We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Breathtaking!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Montepulciano
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Appartamenti al Poggiolo
Reviewed 2 November 2012

What a beautiful apartment! We stayed for a week in apartment #3. We were graciously greeted on our arrival (warning...it is difficult to find the first time, but they do warn you of this! I believe we got turned around on the directions because we went grocery shopping first!). The accommodations are spectacular, and a great deal of thought was used in decorating this lovely space. We had a balcony that overlooked the valley and it also had a working fireplace, but it simply wasn't chilly enough to light a fire! There are two sets of communal washers/dryers which was extremely helpful, but make sure you have enough clean clothes for the first day or two after arriving...all guest check in on Saturdays and due to the electrical wiring capacity, you can't use both the washer and dryer at the same time. Not a big deal for us. We had been in Italy for a week and this was our first opportunity to cook our own meals in the evening. The kitchen was well equipped with all the pots and pans one would need, but no spices (salt, pepper, etc). Again, we stay at many self catering places so we pack a small spice travel set.
The apartment is located in an ideal location. There is parking, which we had no difficulties with, but we also had a very compact rental car. There is a door that leads to the street side from the apartment and it is very close to the heart of the town with shopping and restaurants. We choose to do day trips to other hill towns in the area. If you enjoy self catering...this apartment is a real gem! Would stay there again if we ever visit the Tuscany region!

Room Tip: Please bring your own spices if you love to cook! Room #3 has the best view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Heather H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Margherita-Elena, Owner at Appartamenti al Poggiolo, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2012

Thank you, for posting such a nice description of our place; and for the useful tips you are providing - washer too busy Saturday and Sunday, advice to go straight to destination when arriving if you don’t want to get lost, and to bring spices with you or any particular item you may find necessary to have since the very first day. All that kind of advice is extremely useful to newcomers, and helpful for us who seem to always forget something when providing information!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (57)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

14 - 20 of 57 reviews

Reviewed 2 November 2012

Our family (2 adults, 10, 12 year old children) stayed in apartment #2 for a week in mid October. This was the perfect lodging for what we wanted at this point in our trip. Each child had their own room, their was a comfortable living space to flake out after a day of to hilltop villages, a kitchen that enabled us to cook (breakfast) and store food for picnics as well as parking on site.
The apartment location also met all of our dreams. I had spent months trying to find the perfect villa in Tuscany that would allow our family to experience day adventures to hilltop villages, scenic drives, chocolate factories as well as enable us to walk somewhere for dinner and a gelato at the end the day (laundry onsight was also a bonus!). Finally a Trip Advisor reader answered one of my forum posts with this recomendation!
This apartment near the top of the hills in Montepulciano and you can easily walk up the square and wonderful restaurants, or down to the streets of wine cellars/sellers and shops (as well as more restaurants).
The apartment is extremely clean and well stocked with books and tourist information to help you plan. The WiFi is strong and easy to access. TV has many channels (including CNN and BBC). Beds are comfortable and the washrooms (2) fully functional (and beautiful). We did have a hot water problem on our second day but this was remedied within the hour by Elena and her husband. The outdoor garden with a beautiful view, set up with tables and chairs would have been perfect for a picnic or an afternoon drink...but alas we were too busy touring...
We got lost trying to find the apartment upon our arrival. It was dark and you do need to follow Elena's instructions very carefully as this is a medieval road system. In the end Elena's son and husband met us at the bottom of the town and lead us up hill-laughing as this is not the first (or last) time their guests got lost. It was easy to find once you know the route.
We did meet the other guests in the house and could sometimes here them in the evening as the sound prooffing in some of the rooms and in the common hallway is not great.
In the end we had a lovely stay and would highly recommend to families as well as couples who want to expereince Tuscany from a hilltop village perspective.

Room Tip: Apartments on the top floors would have less noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank abitadventurous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Margherita-Elena, Owner at Appartamenti al Poggiolo, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2012

Thank you very much for your words of appreciation in favour of our apt. #Giardino 2, the only one which has two single bedrooms beside the master double bedroom. Families with a boy and a girl, or with a young child and a grandmother/father find it particularly suitable, and we were so happy when we read that this unit had met all of your dreams! Meeting someone’s dreams is undoubtedly a great success.
Your mentioning - among the ‘plus’ you were offered - the quick repair of the hot water thanks to our prompt intervention, made us laugh as well as your mentioning your being rescued when you found yourselves lost in the medieval road system! By the way, you are talking of Margherita, with Giorgio and Giacomo who are her husband and son; Elena, with her husband Dominique, were absent during your stay - but that is only a detail, just for your records, in case you wish to have them in order. Sorry you were disturbed by the noise coming from other apartments; a typical inconvenient occurring when two or more apartments are being used by friends or family groups distributed among the various units. They do visit each other, sometimes bringing chairs from/to one another’s apartment, and despite their intentions of being discrete they cannot help speaking loud when they meet in the common hallway. There were two rather vivacious groups, during your stay, using apts. #1 and #4: very kind people, but obviously more familiar with the wide spaces of north America, than they are with the narrow old European buildings! Let’s hope that our future potential guests, after reading these lines, learn to better control their effervescence!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2012

This was our first stay at Appartamenti al Poggiolo. I selected al Poggiolo based solely on Tripadvisor reviews. We just returned after staying at al Poggiolo for two weeks.

Our apartment number 4 was nice and I must say this was the perfect place for us to stay while touring Tuscany. The views from the apartment were beautiful. The apartments are centrally located and everything seems to be within an hours drive. Our friends stayed in Apartment 1. The accommodations worked out perfectly for us.

As a travel agent, I seek out both the positive and the negatives and pass both on to my clients for their final decision. I feel I must be honest in order to maintain my credibility. Our stay at al Poggiolo was an overall great experience and I would recommend this type of accommodation to those looking for a good value in a perfect location.

However, if you are used to staying in 4-5 star hotels with all the services you are used to, then I would say, do not stay in a rental apartment. Upon arriving, you must go shopping for things like toilet paper, paper towels, shampoo, shower soap, dish detergent, tissues, etc. You cannot have an abundance of towels at your disposal. If you want fresh towels every day, you must wash them. If you are used to rolling out of bed and expecting a breakfast buffet, here you must make your own. Different clients take such services for granted and may be disappointed when a rental apartment does not deliver what is expected. These are lovely apartments run by great people but this is not a hotel. Know before you go!

Regarding the actual apartment, the kitchen is amply stocked with dishes, glasses, pots, pans, utensils, coffee maker, tea pot. One set of garbage bags are provided, each for garbage, recyclables and glass. Once you use them, you must provide your own bags.

The bedrooms were fine with ample closet space. The beds were comfortable, the mattresses a little on the hard side which caused some in our party to experience morning back aches. If you like a hard mattress, you will love the beds.

Bathrooms provided ample space with good water pressure. Our unit had two bathrooms with showers on the lower level. Caution however, that two people cannot use both showers at the same time as the water temperature fluctuates and can cause a very cold or a scalding shower. Showers had to be used at separate times which we found to be an inconvenience. The shower curtain needs to be replaced as it was moldy.

The free parking provided with the garden apartments was a big plus however it is a challenge to park in the small spaces if you have a large car or van. The driver plus someone directing is needed to navigate into and out of the space. Once you clear the gate, be very cautious of the traffic coming down the street from the left. You cannot see oncoming traffic so someone needs to guide the driver safely out of the driveway while looking for oncoming traffic.
Also, walking from the parking area to the front door steps is treacherous at night as there was no lighting provided during our visit. You may want to pack a small flashlight.

Dominique and Elena were extremely pleasant and accommodating and attended to our requests immediately. We were welcomed warmly and it is obvious these people take pride in their apartments and beautiful garden. I would definitely recommend Appartamenti al Poggiolo to my clients and to anyone looking for apartment accommodations in this beautiful corner of the world.

Room Tip: Garden Apartment 1 is best for families or two couples. It is also much quieter facing the garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank philc128
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Margherita-Elena, Proprietario at Appartamenti al Poggiolo, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2012

Thank you for your thorough review, flattering and honest at the same time. With your experience as a travel agent, you found the proper space to make clear that ours is not a hotel, but a lot of 8 self catering apartments for rent (thank you for the “lovely” and the “great” that follows!). Your clear words will prevent possible future guests from making wrong expectations which might later imply disappointment. The description of furnishing is also very exhaustive. We’ll pay attention to your fair remarks and try to replace what is lacking or worn out. As to the difficulty of getting out of the driveway, you are right again: there used to be a mirror on the building opposite the gate, but it was removed when the road traffic was diverted sometime ago. Soon after reading your review, we asked the municipality the permission to place it back, which we obtained: we immediately bought a new mirror, and we’ve sent you - in a private mail - a photo showing this useful driving accessory back at its place! Finally, the garden lighting exists… but I’m afraid we forgot showing you, on you arrival at day-time, how to switch it on! We apologize for that.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2012

Al Poggiolo is the perfect place to stay in Montepulciano. The apartments are truly Tuscan and decorated as such. It is easy to feel at home here. The views from No. 3 were an absolute treat, one that I never tired of. Having a garden Space was a bonus and not something that is easily found in centri storici of hilltop towns. Position was great.

Room Tip: If you want a view, go for Giardino appartment 3. This appartment is 2 bedroom but 2nd bedroom has...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CaroleAstoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Margherita-Elena, Owner at Appartamenti al Poggiolo, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2012

If we remember well, you said that you only post reviews “to comment a special place”. Never for uninteresting places. And you added that “special” may be intended in a positive sense, as well as in a negative”. No need to say that we were very relieved in reading your review! And very grateful, of course.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2012

We debated various lodging options for our 10 days in central Tuscany. Basing ourselves in the wonderful town of Montepulciano and specifically, staying at the Al Poggiolo was the best decision of the trip. The house itself is unbelievably charming and comfortable with a large garden, private greenspace, and parking in the back. The apartments also have entry access to the other side, steps away from everything. Our apartment (#3) was well equipped, comfortable, and the views were heartbreaking. We felt at home and this might be the key reason to do this over a hotel.

Margherita & Elena are very gracious, kind and helpful. The house has been in the family for generations (they inherited it from their grandfather and lovingly restored it) and you sense the care and pride that they invested into the place. Independent minded travelers will very much appreciate the setup: You are warmly greeted, given a brief tour of the place, and then you are respectfully left alone to do your thing. A very helpful booklet of recommendations and guidance is provided answering most of usual questions. If something is needed, the family is there in a heartbeat, but this is the kind of arrangement for the self-sufficient. For all this to work, Margherita and Elena have set things up really efficiently from beginning to end. This was the best part of a remarkable journey and we thank our gracious hosts for a lovely stay in Montepulciano. We will be back at the Al Poggiolo.

Angela & Daniel

Room Tip: They are all unique and special. Our stay was in #3
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Seringueiro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Margherita-Elena, Owner at Appartamenti al Poggiolo, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2012

And we, the hosts, thank you back for your highly flattering comments! Your description of our place - the building, the garden, the apartment - is exactly what we would want readers to know about the Poggiolo Apartments; and of course a guest’s description has a much higher value than the owner’s advertising!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2011

We have stayed at Appartamenti al Poggiolo three times; the last time was October. We wanted to be there for three weeks, but none of the apartments was available for that length of time. So we had a week each in Apartments 4, 1, and 2. The previous year we were in Apartment 3, so now we have stayed in each of the Appartamenti! I could not say which is our favorite, as each has something to recommend it - balcony barbecue in #3; best sunset view in #4; spacious #1, perfect for two couples; cozy #2 - and parking available for all. Margherita and Giorgio; Elena and Dominique are perfect hosts who make their guests feel immediately at home. We have attended Il Sasso language school seven times and will return again to this lovely corner of Italy and the Appartamenti al Poggiolo.

Room Tip: Each has something special to offer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HIroamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Margherita-Elena, Owner at Appartamenti al Poggiolo, responded to this reviewResponded 25 December 2011

Thank you, dear friends from Hawaii! Your appraisal of our 4 Giardino apartments, so clear in its synthetic description of each, demonstrates - once again - that nobody better than guests themselves can provide useful info to possible new visitors.

Hope to welcome you again… but in which apartment?

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2011

From October 22 thru October 29 we stayed in apartment 1 of Al Poggiolo apartments in Montepulciano. We had stayed in their apartment 3 the previous year. The apartments are located inside the city walls in a quiet neighborhood but only a few minute walk to the main drag of the city. The apartments are tastefully decorated, are comfortable, and have access to a beautiful backyard. And there is private parking for those traveling by car. The kitchen has everything one needs to cook a meal, including a dishwasher. The bathrooms are nice and beds comfortable. There are washers and dryers available in a separate laundry room in the building for those who need to do some washing. There is t.v. with plenty of english speaking channels and free wifi. The owners Margherita and Elena and their husbands are lovely people and take great pride in this property. They even give you a sample of their own olive oil for use in the kitchen. We love staying here and hopefully will be able to do this again. Needless to say that we recommend these apartments highly to anyone that wishes to stay in this area.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank samantha049
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Margherita-Elena, Owner at Appartamenti al Poggiolo, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2011

Thank you for this very positive review! And a special, heartful thankyou for leaving the apartment so spottlessly tidy on your departure day, we hardly needed it to be cleaned by the housekeeper for the newcoming guests. We are normally very fortunate with our visitors, who are often extremely correct and kind people. But only few of them can compete with the art you have been demonstrating under the aspect above mentioned!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montepulciano hotels
0.1 mi away
Il Borghetto
Il Borghetto
#25 of 28 in Montepulciano
36 reviews
0.1 mi away
L' Agnolo
L' Agnolo
#14 of 28 in Montepulciano
50 reviews
0.2 mi away
Albergo Il Marzocco
Albergo Il Marzocco
#19 of 28 in Montepulciano
246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
La Terrazza di Montepulciano
La Terrazza di Montepulciano
#11 of 28 in Montepulciano
273 reviews
0.1 mi away
Camere Bellavista
Camere Bellavista
#16 of 28 in Montepulciano
215 reviews
0.1 mi away
Residenza Fabroni
Residenza Fabroni
#17 of 44 in Montepulciano
37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Appartamenti al Poggiolo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Appartamenti al Poggiolo

Address: via Piana, 17, 53045, Montepulciano, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Montepulciano
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #63 of 79 Speciality Lodging in Montepulciano
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An old house with garden in the historic centre of Montepulciano, restored and transformed into four holiday apartments - all equipped with every modern amenity and furnished with country style charm. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing