We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spacious, great staff, lovely food”
Review of Osteria del Borgo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Osteria del Borgo
Ranked #12 of 44 Montepulciano B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 July 2013

We only stayed a night but enjoyed a room with a view, it was also very much larger than the average Italian room. Staff were just so nice, able to check us in early. We had a lovely lunch, the baby chicken was so so good. Good wine by the glass options. If you are into artisanal beers they sell a fantastic 750ml local made brew which has great hop character. Couldn't not have been happier, beautiful.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank SumoDoha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (195)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

57 - 63 of 195 reviews

Reviewed 23 July 2013

For starters, Montepulciano and Tuscany in general was my favourite place in our trip through Italy. And this B&B was stunning. We were booked into a beautiful apartment, that looked straight onto the rolling Tuscan hills, staying there felt like we were looking out onto a movie. Francesco was wonderful, so friendly and even taking us to the train station on the day we left. The room was clean and spacious, plenty of room to sit and sample the wine whilst looking out at the view. This is definitely somewhere I would come again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank meguin81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2013

My husband and I stayed at Osteria del Borgo for one night during our trip to Italy. We arrived in Montepulciano around 11:00 AM and were greeted by one of the proprietors (who only spoke Italian). He was very gracious with our limited Italian and allowed us to store our luggage at the check-in desk until our room was ready. We returned about 2 hours later, and met the owner’s son. He spoke excellent English and was very friendly. He upgraded us to the family suite, on the third floor. However, the view from the bedroom in our upgraded room, as opposed to what we had booked, was nonexistent - it looked at a wall. The bedroom and bathroom were clean and quiet. The bedroom lighting was a bit dim. The hot water for my shower ran out quickly, but the water pressure was fine. Wi-fi signal was strong.

The next morning we planned to catch a 9:00 AM bus. The owners were so flexible with our schedule and arranged for us to have breakfast at 8:00 AM. It was a great breakfast, as far as B&Bs go – bread, sliced meats, two types of fruit tarts, and a croissant with apricot filling, and coffee-to-order!

In summary, Osteria del Borgo was a great place to stay – just off the main square in the center of town (and therefore the top of the hill), clean rooms, big breakfast, and friendly owners. We would stay here again if we found ourselves in Montepulciano…but in a room with a view.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hannahbanana1186
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2013

Montepulciano is a beautiful and friendly town, matched only by the warmth and welcoming character of the family who owns Osteria del Burgo. The rooms are cozy and spotless, the bathroom was well-appointed and spacious, and the view to the western countryside was like a painting. The location is perfect for a stroll down the charming streets around the center, and we even tried one other restaurant, but the truth is you won't find a better dining experience than the west-facing terrace right in your hotel! (Overnight guests get a 10% discount.) The food is made fresh every day by the mother and a co-chef, and the two sons are waiters; both speak excellent English. They are extrememly knowledgeable about Italian wine, which you can buy on the premises to take home.
Adriano, the owner, will go out of his way to be sure that you are comfortable. Sure, if you can't climb three flights of stairs, this place is not for you, but seriously, how can you expect an elevator in a medieval building? I give Osteria del Burgo top ratings.
Ruth and Richard, Boston, MA

Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Ruth R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2013

Firstly, our room was fantastic, amazing views over the Tuscan countryside, large living area and kitchen with an upstairs bedroom and bathroom. Breakfast each morning was as god as can be expected (the Italian breakfast is not really my thing but what was provided was more than ample and adequate)
Dinner in the restaurant was one of the best we had in all of Italy! The selection of local wines is amazing and all at great prices.
We had to get to Chiusi on a Sunday and asked Francesco to arrange us a taxi to the local train station to get there but he would not allow us to go there and insisted on driving us to Chiusi. Amazing hospitality!
If you are planning a trip to Montepulciano I would definitely seat (and eat) here!!!

Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Mick C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2013

First let me say, our room was abaolutely terrific. Huge, amazing views over the Tuscan hillside looking west. As for the location, also perfect - just off the Piazza Grande. The hospitality however left much to be desired. The owners never saw us (nor made any attempt to see us) our entire stay. Check-in was a hassle and the rooms were quite noisy with noise from other guests. While our stay was fine, if you are looking for a truly hospitable B&B type atmosphere, this might not be your place.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tony and Patty C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2013

We spent 3 nights @Osteria del borgo:what a great stay!We had the suite room facing the Piazza Grande:room is spacious and very comfortable.Excellent breakfast and great food at their restaurant(that deserves another 5 star review).Francesco,Giacomo,mamma Nadia and papa Adriano were so welcoming and friendly,such a nice family;the rest of the staff is awesome as well.
Would go back!
Ciao and mille grazie
Jack and Anna from Stockholm :)

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WilfriedlumberJack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montepulciano hotels
2.2 mi away
Hotel I Due Cigni
Hotel I Due Cigni
#2 of 28 in Montepulciano
804 reviews
0.1 mi away
La Terrazza di Montepulciano
La Terrazza di Montepulciano
#11 of 28 in Montepulciano
275 reviews
0.1 mi away
B&B Vicolo dell'Oste
B&B Vicolo dell'Oste
#3 of 44 in Montepulciano
265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Palazzo Carletti
Palazzo Carletti
#7 of 44 in Montepulciano
264 reviews
0.1 mi away
La Locanda di San Francesco
La Locanda di San Francesco
#1 of 44 in Montepulciano
411 reviews
1.0 mi away
Relais Ortaglia
Relais Ortaglia
#9 of 44 in Montepulciano
138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Osteria del Borgo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Osteria del Borgo

Address: Via Ricci 7, 53045, Montepulciano, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Montepulciano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 44 B&Bs / Inns in Montepulciano
Price Range: £79 - £178 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Osteria del Borgo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Osteria Del Borgo Hotel Montepulciano

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing