We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“wonderful dinner in lovely Montepulciano”
Review of Godimento DiVino

Godimento DiVino
Ranked #19 of 98 Restaurants in Montepulciano
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: View, Romantic, Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Westminster, Colorado
Level Contributor
47 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“wonderful dinner in lovely Montepulciano”
Reviewed 15 July 2014

We had dinner twice at this lovely restaurant high up in Montepulciano. Once we ate inside, which has a great ambiance, and once out side on their terrace. Both times the food was excellent. Both times, we ordered good wine. The first time, the owner (?) ran down to the wine cellar, couldn't find the vintage we asked for but brought us an excellent alternative. The second dinner, he had not come to work yet. We ordered an "important" wine (according to our waitress, his wife). He came down from home to serve the wine, personally!! What amazing service! This is really a great restaurant with some interesting food and a terrific wine list.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KES73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

503 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    283
    167
    34
    12
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Alpharetta, Georgia, United States
Level Contributor
47 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Fantastic service with superb cuisine”
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Our host of the villa we were staying at suggested this restaurant as it had the most interesting interior of a cave-like ambience with great food. Although we peeked inside and concurred, the day was much too splendid for inside seating, so for our warm afternoon in June, we decided to relax and eat on the patio.

Typical Tuscan food was served - Appetizers of sliced prosciutto salami and Parma ham leading to a serving of crostini with three different toppings of liver, tomato and/or mushroom. 'First Course' of pici (pronounced 'peachy') pasta in a meat sauce followed, then the 'Second Course' of meats, most interestingly, rabbit.

We were introduced to a great white wine (Vernaccia di San Gimignano) for the first time, which we sought out the remainder of the holiday. While we dined, a local musician happened to stroll up the street, playing his accordion for tips, giving the place a real atmosphere of 'Italy' from the 1930 movies!

We finished with biscotti in liqueur, a delightfully sinful panna cotta with caramel sauce (if you go, you simply MUST have that, even if you share with many spoons for a taste!). Cappuccino with, if you can believe it, barely enough room to finish an interesting sponge cake containing coconut!

A fantastic meal with attentive service from, admittedly, a very attractive hostess/waitress. All four of us thoroughly enjoyed the meal. Make the stroll...it's worth the slight walk.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Curt H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woudrichem, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
31 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A surprise”
Reviewed 30 June 2014 via mobile

Hidden in the town this is a surprise certainly worth a visit
Traditional dishes of tuscany but more refined like the rabbit we had
Definitly worth a visit

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Arie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sparks, Nevada
Level Contributor
93 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“The 50 Meter Climb was Worth the Trip!”
Reviewed 14 June 2014

Lovely wine list, including many half bottles. Prices are very reasonable. The food is delicious, we had the carpacio antipasti, the pennette with truffles, the filetto di manza and the rabbit. The rabbit preparation was unusual, stuffed with fennel and pancetta. One of the best we've ever tasted. Ate outside on the patio, but the inside dining rooms are lovely as well. Delightful lunch, highly recommened.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Etrusci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
110 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Friendly Service, Great Food”
Reviewed 10 June 2014

I dined here for lunch one sunny day, and sat at one of the terrace tables overlooking the streets below. I had the gnocci and thought it was magnificent.
A group of us (6 women, 1 me), at my suggestion, went here for dinner one night. Everyone rated it highly. The food was beautifully cooked, the staff attentive and helpful, and the wine - delicious, although I can't take credit for it's selection. Friends at another table recommended it. I rated the Tiramisu highly too :-)
I would definitely visit here again.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank RicksWorld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Godimento DiVino also viewed

Montepulciano, Province of Siena
Montepulciano, Province of Siena
 
Montepulciano, Province of Siena
Montepulciano, Province of Siena
 
Montepulciano, Province of Siena
Montepulciano, Province of Siena
 

Been to Godimento DiVino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing