We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Couldn't be happier”

Le Logge del Vignola
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$25 - US$50
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: The restaurant Le Logge del Vignola is located in the heart of Montepulciano's old town centre, across from the renowned loggia attributed to "Vignola". There are two elegant, comfortable rooms where, by candlelight, guests can savour dishes from the Tuscan repertoire as well as the restaurant's own distinctive cuisine, accompanied by excellent, local wines. The restaurant is air conditioned. There is a temporary exhibition of art works by Gino Filippeschi. Seasonally available ingredients form the basis of a cuisine that primarily features local products and, taking inspiration from tradition, reimagines them in a way that is adapted to today's tastes. Among the restaurant's offerings: a tasting menu of special cheeses, flambe cuisine and much more... The cellar is stocked with a careful selection of wines from Tuscany and beyond, with the possibility of pairing, even by the glass, suggested by Sommelier Massimo Stella. Owner: Massimo Stella, Executive Chef: Federico La Rocca.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Couldn't be happier”
Reviewed 18 July 2014

If you are a foodie, come here. Very creative menu, and executed well too. I had the Rabbit meatballs which were delicious. Only problem is I ate too much! Check out the extensive wine list.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bigolejetair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

935 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    685
    181
    45
    14
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Slovakia
Level Contributor
160 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 207 helpful votes
“Dissapointment”
Reviewed 8 July 2014

This restaurant was a big dissapointment for me. Service OK, but food better looks then tastes. A bit snobbish, not my cup of tea. La Grotta is also luxury and expensive, but you enjoy time there much more better then here.
For me nothing special.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Jozef R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
40 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“It's like stepping into a movie”
Reviewed 7 July 2014 via mobile

If the town of Montepulciano doesn't take your breath away, a meal here should do the trick. The town is spectacular. You can't go 10 steps without someone offering you wine to taste or meats and cheeses to sample. The service here was excellent. We were lucky enough to sit at a table overlooking the street and flowers that dot the ancient village. Wine list was amazing. We opted for a local wine and the waiter was very helpful to us in picking out an excellent one. He also spoke English and was able to help us better understand the history of the city. The trip advisor and Michelin stars on the door are well deserved, food was excellent.

Helpful?
Thank JBH721
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alpharetta, Georgia, United States
Level Contributor
46 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Cooking School PLUS dinner later!”
Reviewed 6 July 2014

This review is a bit unusual, for while staying at the Villa Ortaglia, we two couples enjoyed a two hour cooking lesson with Massimo and his chef, Fredrico, in the art of making excellent pasta. While you might think that extremely basic, we picked up a lot of fine points while enjoying the conversation and teaching from both instructors.

This is Massimo's restaurant and he took great pride in making us comfortable with the training and the results done right in the main dining room on table tops. We produce pici (local pasta), gnocchi and several widths of pasta (the numerous names escape me now). Suffice it to say, we came to realize that pasta is not just 'boiled dough'. This class even made us desirous of purchasing a pasta roller once we returned!

Later that night, we returned to enjoy an anniversary dinner for our friends. Massimo sat us outdoors on a quaint corner on the hill across from his restaurant, with guests at the other two nearby tables, to enjoy appetizers, several First Courses, and a Second Course steak dinner the size Fred Flintstone would admire!

After dinner, Massimo invited we two guys to accompany him to his restaurant's private wine cellar to take a peek at the inventory. We were only a block or so away, but found it fascinating the number and ages of the bottles in inventory. Massimo is highly learned in the correct wine and selection process as well, as he took a few minutes to educate us in the language of the sommelier.

Massimo states: "Quality is not casual, but the son of a crucial effort." How true. If you can take a cooking class, excellent, but plan ahead. If you just have time for dinner, count yourself lucky and enjoy! Give Massimo our best....as he will do so to you in return.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Curt H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albertslund, Denmark
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good”
Reviewed 1 July 2014

A little overpriced, but what to expext from a touristtown as Montepulciano. Innovative kitchen with interesting combinations. But it is not spot on. The rissoto was undercooked. The lamb (made sous-vide) was uninteresting (partly because of the cooking methode which is not one of my favorites). The chocolate souffle lacked the souffle-part.
The wine was fairly priced and decanted properly. When asking for ice for the wine (I prefer the redwine at 18 degrees), I was denied the ice, but got the decanter chilled and the waiter fetched a more chilled bottle from the basement. Overall good service.
Remember to book a table.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MEREriksen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Le Logge del Vignola also viewed

Montepulciano, Province of Siena
Montepulciano, Province of Siena
 
Montepulciano, Province of Siena
Montepulciano, Province of Siena
 

Been to Le Logge del Vignola? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing