the rapid resolution of the problem.

However, no customer ever has highlighted the problems only detected only in this case.

We pointed out that absolutely is our practice to be concerned over the problems and needs of guests.

Indeed, everyone recognizes in us courtesy, helpfulness, as well as an extraordinary experience cleaning apartments and outdoor environments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montepulciano hotels
0.1 mi away
Agriturismo Il Cantastorie
Agriturismo Il Cantastorie
#44 of 75 in Montepulciano
5.0 of 5 bubbles 11 reviews
0.1 mi away
Podere Le Manzinaie
Podere Le Manzinaie
#3 of 75 in Montepulciano
5.0 of 5 bubbles 305 reviews
1.4 mi away
Borgo Tre Rose
Borgo Tre Rose
#14 of 29 in Montepulciano
4.0 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Relais Villa Grazianella - Fattoria del Cerro
Relais Villa Grazianella - Fatto...
#1 of 2 in Acquaviva di Montepulciano
5.0 of 5 bubbles 221 reviews
7.4 mi away
Hotel Panoramic
Hotel Panoramic
#6 of 29 in Montepulciano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 383 reviews
7.2 mi away
Hotel I Due Cigni
Hotel I Due Cigni
#2 of 29 in Montepulciano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 715 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Antico Podere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Antico Podere

Property: Antico Podere
Address: Via Dietro Al Fosso 4 | Frazione Valiano, 53045, Montepulciano, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Montepulciano
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #67 of 75 Speciality Lodging in Montepulciano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Antico Podere 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fine country house located in Montepulciano in a quiet and panoramic position, overlooking the beautiful Val di Chiana, characterized by gentle undulating hills of vineyards, olive groves and woods. A place full of charm and history that, in a refined and elegant, it creates a magical dreamlike atmosphere of harmony and warm welcome. The structure consists of an ancient farmhouse, dating from the end of 1700, fully restored to its former glory. The house has 6 charming apartments (one equipped for disabled), all furnished with care and elegance, each with private bathroom, equipped kitchen with microwave and fridge, LCD TV, heating and air conditioning, fireplace, linens, tableware . Guests outdoor spaces for relaxing, swimming pool (Mt. 8x14) with Jacuzzi area and a lovely view, overlooking the Val di Chiana. Private parking. Wi-fi. Pets allowed. You can find us in a very good place to visit, along the "Roads of Vino Nobile," centers of Montepulciano (10 km), Cortona (18 km), Chiusi (20 km.), Sinalunga (22 km), Pienza (16 km) e S. Quirico d'Orcia (23 km), and also the nearby cities of art Siena (67 km), Arezzo (49 km), Perugia (51 km) and Florence (110 km) and known spas of Montepulciano (10 km), Chianciano Terme (18 km), Bagno Vignoni (24 km) and Rapolano (40 km). We had a dream..... to find a place where the glance could wander without obstacles, without barriers or houses to interrupt it. We dream a place to furnish with calm and care, involving local craftsmen, their histories and their experience..... A place that breath you away but shelter and a bit hidden. A place that could offer our Customers and Friends our welcome..... We found it! To you to discover it We are 350 meters from the village of Valiano, a hamlet of Montepulciano, easily accessible from the motorway junction of Chiusi-Chianciano A1 (21 km) for those coming from the south and the A1 motorway junction Valdichiana / Bettolle (km. 12) for those coming from the north. It is then about 25 km from the railway station of Chiusi, 20 km. Terontola Station and about 4 km. from the small station Also a few kilometres away from the Perugia / Siena / Grosseto state road. of Montepulciano Stazione. In the heart of Valdichiana, it is situated halfway between Montepulciano (SI) and Cortona (AR) the nearest airport is the S. Egidio one in Perugia and it is about 65 km away, but please take into consideration the ones in Rome, Florence and Pisa. Apt. TULIPANI : Located on the ground floor, consists of a bedroom, bathroom with shower, ample living room with kitchenette sofa bed at 2 squares and fireplace. Outdoor reserved fitted area to enjoy fantastic sunsets.!!!! Apt. ORTENSIE: Located at ground floor, consists of a bedroom, bathroom with shower, living kitchenette with sofa bed 1 1/2 square and fireplace. Outdoor reserved fitted area to enjoy fantastic sunsets.!!!! Apt. GLICINI : Located on the first floor, consists of a bedroom, bathroom with shower, ample living room with kitchenette and sofa to 2 squares, sitting area with beautiful fireplace and another sofa bed. Apt. IRIS : Located on the first floor, consists of a bedroom, bathroom with shower, living kitchenette with sofa bed 1 1/2 square and fireplace. Apt. PEONIE : Located on the first floor, consists of 2 bedrooms, bathroom with shower, ample living room with kitchenette, sofa bed for 2 squares and fireplace. Apt. GIACINTI : Located on the ground floor, consists of a bedroom, bathroom with shower, living room with kitchenette and foldaway stoves and sofa bed. Outdoor reserved fitted area to enjoy fantastic sunsets.!!!! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing