We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“For great Tuscan wine go to Barbara and Fabio”

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Vinoteca Terra Toscana
Attraction details
Amsterdam
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“For great Tuscan wine go to Barbara and Fabio”
Reviewed 11 December 2011

For years we are visiting the wine shop of Barbara and Fabio. They have a great collection of special wines and they can tell you so much about them that you always want to have more (and I do not regret that at all!!).

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank AloysiusTrequanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    3
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Wonderful hospitality and knowledgeable staff”
Reviewed 17 October 2011

Popped into Vinoteca yesterday and was treated to an excellent education on the local Montepulciano wine by Barbara. Don't be put off by the simple look of the shop front - you would be wrong not to spend a little time here.

We stayed for about 20 mins and during that time were provided 2 wines to taste. Barbara was wonderfully hospitable and patient, helping to explain what we were tasting based on our preferences which we described to her (since we had tasted a few different wines the night before, we mentioned these to her and from her expertise, she helped guide us to selecting the right wines for our tastebuds).

Barbara was lovely and a very genuine host. Felt like we had known her for ages by the time we left. She definitely hit the spot with the wine selections and we ended up buying one of them as it was a beautiful red (Politziano Vino Nobile 2008 - the san giovese grapes are blended with a touch of merlot to just take the edge off the tannins a touch, which makes the taste wonderfully smooth).

We can't wait to come back to Montepulciano and when we do we'll be popping by Vinoteca to say hello.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank benobi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Friendly, Knowledgeable service”
Reviewed 20 June 2011

This shop is just off the main square. My wife and I visited and Barbara was in attendance. A decent but not huge selection of mainly Tuscan and other Italian wines. She had 3 bottles open for tasting. We tried a very good Rosso di Montalcino and a couple of Vino Nobile Montepulcianos. We also got to talking about Olive oils and sampled those too!

We struck up a casual conversation, and Barbara was friendly and knowledgeable. By that point, we had been to 3 other cellars for tasting, one of which was pleasant (Contucci), and 2 others that were really indifferent and snooty. So it was a nice change.

I would recommend a visit here if you are into tasting/buying wines and you are in Montepulciano

Visited June 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank soontraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milan
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Very warm and unbiased advise on local wines”
Reviewed 23 April 2010

We got a very good support and advise from Barbara and Fabio on Nobile wines from Montepulciano. They clearly showed passion for products and outspoken opinions. Fair prices.

Helpful?
Thank MagellanMilan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Terra Toscana is worth the trip”
Reviewed 17 June 2009

We visit different parts of Italy every year, but a stop in wonderful Montepulciano is mandatory. The atmosphere is wonderful, and Barabara and Fabio perfectly reflects this. They offer their great selection of the "King of table wines" with great knowledge of all vintages and are very helpful with shipments. Highly recommended!

Helpful?
1 Thank OleOslo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Vinoteca Terra Toscana also viewed

Montepulciano, Province of Siena
Montepulciano, Province of Siena
 
Montepulciano, Province of Siena
Montepulciano, Province of Siena
 

Been to Vinoteca Terra Toscana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing