We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Couldn't have been better.”
Review of Palazzo Bellarmino

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Palazzo Bellarmino
Ranked #16 of 44 Montepulciano B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 August 2011

We only stayed for one night but definitely could have lingered in this amazing hotel.
Room: We had a suite with 2 bedrooms, livingroom, kitchen, bathroom, office, and huge hallway. It was HUGE and spacious and the largest space we stayed in, pretty much, ever. Beds were comfy. One room had a queen and one had twin beds.
Price: We stayed in the middle of July and paid about 120e. For the price, it was a steal!
Cleanliness: This place was CLEAN. I have no complaints. Even the bathroom was spotless.
Bathroom: Shower was spacious and clean. Pressure was good and lots of hot water.
Location: Montepulciano is not a huge town, you can definitely walk the entire town in a few hours, and Palazzo Bellarmino as at the west end of the town. The town is also very hilly and gives you a workout just exploring. Nice cafes right near the entrance.
Staff/owner: We had to call since there was no one at the checkin desk when we arrived at the agreed time, but it wasn't a big deal. Andrea showed up quickly and checked us in with no problems. He was very helpful recommending restaurants in the area and als responded quickly when we thought we needed to stay another night.
A/C: There is no Air Conditioning or fans at this location but you really didn't need it. It was really cool and windy at night since Montepulciano is at a high altitude.
TV: There was a tv in the livingroom with satellite and English channels. a plus!
Breakfast: Since there was a full kitchen, we were able to cook our own breakfast. No breakfast is provided. As I said before, there are lots of cafes nearby too.
Internet: free wifi. We were unable to get the wifi to work anywhere in the apartments except on the entrance steps so that was a little annoying, but at least it worked.
Security: Checkin only open til 10PM.
Linen/towels: included
Parking: We were able to park in the small lot for free about 200m away, although it was a very steep incline to get up to the hotel. They have a reserved parking spot available for 5e and there is another small hourly lot next to the free lot.
Remarks: I would have no hesitation recommending this hotel to anyone (Families, couples,) except those with disabilities. I am not sure if they have an elevator or not and there were a lot of steps. I would also stay at this hotel if I was ever in the area again.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kamaa222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (136)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

41 - 47 of 136 reviews

Reviewed 14 July 2011

We loved our one night stay in Palazzo Bellarmino and the very interesting town of Montepoluciano. We arrived during a wine festival and parking was difficult but we managed. The apartment was so cool, calm and spacious with great views into the tuscany hills below. We highly recommend a stay at the Palazzo Bellarmino!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank brucebecky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2011

Two couples and I rented three apartments for two nights. We wished it were longer. Kinga, the manager, was wonderful. Took great care of us. The place was so special. A 16th century monastary turned apartments had a wonderful ambience. I loved the old floors, steps, tall doors, views of Tuscan countryside from balcony in one of our apartments. The location was perfect for walking the town, wine tasting, shopping, eating. The apartment had a french press, but no coffee...so if you need coffee immediately upon waking, come with your own.
Also, when driving into town, which is quite daunting...remember to stay close to the outside wall, just inside the city as you drive up.
In all the other Italian cities, we stayed in high end hotels. Palazzo Bellarmino remains one of our favorite places in during our two week trip!

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sadiesd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2011

This is a wonderful property in Montepulciano. Its located within an old building, but the rooms are modern, clean and well appointed. Very nice kitchenette, bedrooms with new fittings and linen. It is very centrally located and a short walk to the main square, where there are restaurants, wine cellars and the information centre. Free parking is available nearby. Kinga, our contact, was most helpful and responsive.
Issues - Check-in hours are restricted to certain time windows, call ahead to confirm. Also, no lifts in property, we were on the 3rd floor and with luggage, its a struggle.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank soontraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2011

Palazzo Bellarmino provides great apartments in an old, historic and beautiful building, with totally equipped kitchen! The bedroom was very comfortable and our bedroom was very quite. The staff is helpful and friendly.

Extremely recommended!

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank janabevilacqua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2011

Despite the numerous stairs (67) to our third floor apartment, this was the perfect place to stay for our Tuscan tour. The only thing missing was a small balcony or a view but being right in the centre of this lovely hilltop easily compensated for the rest. Immaculate rooms and a spacious setting, friendly staff who went out of her way to assist, thanks Kinga! Pay attention to directions when you first arrive!

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JacintaTheHague_NL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2011

Traveling with a 15 year old son and 17 year old daughter, we tried to reserve places that were suites, or two rooms, large enough to accommodate our family of four. I took a chance on this venue and I am still amazed at the apartment in which we spent the night. Others have mentioned the medieval building, which is worthy of a look in and of itself. I had some doubts as we crept up the old stone stairs in the night, but then we entered a well lit, warm and large two or three bedroom apartment. It had quite a bright color scheme, which was surprising at first, but we adjusted quickly. Spotlessly clean (as were all of our hotels in Italy), reasonably quiet (I could occasionally hear someone walking, or turning on the water, flushing a toilet, but it was quiet enough), and just a few meters away from the Duomo and main piazza.

Kinga D., a young woman checked us in and made sure we were comfortable. Otherwise, you are pretty much on your own. There was no desk or reception area. I would stay there again as the price was great and my family was comfortable. The WiFi was free, though spotty for my ipad. If you would like a full service hotel, this may not be your cup of tea, but we loved it.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Auchledoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montepulciano hotels
0.2 mi away
La Terrazza di Montepulciano
La Terrazza di Montepulciano
#11 of 28 in Montepulciano
280 reviews
0.5 mi away
Albergo Il Marzocco
Albergo Il Marzocco
#18 of 28 in Montepulciano
256 reviews
0.2 mi away
Camere Bellavista
Camere Bellavista
#16 of 28 in Montepulciano
219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
B&B Vicolo dell'Oste
B&B Vicolo dell'Oste
#2 of 44 in Montepulciano
267 reviews
8.9 mi away
Agriturismo La Terra
Agriturismo La Terra
#4 of 44 in Montepulciano
118 reviews
0.9 mi away
B&B Il Girasole
B&B Il Girasole
#22 of 44 in Montepulciano
62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palazzo Bellarmino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palazzo Bellarmino

Address: Via di San Donato 10, 53045, Montepulciano, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Montepulciano
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 44 B&Bs / Inns in Montepulciano
Price Range: £66 - £108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A historic house located in the city center of Montepulciano Palazzo Bellarmino offers spacious apartments for couples and families.Located on 2 floors offers spectacular views over the coutryside or over the town of Montepulciano.Each apartment has a seperate bedroom , bathroom,fully equiped kitchen and a living room.As a location is perfect to explore nearby towns, enjoy wine tasting in many wine cellars located just few steps away and fantastic restaurants with great tuscan kitchen. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Palazzo Bellarmino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palazzo Bellarmino Hotel Montepulciano

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing