We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Wine Bar in Tuscany”

E Lucevan le Stelle
Ranked #16 of 101 Restaurants in Montepulciano
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$18 - US$23
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: View, Local cuisine, Bar Scene, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Wine Bar & Bistro in the heart of the old town, it's located in Piazza San Francesco, famous for the stunning view on the valley and on San Biagio Church. "E lucevan le stelle" is open for lunch, apéritifs and dinner, offering a unique location in town for admiring the incredible sunsets on the valley. More than 200 labels of fine Italian wines are available by the bottle, together with a selection of about 20 wines served by the glass. Wide selection of whiskeys, rhum, gin and other spirits. Live jazz on season and temporary art exhibitions.
Toronto, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best Wine Bar in Tuscany”
Reviewed 4 May 2014

We came across E Lucevan Le Stelle a few years ago when visiting Montepulciano for the first time. It is named after a line from a Puccini opera which means and the stars shone brightly. The view, the terrace and the people - not to mention the excellent wine, are what keep us coming back. It is the kind of place you can stop for a glass of wine, end up talking to the table next to you and end up getting invited to a harvesting at a near by winery - or just sit, sip and enjoy the view. In our case, a glass of wine lead to two, then dinner - which was simple and outstanding, topped off by Limoncello of course (don't drink too much of that - I am still nursing a hangover from 5 years ago). And if you like the wine you are drinking, you can buy one (or 5) to take home at a discount. It is most spectacular at sunset. Frankly it is the kind of place we need in Canada.

This visit, one of the owners Cinzia invited us to a blind tasting by 10 wine producers of Vino Nobile di Montepulciano DOCG to sample the new 2011 releases.

Ten numbered bottles at the bar, a score sheet and a room full of producers and wine lovers. There was nothing formal about this tasting - it was a chance to talk with the producers and for people like Cinzia, who owns the bar, she gets to know what kinds of wine appeal the most.

I was completely intimidated until Cinzia told me that only one in ten producers can identify their own wine, let alone all 10. Vittorio Bagnasco, who produces Lamberto, blamed the fact he had a cold. Great excuse, I told him.

They all come with stories.

Vittorio has been producing wines at Lamberto for 10 years. Before that he was a documentary cameraman and Director of Photography for feature films when he decided to take his love of wine one brave step further.

Dr. Alberto Brini of Il Conventino Wines - had just that day made a bid to the LCBO to get his organic wines into their stores. He looked about 25 and like all of the producers, utterly charming. His wine was ready before the label.
And Cinzia, the event organizer - I found out that night, was a marine engineer before she toasted a new career and opened up the wine bar and B & B.

And while I only managed to match one wine with its proper label. It was a spectacular evening - that I will never forget. That's one of the reasons my husband and I make the wine bar a must whenever we are lucky enough to visit Tuscany.

If you want to know the wines that came out on top at the tasting - along with photos of that evening- check out my blog at
http://www.thewomenofwine.com

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lis202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

396 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    232
    136
    22
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Milford, Connecticut
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Unbeatable View and Atmosphere”
Reviewed 4 November 2013

While at Il Sasso for two weeks in October I rented an apartment on Via Ricci, just up the hill from Piazza San Francesco. The very first thing I discovered about this Piazza is the spectacular view of Tuscany to the west, including an number of memorable sunsets. And then I discovered was this lovely enotecha, where I was able to sit outside and and enjoy the night air and view, and sample delicious wines and antipasti. I even had dinner there one night, sampling a magical blend of pasta and cinghiale. Definitely on my list of places to visit again when I return to Montepulciano.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mpaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Just Perfect”
Reviewed 30 August 2013

Perfect place for a relaxed glass of wine and a few anti pasti watching the sun set from the terrace or a cosy red wine inside on the couches during colder months. Excellent wine selection, fantastic friendly staff. Great pastas too if you fancy a light dinner as we did. Highly recommended.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RoscoeFriend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Do's & Don'ts”
Reviewed 16 June 2013

I like this place. It's quiet and off the tour bus trail. Do come here for lovely wine by the glass. Have a cheese plate or better- a capresse salad. Do not order pasta.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DCHelen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Let down by service and staff attitude”
Reviewed 26 April 2013

Lovely restaurant and location, in a beautiful village.. Great food nice wine selection, liked the trio selection of wines to taste. However one friend did not receive her meal even after 45 minutes and three requests on where her food was, staff were unresponsive, abrupt, uncaring stating they had other customers too..after more than 45 mins after finishing our meal, she still had not received hers and we had to leave....

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Tracey010269
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed E Lucevan le Stelle also viewed

Montepulciano, Province of Siena
Montepulciano, Province of Siena
 
Montepulciano, Province of Siena
Montepulciano, Province of Siena
 
Montepulciano, Province of Siena
Montepulciano, Province of Siena
 

Been to E Lucevan le Stelle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing