We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Wine”
Review of Contucci Cantine

Contucci Cantine
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Reviewed 15 August 2017 via mobile

Great place to visit indeed. Wine is absolutely great, whenever you gomto Montepulciano you must pay a visit to Cantine Contucci under the Piazza Grande. Wine tasting, excellent!

Thank Nisciabre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Contucci, Proprietario at Contucci Cantine, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2017

Thank You for Your review.
We like to have enjoyed our wines and the winery.
We wait soon You

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (400)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"vino nobile"
in 18 reviews
"tasting room"
in 15 reviews
"great wine"
in 14 reviews
"rick steves"
in 6 reviews
"the main square"
in 10 reviews
"wine tasting"
in 35 reviews
"self guided tour"
in 9 reviews
"oak barrels"
in 5 reviews
"tasting area"
in 3 reviews
"wine maker"
in 4 reviews
"ship home"
in 4 reviews
"free entry"
in 2 reviews
"great stop"
in 4 reviews
"fell in love"
in 3 reviews
"the owner"
in 7 reviews
"cellar tour"
in 2 reviews
"a lot of fun"
in 3 reviews
Filter

13 - 17 of 400 reviews

Reviewed 13 July 2017 via mobile

It was worth the wait and to resist the urge to taste all the way up the hill to the piazza....

Lovely authentic cellars right at the top of the town, huge oak barrels and production happening before your own eyes, right bang in the middle of town, incredible.

The host made us feel very welcome which is why we ended up buying a few 2013s. Very pleasant drop, with full explanation of the wines.

Well worth the walk to the top to try !

Thank Nickjcthompson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Contucci, Proprietario at Contucci Cantine, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2017

Thank You for Your review.
We like to have enjoyed our wines and the winery
We wait soon You

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2017

Our first and perhaps best place to taste in Mont.... a hike up for sure unless you park at the top, but perhaps 7-9 wines to taste from basic to the classic vino nobile Montepulciano... a real treat but you can visit the caves also. Wines are very fairly priced.

1  Thank tfizzle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Contucci, Proprietario at Contucci Cantine, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2017

Thank You for Your review.
We like to have enjoyed our wines and the winery
We wait soon You

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2017

We found Cantina Contucci by accident as we were coming up to see the Piazza Grande. What a great find! We had tried some Nobile at some of the local restaurants, but this wine was superb! Much smoother and more mature than other varietals like a Cabernet Sauvignon or even a Merlot. But I guess that is what you get when you are a 1000-year old winery that has been producing for 15 generations! Wonderful wine, so much so, we purchased some to have shipped back to California! Highly recommend!

Thank Scott R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Contucci, Proprietario at Contucci Cantine, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2017

Thank You for Your review.
We like our wines were appreciated and shipped to California
A clarity: the family produces wine for 41st generation.
We wait soon You

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 30 June 2017

This is a very very old "cantine" worth visiting, if not for the wine, for the antiques and heirlooms you will see there! The wine is also well worth it though:-)

Thank Nikolina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Contucci, Proprietario at Contucci Cantine, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2017

Thank You for Your review.
We are happy that our winery and our wines liked You
We wait soon You

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Contucci Cantine also viewed

Montepulciano, Province of Siena
Montepulciano, Province of Siena
 
Montepulciano, Province of Siena
Montepulciano, Province of Siena
 

Been to Contucci Cantine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing